We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, helpful staff, Nice accommodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #42 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff, Nice accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Met my friend in San Francisco for our Nov birthday celebration. Enjoyed the accommodations at this Marriott and the location was good. The concierge was most helpful in booking dinner reservations and info on getting around in the city. My friend had used the spa/pool on other visits and said it was good and free. Friendly, professional staff including housekeeping. Had breakfast at Mel's Drive In a block away and it kept me going till dinner!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,640
    1,865
    593
    156
    93
See reviews for
807
843
162
1,928
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
476 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I picked this hotel for a quick weekend trip to S.F., where I've been before, but only to visit on day trips. This was my first time STAYING in the city. Since I did not rent a car, and was trying to avoid taking taxis everywhere, a primary reason for choosing this hotel was the proximity to a BART stop. Also [disclosure], I'm a Marriott Rewards member.

The BART stop for Powell happens to access the street level on Market on the same block as the hotel (Market/4th), so that was perfect for me. Also, there are numerous bus lines that travel Market Street, so that was an additional plus.

The hotel is really big, and seemed to be teeming with guests, conventioneers and event attendees practically 24/7, like its own city in there! However, there was nothing intimidating to me in terms of the hustle and bustle. Staff was very polite and very attentive.

I stayed on the 15th floor, in a high number room, facing 4th Street (west). There are two sets of elevators--mid rise and high rise--so the travel between lobby and any floor is really fast. My room turned out to be amazingly quiet, so calm that I didn't even have to wear earplugs while sleeping (I commonly use earplugs in city hotels). I got one of the smaller rooms--two beds--but there was still plenty of room to move around without tripping over baggage or bumping into things. The bathroom was a decent size, and the shower heads were really good (must have been updated). Other notes: (1) there's a business center with several computers which charge a per-minute fee for use; (2) the fitness center (with attendant!) is the best I've seen in any city hotel, with good space and lots of cardio machines and weightlifting apparatus; (3) The View lounge on the top floor is way cool, with an awesome view of the city ... get a window seat and you'll be very happy; (4) the hotel needs better quality foam pillows (I'm not a fan of down pillows).

Room Tip: High number rooms are far from the elevator Rooms facing 4th street get intense late-afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Jim L,

Thanks for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your first stay over in San Francisco. Your excellent travel tips can't be beat - SFO airport transfers are fast, inexpensive and only steps from the hotel via BART.

We hope you stay with us the next time you visit San Francisco.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Older Marriott, clean rooms, impossible to get a cab! My husband was there for business, and I was there for pleasure. Our room was a king corner room, sufficient room for the two of us. The maids did a great job every day, we were there 5 days....the place was packed everyday...a side note...the View, the bar/restaurant on the 39th floor has the RUDEST bartenders I have ever come across. I don't quite understand why I have to put up with rudeness when i am paying $200 for around and a $40 tip...maybe they should have tipped me for putting up with the nastiness. I can understand if they was swamped, however, I was the only one waiting for a drink! What a waste! Apparently from the other reviews this is a regular occurrence!

Overall, the Marriott Marquis met our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department, at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear zeke14,

Thank you for posting your review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to read that you did not have a welcoming experience in the View Lounge as his is not the typical level of service one expects from the hospitality industry and Marriott Hotels.

Thanks again as your comments will indeed help us to improve our level of service.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
228 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

.This is the 3rd time I have had a conferance at this hotel. Overall the place was clean and user friendly. The standard Starbucks off the lobby, a lobby bar, and a nicer restaurant at the top of the tower. THis hotel is conferance friendly. The business center is in the basement where many of the meeting rooms are. The Fed Ex there charges a HEFTY charge for sending out. However you are pretty much trapped.
The housekeeping staff were friendly &efficient. The room was comfortable. The dresser drawers are large and deep. I prefer more drawers that are not as big (not small mind you.) It is easier to divide clothing. There is free wifi in the lobby not in the rooms . However the sitting for using a computer is NOT comfortable. Friendly seating for just visiting though.
The loccation is prime if you are going to the convention center. There are 2 upscale diverse food courts and a hardware store right there. Green space is less than a block away. Good shopping and eating are an easy walk as are the street cars. It is also an easy walk to BART (the subway).
If you are looking for good concierge advice it depends on which one you talk to. We had both good and not so good experiences with their advice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homeless-dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear homeless-dancer,

I am happy to read that you have found your convention home in San Francisco. Thanks for coming back and the sound advice from your Trip Advisor review.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights here for the American Dental Association meeting so the hotel was full. Even with such large crowds, service was still great, housekeeping quick and efficient. Very close to Moscone Center, Union Square shopping and lots of great places to eat. If you like to walk, Chinatown is also very do-able from this location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear BWK59,

I am so pleased to see your review on Trip Advisor. We can't thank you enough for choosing our hotel and for choosing us the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Many have said " Great Location" and we fully agree. In town for a convention? It is as good as it gets! Close to everything you need, convention center, bus routes, F train, Bart to airport. All are an easy walk or right outside the door.
Hotel services: like all the "full service" properties , everything is extra! Don't touch that snack or water bottle in your room, it is sitting on a pressure switch like a land mine. If you pick it up to look at it, in 10 seconds it bills to your room. It's now yours even if you put it back. Same with the mini bar, don't even touch the door it's rigged like an IED, you will get it !
Staff friendly & helpful, someone even warned us about the mines in the room.
Why these places insist on billing $8-10 a day for Wi-Fi / Internet access in your room is beyond logic, especially when it is available almost everywhere including their own lobby "free".
At three times the price of the average "limited service" hotel which includes such "extras" as parking, Internet, local calls, snacks, some beverages,morning papers and a decent breakfast in their price, these folks could learn a lot from the average Hampton, Best Western, Choice etc: property. They offer good value, this place does not.
I often hear the reason used to justify such high prices. "Oh,we cater to a different clientele ". Really?
The reality is much closer to "someone else is paying the bill" .

The view from floor 38 is great in the afternoon .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vv67954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear vv67954,

Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your candid remarks and your valuable feedback as this helps us to improve our services.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

First, I want to thank Sabina at the front desk for making our stay special. She was friendly, courteous and overall exceptional when we checked in. Customer service at most hotels is unfortunately sub-par these days but she really went above and beyond to make sure our experience was memorable. Spaseba Sabina! Ochen preyatna poznakometcya!
The rooms at the hotel are nice but somewhat basic for the prices that are charged. What I mean by that is that they are nothing more special than what you might get a nice Hilton, or Embassy Suites or other Marriott hotel and for $300+/night that can be shocking. San Francisco is a very expensive city and most hotels are outrageously expensive for what you get and this one is not different. The lobby is okay, it feels like a huge hotel with a Starbucks inside and tons of people milling around going to different conferences.
We have elite status and were able to check out the concierge lounge. It was okay. The food was okay to good but nothing special. Complimentary beer and wine was advertised on a flyer but we found out that, that is not the case. I will say that the staff in the concierge lounge was great keeping the food stocked and the water and sodas were plentiful in the self serve fridge. One thing for sure is that the corner rooms have a fantastic view. The housekeeping was superb and the rooms were clean. An iron is in the closet along with the safe and the amenities in the bathroom are excellent.
The location of the hotel from the BART is awesome. It is about a half block away so you might not need to rent a car. Also the area has shops and restaurants and museums within walking distance. We stayed for two days and were able to keep ourselves busy in the general vicinity of the Marriott. I would recommend this hotel but don't have high expectations for a luxury room as is usually the case when paying $300/night for a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank losharoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear losharoth,

Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your accommodations during your recent visit. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated Sabina and our great customer service, I will be sure to pass along your comments!

Thanks again and watch for our newly renovated rooms coming in 2013.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,334 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing