We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Horrible Disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #34 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Horrible Disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel after getting a deal on a travel website but were extremely disappointed. First off, there was a terrible artificial air freshener odor in the lobby each and every day we entered the hotel. Secondly, the hotel was old and dated, too big and loud and had a constant dance club mix playing in the lobby. All the restaurants were horribly overpriced and there was no coffee maker or any other amenity in the room. The last straw was that during the morning we were checking out, three staff members knocked on our door from 9 AM to 10 AM asking when we would be leaving even after we put 'Do Not Disturb' on the door. This was a truly horrible experience and I will not be staying in a Marriott again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    1,917
    607
    159
    96
See reviews for
860
879
170
2,037
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Having a very bad experience with airline (Virgin America). Almost in tears, not my MO. Asked front desk guy if I could get a late check out, after I had explained my airline horrors. He said as occupancy was low I could check out at 6pm, no extra charge. Now that's service, made me feel better.

Room Tip: Concierge is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Sara,

We are glad to hear we were to end your visit to San Francisco on a good note... Hope that you will visit with us again.


Sincerely our best,
S.F. Marriott Marquis~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Barbara at the concierge desk made our stay so memorable. She is excellent at finding the perfect restaurant and the whole staff went above and beyond to help plan our stay which included: amazing Italian restaurants, some tourist spots, shopping tips and places to celebrate a birthday with drinks: starlite room, bourbon and branch and of course the view in the hotel.
Room had a great view. Only complaints were an overcrowded concierge floor during the holidays and someone elses room service dishes that remained in the hallway for two days. Other than that it was a great stay with great staff to support!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest. And for all of your positive and friendly feedback.

Warm regards,
S.F.Marriott Marquis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed in this hotel with my 2 best friends for 2 nights in December 2011. Great location-very close to Union Square. Room was very clean, comfortable, & pretty big. The view of the city was amazing. Didn't really have a chance to check out the restaurant & bar, maybe next time. Overall, our stay was great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melchin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Good day,

We appreciate all of your kind compliments... Have a pleasant day!

Sincerely,
S.F. Marriott Marquis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed 3 mights for a convention in November, 2011.
Location close to convention center was excellent.
Hotel is a little dated, though much of this is due to the design. The walk through the hallways with several turns to get to your room is telling and the atrium area feels old.
The rooms are fine and typical Marriott quality.
Fitness facility is okay. Adequate equipment but the lay out is terrible.
There was some maintenance being done on our floor and the workers were sloppy leaving junk in the hallway

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colovoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for choosing our location.... Please know that we have heard your comments and will take note. Also we are scheduled this year and have begun our new project redo in our hotel guest rooms which we are very excited to share...

Our Best regards,
S.F. Marriott Marquis~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Checking into the Marriott Marquis is like renting a Toyota Camry -- clean, comfortable, roomy, functional, reliable, quiet, a little pricey, and somewhat boring.

I stayed three nights, and was happily upgraded to a 'Suite Living Room,' which is more-or-less a corporate hospitality suite with a couple of couches and a king-size murphy bed that can be put up if not needed. There's oodles of space and the bed is comfortable, but there's not much of a view. There's no wall between the bedroom and living room area, so it's not a great spot for meetings -- particularly if you've left last night's socks lying around. It was more room than I needed, but it would be nice for families with kids who put their toys out on the floor. Or kids who just need space. You'll find the same overpriced minibar and snack tray that charges you $5 for the Rice Krispie cake you just plucked; for the sake of your wallet, ask them to remove the snack tray before the kids see it. And please, Marriott, understand that morning coffee is an American rite. For what you're charging, give us real mugs instead of styrofoam for the in-room coffee maker, and the little tubs of sterilized cream instead of coffeemate packets. Please? Pretty please?

The location is very good -- it's right next to the Moscone Center, and a short walk to the Muni/BART/streetcars or to the businesses on Market St. Staff is polite and helpful, but it's a big hotel and the lobby can be a crowded zoo at times. Expect to pay lots if you park your car there. Like most of SF, you're better off with cabs, although the lineup to get one in the early evening can be quite long. The views from the bar on the 39th floor are magnificent, but it's often very busy and you might not find a seat by a window.

It's a Marriott, and so exudes a bland corporate competence that allows no surprises. But many other hotels in The City have something uniquely San Franciscan about them, which makes a stay that much more interesting. The only memorable things about the Marriott are the upstairs bar and the weird Wurlitzer jukebox facade of the building. It's a good hotel with good staff, but it feels like a missed opportunity. Here they are in the one of the more eclectic cities in the world, but the Marriott appears to absorbed nothing of that soul -- sort of like putting a good-old-same-old Starbucks in the middle of the Louvre. So if you want a nice room in SF that look like other nice rooms in other cities, go with the Marriott. If you want something unique and interesting, well … don't forget that you're in San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zapf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Greetings, from the S.F.Marriott Marquis!

Thank you for your visit, and sharing with us...

Sincerely, best regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I'm a local to the bay area but was attending a party in the city so decided to spend the night at this hotel. Typical excellent Marriott service, room was on a nice high floor, and location cannot be beat with great proximity to shopping, public transportations, movies, and the largest parking garage in the city.

Two issues we had: 1) TV died at some point during the night. Not a big deal as we were already going to sleep. 2) Temperature is super hard to control in the room. It was freakishly hot in the room when I got there (upwards 80 degrees) likely due to the sun hitting the room, but it took forever to get it to something liveable.

But again, for SF and the location, can't be beat, especially for price.

Room Tip: During summer, may want to choose a lower floor if you don't like hot rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbabigurl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Greetings ladies,

Thank you for sharing, and yes we do have a redo scheduled in all of our guest rooms this year.

Great to know you had a fun time in San Francisco..

Our best,
Marriott Marquis~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing