We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, great location, don't miss the view from the bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #28 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, great location, don't miss the view from the bar”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is one of the better Marriott's I've stayed at. Nice rooms, excellent location and love the bar on the 39th floor.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr&MrsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Hello,

We are glad to know that your stay was enjoyable, and that your visit to our 39th Floor View Lounge was a Great experience, as well!!

Thank you so very much, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,255
    2,126
    657
    170
    113
See reviews for
1,069
1,001
180
2,398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed for nearly a week (Tuesday through Sunday). The staff was pleasant, the rooms were well kept and the location was pretty awesome. I was there on business, so most of my meals came from the hotel, but I have to say the food was not good. They tried very hard with themed meals for our conference (E for effort), but never well executed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DineWithDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Greetings,

We have received your feedback, thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
S.F. Marriott Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

large hotel with speedy check in; very close to BART station & buses; decent restaurants nearby.

good size room with comfy bed; wide corridors. Like most Marriott hotels have quiet, soundproofed rooms.

Starbucks in the lobby & nice breakfast grill.

Location!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertfor123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed at one of the lounge level floors and was able to catch free breakfast every morning. This is 2 blocks from the Moscone Center and close to many other attractions. From the hotel you can jog to Embarcadero and back early morning and I felt pretty safe. The staff was always very helpful

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugo0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel was easy to find. Centrally located between major shopping and within walking distance to many amazing restaurants. Clean and Modern room. I could not hear the neighbors - a plus! The lobby had a starbucks, social bar setting, plenty of seating and a great concierge. The bedding was crisp and clean and perfect after a day of walking. The AC worked - another plus!

The price of our room was average: no deals available the weekend we stayed. That didn't detour us for staying. The bar on the top floor was open to us who didn't drink. We took a seat next to a window with an awesome view of the whole city. I felt at home.

A must consider if you are planning a trip to San Francisco and need a clean, modern and beautiful hotel within a travelers budget.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScenicSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

When I booked the hotel I thought I was booking the Union Square Marriot. Apparently this is a very common occurrence.

We walked the 2-3 blocks over to the actual hotel. It was a bit of a ghost town in the lobby but the staff was most helpful with directions. There did not seem to be many guests and it was a busy time of year so I found that odd.

The room was large for an older hotel (corner room, angled) and had a nice street view. We had to walk farther than from other hotels but we did not mind as the trip was for a surgery so the comfort and quiet of the hotel was welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carhew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I've been to a lot of hotels in SF and I think this property may have the perfect fit of location and amenities. The rooms are your standard 4-star business but where this hotel separates itself from the pack is in the hotel amenities. It has an awesome gym/pool and the bar/lounge on the 39th floor with great views is really special especially around dusk. The hotel is close to all the action of Union Square but far enough away to avoid the hassles that a chaotic tourist spot offers. Public transportation access is great. The only thing I didn't care for were the pillows which weren't up to par. Why scrimp on the pillows Marriott? The "exposed" mini-bar was kind of tacky.

There's no free WiFi but we picked up the lobby signal in our room so that was nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HurdyGurdyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,937 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing