We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The View Lounge Happy Hour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The View Lounge Happy Hour”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

On our last afternoon while awaiting departure to SF airport, we took in the Happy Hour at The View Lounge. It is appreciated that any age can be present during this time frame, as the views from anywhere in this lounge are stunning and should be able to be enjoyed by young and old. However I am not sure the "Happy Hour" title should necessarily be used, as the break in prices applies only to well drinks; no wine specials, no martini specials, no food specials. I did feel that the wine pour was generous, so thank you. We ordered the humus and pita chips as well. Waiter did tell us they don't have a kitchen on this level so the food is prepared in downstairs kitchen and we might have a bit of extra wait for our food. I'm not so sure this needs to be addressed to the customer, seemed odd at the moment, though I understand where he was coming from. But if you are offering food on your menu in The View Lounge then there shouldn't be a reason to "apologize" beforehand. I would return there for the stunning views it offers but I certainly won't expect any break in prices. Perhaps more safe to say I might recommend to others but wouldn't go out of my way to recommend or rush to return there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesSunshine56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and your point is well taken. We so apologize for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,
S.F. Marriott Marquis~~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    2,010
    624
    165
    103
See reviews for
939
942
176
2,218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Located in the heart of downtown SF with access to streetcars, buses and subways just blocks away. The hotel is updated with a Starbucks in the lobby, a lounge on the top floor with 360-degree views of the city, spacious rooms and updated rooms (although there are lots of them!!), multiple concierges to answer your questions, friendly staff, Hertz location and 2 restaurants on site. We didn't have a good view from our room but we did have a very spacious room. We were about a mile and a half from Fisherman's Wharf, a couple of blocks from Union Square/China Town and about half a mile from the ferries. We did see a Marriott location closer to Fisherman's Wharf but we liked this less touristy location in downtown. Check out my other reviews to see where we ate on our trip!

Room Tip: There are 39 floors so ask for a higher floor with a view. There was a convention at our hotel whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Great location! Easy access to the MUNI.

Over the top great fitness room, pool, and hottub!

Bring your own computer. The business center charges $.40 per minute.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Greetings, from the S.F.Marriott Marquis!

Thank you for your visit, and sharing with us...

Sincerely, best regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from guess where
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I spent 7 nights during the week before Thanksgiving 2011 while we attended a convention. The hotel is across the street from the Moscone Convention Center and at the same time a short walk from Union Square.
The hotel is a solid Marriott with nice rooms and a helpful staff. Our room was decent sized and clean with a comfortable bed. Originally we were given a room on the 4th floor in an alcove above the hotel kitchen. Upon entering the room we noticed that we could smell food cooking. We called down to reception and, without hesitation they transferred us to a room on the 22nd floor with a view of the Twin Peaks - much nicer.

A pet peeve of mine is that lower cost hotels - Hampton Inns, etc. - usually offer free wi-fi. Somehow, the more exclusive brands - Marriott Marquis, etc. - think it is just fine to charge for wi-fi in your room. Perhaps they think that if you can afford the room you can afford to pay even more. Of course, wi-fi is available for free in the lobby 22 floors below. But I digress.

This hotel is a solid 4 star hotel with a fine staff and excellent location. One nearby gem is the Yerba Buena Gardens across the street. It contains a wonderful memorial to Martin Luther King, Jr. http://www.yerbabuenagardens.com/features/gardens.html#2 There is a walkway that takes you behind an artificial waterfall. On the walls are sayings such as "..justice rolls down like water and righteousness like a mighty stream..." by MLK and and also from many religions in several languages. It is quite moving to read these while standing behind the rushing waters.

There are a few restaurants in the garden. We went to the Japanese one near the entrance near the MLK memorial. It had excellent food and $10 luncheon specials.

In short the hotel is a excellent choice for visiting San Francisco. It is well kept, has nice rooms and a very helpful staff. Rooms in the alcove above the kitchen should be avoided.

Room Tip: Good value at convention rates. Avoid rooms in the alcove above the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest. Your wonderful feedback regarding our staff, services, and location are all greatly appreciated.

Warm regards ,
S.F.Marriott Marquis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here for business. Very good location, access is a little tricky with the one-way streets. Extremely friendly staff and very pleasant check in. Room was clean and pretty large. Normal Marriott amenities in bathroom. They have a restaurant/bar in the lobby, but it was closed ofr some reason when I was there. A bit inconvenient... This place was expensive, for everything, but it's SF, right?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_Steelers_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I come to this hotel every year for a conference (ISSCC). The hotel is big with full amenities. The rooms are specious, staff is nice and service prompt and excellent. The gym is big and open 24h. Recommend for anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest. Your wonderful feedback regarding our staff and services are greatly appreciated.

Warm regards ,
S.F.Marriott Marquis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I booked our flight and hotel through Jet Blue Vacations and found everything to be in order upon our arrival. The cost was very fair and we were not hit with any surprise fees. The hotel seems to cater to business travelers, but that did not take away from our being there on vacation. We found the front desk staff to be very friendly and accommodating. We requested adjoining rooms and were given just that. Our rooms were on the 27th floor and had beautiful views and very comfortable beds. They have an indoor pool and hot tub which was very clean, well-supplied and empty. The hot tub was large and felt great after a long day of walking the streets of San Francisco. The hotel is in a great location, you can walk to many restaurants, the trolley and shopping, shopping, shopping. I was very happy with our stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
It gives us great pleasure to have you as our guest. And for sharing how enjoyable your experience was here at the S. F. Marriott Marquis...

Cheers , please do visit with us soon again~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,873 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,077 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
3,506 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing