We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Top floor views from this major hotel chain in the heart of San Francisco. Could not ask for a better location. Be sure to hit the bar at the top. Amazing views. Walking to every major restaurant with trying in San Francisco, and close to shopping and the convention center too. Clean, elegant rooms. Very attentive staff.

Room Tip: Hit the bar at the top for a great view and a nice cocktail. Fitness Center is nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Greetings,

Nice review, Great comments, and wonderful tips about our fabulous location on the 39th Floor "View Lounge Bar" hope that we will see you in the near future!

Our best,
S.F.Marriott Marquis~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,331 - 4,337 of 5,634 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

Hotel has an A+ location for the active business travelers or vacationers in San Francisco. Generally good condition, great service, but one major complaint regarding a basic service - after staying at hundreds of hotels around the world, I do not understand why the hotel front desk does not have domestic postage available for purchase. Instead front desk staff re-directs you to the hotel gift shop (other side of the large hotel lobby) and then charge you an outrageous markup on domestic postage. You can only purchase a hotel pre-packaged set of stamps and at over a 100% markup. Also be aware, the hotel valet parking is almost $60/night. A significant cost for a valet service that is often 15+ minutes to retrieve your vehicle during busy periods.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcgrayburnjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Greetings,

From the S. F. Marriott Marquis... We do appreciate your comments and feedback. We sincerely look forward to having you visit with us another time. Thank you.

Best Wishes ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in San Francisco! Great location near Union Square, public transportation, and everything the city has to offer. I've stayed here many times, and always find the staff to be overwhelmingly helpful and courteous, and the rooms to be clean and well appointed.

The lobby is bustling and has a great city vibe, but the rooms in the tower are quite and take you away from all the hype. The concierge lounge staff is TOP NOTCH!!

You can't go wrong with this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Greetings, Dear guest...

Thank you, what a wonderful feeling as I read your comments. We are so very proud to have served you at our S.F. Marriott Marquis, and we thank you for being our guest.

Sincerely, Concierge and Hotel staff... have a wonderful day~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed for two nights this March. The hotel is located in what I call the "shopping" district, near Market Street. Very nice reception area; prompt attention and service. Upgraded to a beautiful corner room for a very small fee. Very well appointed rooms, comfortable beds, nice bathroom, and great view. There are many restaurants near the hotel and it is convenient to the cable cars; only 1 block from the BART. Be sure not to move around any of the food in the honor bar as you will be automatically charged (everything is on sensors); we were but the hotel promplty removed it from our bill. We had a good corporate rate so it was a definite value. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maretrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Greetings, from the S.F.Marriott Marquis!

Thank you for your visit, and sharing with us...

Sincerely, best regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The nicest staff you could ever encounter for a hotel of this size. I had a corner room which was amazing. The best was the "The View", the lounge with the most incredible window overlooking the skyscrapers and their pulled pork sliders and cosmos were awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Happy Greetings,

Thank you for being our guest, and visiting our 39th View Lounge, and for sharing all of your wonderful feedback... We do hope to have the opportunity for you to visit with us again soon.

Best regards,
S.F. Marriott Marquis~~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Yes it is overall a loud hotel because of the acoustics of the lobby, but who hangs out in the lobby ? ...on to the good stuff.
1. VERY friendly staff, totally felt welcome even arriving at 2am in morning, helped us out with something even to get to eat at late hour.
2. Beautiful Clean room, The bathroom and shower were super super nice , and always have to say nice HOT water when you shower. BIG bathtub which is always nice too.
3. Can't really say anything regarding price as we got this via our airline miles, but from what I saw on their price list, this is a pretty nice hotel for the prices I saw, definitely one of the nicer amongst Marriots I have seen in a long time.
4. The only negative is not really a negative but more a heads up that the front door is not where the valet is located, you have to either go through the exit of the valet to get to valet or drive around the hotel, and if you are not from San Francisco this could be confusing at first , I wish the signs were a bit better in this department, but honestly this is not anything to take away from staying here at all.
5. HUGE rooms, AWESOME TV system with great and actually working Movie purchase system which is actually easy to use.
6. To finish off they were so kind and nice such that I left my wedding ring in the room, and they were kind enough to look for it RIGHT AWAY, call back RIGHT AWAY and they sent it to us Fedex Free Two day shipping with no charge.

One of the most positive hotel experiences I have had in a cwhile.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rons283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Good day,

We appreciate all of your kind compliments... Have a pleasant day!

Sincerely,
S.F. Marriott Marquis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spent three nights at the Marriott Marquis over the weekend. We arrived at 11:30 pm to a busy lobby, still loud from the bar action adjacent to the check-in area. The folks in front of us seemed to have to wait a long time and did not seem happy, but our check-in was quick and efficient. We had asked for a rollaway and it was in our corner room. There was tons of space, great views and even though we were literally around the corner from the elevator, it was relatively quiet (unless some folks got off the elevator and were loud--which happened a few times. Location was great. Near the Apple Store and lots of shops. We walked all over Union Square, up to Nob Hill, Chinatown and the Ferry Bldg. If you want a quick, informal meal, grab something from Bristol Farms in the basement of the nearby Westfield Center. I found that the lobby was always a hotbed of sometimes chaotic, loud activity--and the decor was a bit dated, but the staff were very gracious and we loved our room. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Corner room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Greetings,

From the S. F. Marriott Marquis... We do appreciate your comments. We sincerely look forward to having you visit with us another time. Thank you.

Best Wishes ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
2,986 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,711 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,360 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $183 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing