We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$233
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$382
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$224
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$199
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$259
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$227
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$348
$297
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$349
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$241
$187
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$294
$239
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,419)
Filter reviews
6,419 results
Traveler rating
2,933
2,417
739
200
130
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,933
2,417
739
200
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe view loungem clubthe concierge loungegreat locationunion squareconvention hotelmoscone centertop floorlarge hotelbusy hotelcorner roommarket streetbusiness triplobby barbart stationper daycable car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,635 - 5,640 of 6,419 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2007

This is right in the shopping district / Union Square! We took the subway from SFO airport and I was pleased that it was only a few blocks from the station to the hotel.

The plasma TV was great, the beds comfy. My daughter enjoyed the indoor pool and we went everyday. It's a short distance to the end of the cable car ride so that was perfect.

The hotel was busy as it was 4th of July weekend, but we had a great time there. We didn't have much interaction with the staff, but everything was good when we did.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mylenebh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2007

Spent two nights at the SF Marriott and had an excellent stay. I was attending a conference at the hotel. The location is very convenient, from the restaurants, to the high end shopping district, to the nearby BART station. The staff was very friendly. I requested a high floor & got a room with a spectacular view of the city. They are currently renovating the bottom floor but it's hard to tell because they've modified operations to work around the temporary lack of space. Nothing bad to say about my stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank COdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Despite a dreamy, marshmallow bed and room that meets all standards (you get what you pay for, this property aint' cheap!), I was truly disappointed with the shady operation that is blatantly going on with the employees that work there, and i want to bring this to your attention.

Outside the hotel there is a taxi line for the airport. The valets will let you bypass the line and immediately you a taxi if you slip him $5 or $10. If you don't give him anything, he'll tell you to wait in line (which takes a long time). If this doesn't seem so bad yet, wait --- the TAXI DRIVER then has to surreptiously slip him $10 for the privilege of getting the long airport ride! These valets are raking in a cool $15-$20 per taxi customer, and given the high activity level of this Marriott, these guys are raking in $$$ per hour at while taking advantage of the customers and taxi drivers, all off the books.

My colleague and I carefully watched this all unfold while we were outside: Valet in top hat greeting a customer, see him get a bill, and the valet "pretends" that this tipping customer has a "reservation." A taxi will pull up, and the valet will say "what's your name again?" in front of all the poor people waiting in line, and then lead the customer into the taxi. The Valet leans into the Taxi driver's window to "give directions" and slyly gets his take.

When we got in the taxi, the driver admitted that he paid the valet. We asked him why, and he said he had no choice. "if I don't pay, they'll get the next taxi to pay up. We need the money and the long ride to the airport is important to our salary. The cops know about this bribery racket but haven't done anything about it." He also added that sometimes the price is $15 to get an airport ride.

Now you may shrug at all this, but what does this have to do with your stay? Not much, maybe. But it says a lot about how this Marriott treats customers after they exit the property, after paying $350+ a night to stay there. It leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank toasty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Stayed here in late October. Rooms were pretty nice, common areas not bad either. Room was booked for a conference rate of $199 plus tax ($48). At check out the rate charged was $349 plus tax! Desk clerk was very helpful attempting to resolve, but ultimately had to contact the manager on duty with the statement "please come down to the front desk, we have another one". The manager attempted to convince us the rate was correct even though another couple we traveled with during the exact dates had the correct amount charged to their bill. He had difficulty getting his story straight regarding the timing of the reservation (he had nothing to say after we demonstrated that our reservation was made 3 days earlier than our traveling companions, after he had stated the other couple had received a better rate for an earlier reservation). Ultimately he refused to honor the rate and became exceeding rude until we decided to leave. Plenty of nice hotels in S.F. We'll stay somewhere else the next time we're in town!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eavd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Brilliant hotel in a brilliant location.
We booked a double double room and it was very big with a large bathroom (by hotel standards), stylish decor and massive flatscreen TV.
Beds were super-comfy and the we had a great view of downtown SF from our 16th floor room.
The 39th floor view bar was also great with view over the whole city.
When we were there the hotel was rennovating the ground floor but this made no difference to us (there was no noise or mess) and ALL the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly especially the concierge, doorman and receptionists.
Great location just off Market St, a stones's throw from the major stores and very near to the Powell Street Cable Car terminus (just get there early!!).

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lulu32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews