We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #30 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in San Francisco”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

There for business. This hotel is wonderful. Great check in. Very accomodating. A short cab ride away from Pier 39. Would recommend. Bar on 39th floor has a GREAT view. The entire staff was very in tune to the needs of the traveler.

Room Tip: The higher the better. I was on 19th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BothellEnglandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Greetings, BothellEnglandLover

We are pleased to receive your review regarding you recent stay with us. We kindly thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff and customer service.

Sincerely, the S.F. Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,902
    1,964
    613
    163
    100
See reviews for
887
907
173
2,142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I spent a night at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis on a business trip. The location is great, very near the starting point of the cable car lines as well as the South of Market area. The room they initially gave me was next to the elevator, and upon asking for another location they provided a corner room in a better spot. This is a huge hotel that undoubtedly draws heavily on convention business, but they were nonetheless able to provide a somewhat personalized experience and those at the front desk were polite and helpful. For all this, the price was quite reasonable by San Francisco standards, although Wi-Fi is additional and room service breakfast was expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintLouisTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dearest guest, SaintLouisTraveller


We are glad we were able to accommodate you with a comfortable room,, and value your stay with us.

Our best, the S.F. Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for four nights at this hotel while attending an International Convention at the nearby Convention Center which us within walking distance. The hotel room was average. The main restaurant was excellent with a decent buffet that had a wide range of great food choices. During conventions it is advisable to go down early for breakfast to avoid long lines or a "waiting period" which is virtually unheard of in my book for breakfast at a major hotel! Room service was very poor, both in terms of food quality and the waiter, who in my case, on two occasions, was not on the least polite. Front desk very helpful, as was the concierge for dinner suggestions and directions. Best feature is the downtown location in the SOMA area, with tons of decent food and recreational amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest Pickydoc,

We are pleased to have served you during your conference here at the Marriott Marquis. It was a pleasure to receive your valued comments. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice hotel, lobby bar was a little loud/busy. Cheese appetizers were not good. But the top View Bar is nice! You can see 360 view! The Consiere's were very helpful, usually 2-3 available. But one busy morning, there was a line and the head of baggage tried to help out. We were trying to find out a name and location of a Diner we passed when we were on a certain bus number. The guy didn't know and told us there was a diner nearby. The worse diner ever! That was our only bad meal experience. Bad service, bad breakfast. Don't remember the name, but it's very close to hotel. Hotel is in a great location. Easy to get on the subways or bus lines. Fast elevators. Great Indian restaurant/bar next to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Greetings macc_11


Glad to hear that enjoyed our fantastic View Lounge, and location... Thank you for your visit with us.

Our best,
S.F. Marriott Marquis~~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orangevale CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stay at this hotel every year for a few days during the Christmas season to shop, take in the sights and enjoy some great food. We have never been disappointed. This place is clean, the staff is friendly and it is less than a 5-minute walk to Union Square. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackimouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest mackimouse,


Thank you for your lovely compliments! How wonderful to know how much you enjoy the Marquis and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Always our Sincere best, S.F. Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It is hard to ever go wrong with a Marriott! This Marriot is great! The location is nice and close to a BART station as well as close to Union Square. I have stayed here about 5 times and never been disappointed. The staff is very friendly. The concierge is very helpful. It is a short cab ride from AT&T Park, about a $13 fare. The rooms are always clean and quite. I did stay once and we were put off in this weird part and it was like walking through a maze to get through the room, but it wasn’t too bad for us youngsters. For older folks, they were EASILY get lost...so that was kinda annoying. But I think that was just a fluke thing and all my other stays have been superb! I hate that the bar/restaurant closes sooo early, but most Marriott’s are all the same in that regard! There is a great diner down the street that the concierge recommended when we tried to eat after the restaurant was closed! The Marriott has a nice little Starbucks located right inside so you dont have to even leave for that morning cup of joe!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iiilucky1iii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Greetings iiilucky1iii,

Thank you for your most recent stay and all the valued information that you have shared. We are glad that you found our public transportation convenient, and our staff friendly. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm regards, S.F. Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great location in Union Square. Best beds and pillows I've ever come across in any hotel. We got a great deal through a family member. Had a little problem with a hair dryer and it was replaced within 3-4 minutes which was great. The Viewtop bar at the top is rightly named. Service was a little slow in the bar but otherwise nice. The guys that track down taxis and shuttles were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevoBoulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Greetings BevoBoulevard,

We are so very Proud to except 5 Stars... Wow! Fantastic review thank you so very kindly. Please visit again soon.

Graciously our best the S.F. Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#62 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,492 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing