We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will always come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #22 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've stayed here twice when visiting SFO for businesse and will stay here every time I can.

Food is very good, love the lobby bar and rooms are amazing. Best bed EVER!
The View Bar is one of the best views of the city and a very nice place to grab a bite. Great drinks too!

Location is very good. I don't like hotels that are closer to Union Square, stayed there before and they are way too noisy.

Fitness Center is amazing, great pool!

Room Tip: High Rise rooms are better because of the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear APM1984,

Thank you so much for your five star review. The San Marriott Marquis is proud to be your home away from home! Thanks for choosing us,

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,699 - 4,705 of 6,231 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

The MARRIOTT MARQUIS HOTEL on 4th Street is conveniently located near the Powell BART/MUNI stations, so you can just take the BART from either Airport (Oakland or San Francisco).

The room was very clean and the beds were super comfortable. Hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful, and even though the check-in time is listed as 4pm, we arrived at about 2:45pm and were just going to ask them to hold our luggage, but they let us check-in at that time.

Another thing that was good was the roll away bed: It's pretty large and we needed it for a friend who was just staying for two nights.

The reason it only gets 4-stars is the refrigerator in the room is already stocked with SUPER EXPENSIVE drinks like water and soda, so you can't use it for your own stuff. If you move a drink it automatically charges to the room

Another draw back is that you get charged if you want to use wi-fi or wired internet in your room. Even though the guest (free) wifi shows up on the list of options on my iPhone and Tablet in the room, we were on the 8th floor, I couldn't connect. My friend says it works in the lobby.

Ice is free and the room comes with coffee maker and free coffee. There's also an ironing board, iron, shampoo & conditioner, face and body soap bars, body lotion, and hair dryer.

The room was very quiet; but maybe nobody was booked in the rooms next to us, not sure.

The hotel was also in a good location close to Walgreens, 7-11, Mel's Diner, and Denny's.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Alex,

We are so happy that you found our rooms to be large and our beds comfortable! We strive hard everyday to reach a five star rating for all our guests and we would like to let you know that the hotel does have un-stocked mini-refrigerators available upon request for your personal items. Please let us know the next time you visit San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Marriott Marquis is in a great location, accessible to just about everything. We had an corner room with amazing views of the city and the Bay.
According to locals this was the busiest week San Francisco had ever seen, with the Oracle convention, Fleet Week, the Blue Angels, America's Cup and Giants playoff baseball...so the hotel was pretty expensive, but in line with all of the other hotels this week.
We upgraded to the concierge floor which gave us access to the lounge for breakfast in the morning and snacks throughout the day. It was well worth it as breakfast alone would have cost us more than the upgrade each day.
A couple of minor points...the rooms need a bit of upgrading..with the laminate peeling off of the night stand. Also..we got stuck in one of the elevators for about 15 minutes..and the hotel staff didn't seem all that concerned.
But all in all...we would definitely return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Parguy99,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and appreciate that you recognize the value of the Concierge Level upgrade. You will be happy to know that the hotel will undergo a complete room’s rejuvenation next year and we will certainly look into the issue with our elevators. Thanks so much for the feedback and we hope your next stay will be flawless.

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in August and had a very lovely stay.

~ Quick check in with friendly and helpful staff
~ Rooms were clean and comfy
~ Next to no outside or elevator noise
~ Great area with plenty of shops and cafes, I recommend the American Box cafe at the Contemporary Jewish Museum behind the hotel, they do very good lunches.
~ Quite a few transport links around the hotel.
~ There is free internet in the lobby which is handy to check your emails on the way out to explore the city. I think the in room internet is $8.

However, although the view from The View bar at the top of the hotel is stunning, the service is very slow which was slightly inconvenient because we had a dinner reservation so I’d advise leaving plenty of time if you want to have a drink up there.

Overall, a lovely experience and the hotel is in a great location for exploring the city and a spot of shopping

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Imie C,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. It is our number one priority to provide 100% guest satisfaction and the valuable feedback you provided helps us reach our goal.

Thanks again for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the middle of Sept '12 and I was upgraded to a suite. The hotel is in the heart of the city and within easy walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy, and many shops. Public transportation is right outside also. The gym is very large and good by hotel standards - it has approx 40 cardio machines of all types, 10 nautilus type machines, a free weight and stretching area. The floor above, connected by stairs, has the indoor pool which looked like it was well kept. The executive lounge is a reasonable size and the breakfast was well done. Evening has a nice spread of food also. The room I was in was nice and large, but some of the furniture was dated. Overall, this is a good selection for business mixed with the need for good restaurants and some tourism all within walking distances.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room to minimize street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEProp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear NEProp,

Everything you need – great location, well equipped fitness center, delicious breakfast and a large room! Thanks for your super review and you will be happy to know that the San Francisco Marriott Marquis is scheduled for a complete Rooms Rejuvenation in 2013. The next time you stay in San Francisco we hope you choose the Marriott Marquis.

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

For our annual girls trip of sisters/daughters/cousins, we picked San Francisco this year. And the Marriott Marquis was our home base.

One of the reasons I picked this hotel was the location. A quick and easy BART ride from the airport which costs only $8.25 one way is how we preferred to get to the hotel. We pulled our suitcases a half a block - and voila. Talked to several other couples who regaled us with stories of their $60 cab fare from SFO. No thanks.

We arrived at about 11:30am, and had requested early check in. Thankfully, one of our 2 rooms was ready and we were able to drop suitcases, brush teeth and prepare for a full day in the city.

Check in was great. Super friendly check in staff, lots of laughing from the 8 of us, fortune cookies all around, and we felt welcome.

The hotel is VERY large. 1500 rooms large. And lots of groups/conferences/airline staff/etc but in no way did it detract from our stay. Our rooms were on the 15th floor, and were very comfortable. I love comfy beds, and these were great. Quiet, clean and the housekeeping staff was very friendly. A great stay.

Having a Starbucks right in the lobby made for a quick grab of drinks and breakfast items in the morning - very convenient.

The only less than stellar thing - the bath towels. They were small and thin in my opinion.

We loved our stay, loved the beds, loved the location and loved the staff we encountered. Would definitely recommend this hotel, and would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Tabcolorado,

Five Stars from a savvy travel such as you is the best compliment the San Francisco Marriott Marquis can receive. We are so happy your girls get-away was such a success!

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel has more of a group/conference feel it is still good for holidaymakers.
It's in a good central location, the rooms were a standard marriot type design, very clean and the bed was super comfy. I would have given this hotel 4 star if they provided free in room wifi and a kettle etc. The breakfast in the mission grill whilst slightly overpriced was quite tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kofbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Kofbrisvegas,

It gives us great pride that you travelled all the way from Australia and chose the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your holiday accomodations. We are glad that you found our beds comfy and awoke to a tasty breakfast! We hope you choose us again the next time you are in San Francisco.

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 231 in San Francisco
3,079 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
5,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 231 in San Francisco
1,453 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 231 in San Francisco
3,818 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $198 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover awe-inspiring views, astonishing amenities and unparalleled customer service at San Francisco Marriott Marquis. Located just south of Market Street in SoMa, our luxurious hotel in downtown San Francisco, California offers easy access to the city's best attractions, including Moscone Center, the Yerba Buena Gardens, Union Square shopping and AT&T Park, home of the Giants. Before embarking on your Bay Area adventure, enjoy a buffet breakfast at B55 Craft House & Kitchen or grab a to-go snack at Mission Street Pantry. In the evening, break a sweat in our modern fitness center, treat yourself to a massage at our full-service spa, or savor inspiring penthouse views and cocktails at The View Lounge, located atop the hotel on the 39th floor, before retiring to deluxe rooms with sleek decor and high-tech amenities. Our hotel also offers more than 121,000 square feet of sophisticated event space for corporate events and meetings. Book your escape today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing