We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
Ranked #204 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Elgin, TX, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shabby but clean”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Staff was friendly and stored our luggage on first and last day (prior to and after checkout times). Don’t bother with breakfast; if you visit during 2012 the Sconeworks next door is delicious! Not the hotel’s fault that the street outside smells of urine and old socks (home to the homeless). I will seek a nicer location next time. Noisy in the early a.m. and problems with electricity and security door. They should invest in upgrading the bedding, specifically the pillows which were very flat. However, very convenient to the bus lines.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethbesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    48
    28
    60
See reviews for
32
45
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Did not use elevator, (being repaired upon arrival). Toilet dispenser broken upon arrival, (2nd day it was fixed), report anything broken in your room to eliminate any charges. Local's said Tenderloin: (a district of a city largely devoted to vice), area was bad, (location of Rodeway Inn).

Bedding was clean, pillows sunk, breakfast was juice, but the price was right. The Civic Center was located nearby for shuttle to Outside lands, which was a plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived at 2pm. Check in is officially 3pm. Usually this is not an issue. If it is, staff is polite. Despite my Platinum status with Choice Hotels, despite it only being an hour early, the guy at the desk actually said, condescendingly, "Did you read the check in time on the confirmation email?" and then made us feel awkward for his amazing favor of asking if a room was ready. Egads. Of course this is the hotel brand (Choice) whose surveys ask if your status was recognized. Never once in any of their hotels. I wonder why they ask. Even checking in for the morning paper, mentioned online and in the info in the room got a rude response. Clean room. Wifi fine. Location handy. If not for the service, we would go back. Because of the service, hope to never return. Retraining or replacement? Maybe family owned. I am a travel professional, and I was shocked by it. Even trying to leave for an appointment the cleaning woman had the grate out to clean, but was talking to a friend, and kept me waiting to drive out until I called out. Fine hotel but almost purposely bad service. I am always polite, not a complainer, so take this one as it is. Read my other reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed with my boyfriend, we were there to see a Giants Game. The only thing I liked about it was that it was closed to the buses, Walgreens and Round Table Pizza. It's not a place it you want to get a goods nights rest, all night you could hear sirens, people yelling, car alarms, people's foot sets above you, and the bed was not that comfortable; I did not sleep at all. Even though it was just us two, the room felt very tiny.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

After reading reviews I was a little afraid to stay here, but besides the bums and crack heads in the surrounding area the hotel experience was not bad at all. I stayed with my boyfriend for outside lands and it was in the perfect location. It was 2 blocks from where the shuttle picks you up. I didn't leave the hotel at night once the concert was over. My boyfriend did and said it was sketchy and would not recommend a girl to go out alone. The price was right compared to the other hotels in the area. The rooms were clean althought the fridge in te room was broken. Thankfully my car didn't get broken into either. If your in sf and don't plan on staying in the room long then I would recommend especially if you are in a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bdiddyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Booked for one night me the wife and our two teenage girls. checked in at 3:10pm and parking was ok lots of spaces. Should have rung bells when we were advised to remove all valuables from the car but it did not. took our stuff to the room which had a broken lock (the one you swing around so you can open it a little) bedside lamp had names and pictures scratched into it and the carpet was dirty and sticky. Ah well it was cheap and free parking.

Set off for the tram 1/2m walk and was aproched 20 times by beggers and tramps, the girls by this time are scared. beggers all the way around the tram stop and at peir 39 etc we got a taxi back to the hotel for our own saftey and checked out and moved stright on to Sacrameno.

Even whilst loading our stuff back into the car a guy was going through the hotel bins, the guy on reciption said he could no understand our concerns.

DON'T STAY THERE, JUST DON'T.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JClark2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights.
Luckily we there was enough space in the parking garage (i read on tripadvisor that this was a bit of a problem).

The rooms are big and clean.
Breakfast was a bit sad. Soggy breadpackages and coffe/tea/orange juice.

A lot of reviews mentioned the bums around the hotel.
This is a problem which is easily solved.

When you walk out of the hotel and turn right, stop at the first street you come by.
If you walk trough you'll end up in the "bad part" of San Francisco.
This part runs to powell station. Behind that it gets better.
My tip: just ignore this part during your stay. You'll be fine.
Buy a bus/cablecar passport for 3 days and ride the public transport everywhere.

There is a supermarket very close to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luuk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Alexis Park San Francisco
#168 of 228 in San Francisco
130 reviews
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#141 of 228 in San Francisco
222 reviews
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
#148 of 228 in San Francisco
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#138 of 228 in San Francisco
149 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#171 of 228 in San Francisco
472 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#88 of 228 in San Francisco
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Civic Center

Property: Rodeway Inn Civic Center
Address: 860 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109-7711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Civic Hotel San Francisco
Rodeway Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing