We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, a little off the beaten path.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #34 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Value, a little off the beaten path.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

When I booked the hotel I thought I was booking the Union Square Marriot. Apparently this is a very common occurrence.

We walked the 2-3 blocks over to the actual hotel. It was a bit of a ghost town in the lobby but the staff was most helpful with directions. There did not seem to be many guests and it was a busy time of year so I found that odd.

The room was large for an older hotel (corner room, angled) and had a nice street view. We had to walk farther than from other hotels but we did not mind as the trip was for a surgery so the comfort and quiet of the hotel was welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carhew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    1,917
    607
    159
    96
See reviews for
860
879
170
2,037
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY,NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I've been to a lot of hotels in SF and I think this property may have the perfect fit of location and amenities. The rooms are your standard 4-star business but where this hotel separates itself from the pack is in the hotel amenities. It has an awesome gym/pool and the bar/lounge on the 39th floor with great views is really special especially around dusk. The hotel is close to all the action of Union Square but far enough away to avoid the hassles that a chaotic tourist spot offers. Public transportation access is great. The only thing I didn't care for were the pillows which weren't up to par. Why scrimp on the pillows Marriott? The "exposed" mini-bar was kind of tacky.

There's no free WiFi but we picked up the lobby signal in our room so that was nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HurdyGurdyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is in the heart of San Francisco. In the top floor, the bar has the most extraordinary view. The staff is very kind and always available. The room is big, really big but cozy.
The spa with a warm pool and jacuzzi are for free.
The only negative point: breakfast is not included but they have got this wonderful restaurant with the most delicious breakfast ever! The pancakes are great!
It is expensive, of course, but you know where your money is going to.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfcury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in early May, 2011 and for us the location was great. Flew into Oakland to visit friends for 2 days. When finished visiting we dropped our rental car at OAK then hopped BART over to the city ($3.80 each one-way, better than bridge tolls and parking). It's about a 3 block walk from the Powell St. BART station to the hotel. We found the service to be quite friendly and the property to be in very good condition.

Didn't dine in or use many of the facilities…we're on vacation and out sight seeing! Our room was on a mid-level floor with an adequate view, a fabulous view from an expensive upper floor was not a priority. The room was nicely appointed though the 2 of us found it a bit mysterious that no mini-fridge was available. Perhaps they’d hoped to entice us with the over-priced convenience bar (no dice).

The Marriott Marquis is convenient to Hallidie Plaza which is one end of the Powell St. Cable Car lines to Hyde and to Mason Sts., the Moscone Center and not too far from AT&T Park. Also convenient to the trolleys running along the Embarcadero then south along Market St. Walking to Union Square, financial district, Chinatown and such is easy. A number of landmarks, museums, restaurants and nightspots are close at hand. But if you’re headed to Golden Gate Park, The Presidio, Palace of Fine Arts, University of San Francisco or the UCSF Med Center then you’re on the opposite side of town.

We slept well for 3 nights in a nice, quiet hotel room and certainly paid less than a lot of other places we might have stayed in the city. I’d also like to recommend Fringale Restaurant, 570 4th Street about 4 blocks east of the hotel as an excellent choice for dinner ( www.fringalesf.com ). I have no connection with this restaurant other than to say we had an excellent dinner there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank constant_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great service and very understanding staff. My credit cards were declined on check in due to fraud experienced on my cards while in Chicago and they were most understanding while I waited for an emergency card to be shipped.
Comfortable beds and polite friendly service everywhere. Hotel is very centrally located in downtown area and close to all major transport.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneDaubney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stay here frequently when we are in San Francisco on business. It's very convenient to Union Square and near the Westfield Shopping Center and some good restaurants.

I've only stayed here while on business, but did manage to get to a couple of the museums that are in walking distance of the hotel. If I'm on my own for dinner, I particularly like being able to run across the street to the Shopping Center to grab dinner at Out the Door, which is a very good Vietnamese restaurant.

LIke any big center city hotel, this one does a brisk convention business, especially being so close to the Moscone Center. So if you're attending a convention, it's very convenient with lots of places to meet fellow conventioneers. If you're not part of the group, the lobby will feel like Grand Central Station during rush hour - and so will the line for getting a cab.

The room was small but adequate, comfortable bed and clean as you would expect from a downtown Marriott Marquis.

The line for the Starbucks in the morning can be quite lengthy; I've waited 10-15 minutes just to order a plain, black coffee. If you're an extravert, you can use the time to meet the conventioneers on the line with you.

I personally don't love the bar on the 39th floor. Very crowded. Understaffed. Pricey cocktails. Better than decent food. So not bad if you like that kind of scene.

Room Tip: 5th floor is most convenient; high floor for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annempk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The location of the Marriott Marquis was fantastic. We were able to walk to Chinatown, shopping and restaurants. There is a trolley about 1 block away that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf. Very convenient. The room was spacious with a fabulous view overlooking the city. There is a bar at the top of the hotel where the view is gorgeous so be sure to stop in for lunch, dinner or dessert. The only downside to the hotel was that it appeared to be a 'Business' hotel. The conference my husband was attending was being held in the hotel and there were a lot of other conference goers as well so I don't know if the hotel was hosting another conference or if it was just such a good location that business people flocked to it. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, just not exactly kid-friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing