We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Overall!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn Civic Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
Ranked #204 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Decent Overall!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place is far from fancy, but what it does offer is a large 2 queen bed room w micro/fridge, free parking, free acceptable WIFI and easy access to the muni bus going north, to fishermans wharf and east to the Embarcadero. it was in a quiet area. Close to the Tendeloin, but not there. I didnt see any panhandlers. Parking was able to fit a Suburban!. The clearance is 7 feet. This will fit MOST cars!!! The pastry, juice and coffee were a plus. The front desk guy was helpful and cordial. The map that he had, for patrons to take, was very useful . It showed the buslines, metro and muni stops, including the busline #'s.
wallgreens, burger king, round table, mels diner, couple bars, a liquor store all very near!!
The ~ $40 saved for parking, and size of the room made this very value oriented!
yes, the elevator was very small, but 2 small flights of stairs maximum...........come on!!!!!!!!!!
Basic hotel yes, but in a city like san francisco, outside of sleeping, and adult intimacy, U spend most of it out of you room.........duhhhhhhhhhhhh!
the ease of public transportation was a huge plus!!!!!!!!
my goal was to get into THE CITY, and park the huge suburban, til it was time to leave...........goal met!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank oneeddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    47
    28
    57
See reviews for
31
43
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We have conversion van that didn't fit in the parking garage, so we had to park on the street. Before we turned the engine off there was a man knocking on the window asking for money. We took our luggage to the room riding in an elevator that barely fit a family of 4 with 1 suitcase and 1 rolling briefcase. When my husband went back to the van for something there was a man there who told him to get all the electronics out of the van. The room was a good size, but run down. Only one lightbulb by the sink and there was a washcloth wrapped around it. The man in the office was very nice and helpful. Had to leave early because you can only park on the street for free until 7 and the parking meter ate our money and still said expired. And the parking police were there at 7:06, we gathered our stuff and left before we got a ticket. The breakfast consists of wrapped pastries you would get from a vending machine and coffee. It was cheap, but I'd rather pay more and feel safer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dcjcbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Went here for one night. They don't have enough parking spots for how many rooms they have. Rooms were clean but not as pictured of course. Shower kept fluxuating water pressure and temperature. TV is small and picture smaller. Free wi-fi didnt work. But other than that got a goods nights sleep and you get what you pay for in San Francisco as always.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank muleyfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you are just looking for a place to sleep with a lock on the door, this will do. On the surface it looks pretty clean but again, rule number one in a place that is priced comparatively very low compared to other offerings in the area is that you don't scrutinize cleanliness. I think the price draws some of the younger people to the hotel so maybe anticipate drunk men and women running back and forth laughing and screaming, slaming doors, late at night. This was our experience at least. But when you are on a budget and need a relatively close location and a place with a lock on the door at night, this place works just fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ultrasweatproof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

If all you're looking for is a clean place to stay and sleep for the night, this fits the bill. It's nothing to write home about, but the space is clean and the staff is extremely friendly. We accidentally under-booked our stay one night (our fault, not theirs). The cleaning staff treated all of our belongings with respect as they emptied our room - nothing missing, nothing damaged. When we got back in the evening to discover our error, they offered us a new room (the only one they had left for the night) for the same rate we had before, even though it was a double and we paid the rate for a single.

Staff friendliness aside, the location doesn't suck. A quick hop on the 47 gets you to the piers in no time, and it's about a fifty minute walk - not a bad one! Can't beat the free parking. Building is secure - must have a key card to access the rooms. Free wifi functions effectively as free wifi - gets the job done. A little slow, but for free, I'm not complaining!

Only cons: towels. Please, RRI, get this location some new towels.

Room Tip: The privacy/lighting in the rooms facing Eddy St (or at least, the one we had - 203) leaves somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mellenorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Good neighborhood. Clean. Nice tv, heater. Clean and free parking. Tub and smells good. Paid $65 on Priceline....whoever is complaining needs therapy. Guy at counter is friendly and said live music is within walking distance. We wanted a quick, affordable SF fix. Free wifi. Come on you nay-Sayers.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank camboculls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel meets all your basic needs, is clean and well put together and offers everything you need for a comfy stay, however the location is a bit odd. It's in an area where I wouldn't recommend walking around by yourself at night. I was with friends, so we did venture out, however there are always people hanging around on the streets trying to start fights with each other.

So if you are fine with being in an odd location and being fairly central to things, this is an ideal hotel. Just keep it in mind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor possible to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Alexis Park San Francisco
#173 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#134 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
#148 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#99 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#196 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Civic Center

Property: Rodeway Inn Civic Center
Address: 860 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109-7711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Civic Hotel San Francisco
Rodeway Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing