We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, get what you pay for..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge by the Bay
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, get what you pay for..”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Travel agent booked this for us as I couldnt find a decent hotel in San Fran for my budget. ( Half way through 5 week trip around the states)
Very basic rooms ( a decent size though) and could do with a refurbishment as probably last done in the 70's by the looks of things. No amenities at all in room, couldnt even open a bottle of wine without taking the elevator down then outside and into reception.
Having said that staff were nice enough, breakfast adequate ( though small room and why have a smoking area 5 feet away ) and we were only there to sleep, not hang out in the room. It was a good location for us as it was a short walk to a lot of stuff and we liked the walking ( though that hill on Lombard is a killer)
All in all, good value for money though a small fridge & microwave would do wonders..

One tip for San Fran is if you want to do Alcatraz, book in advance. We didnt and had to get up at 5am to get same day release tickets. ( we did and it was well worth it)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchfamli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_widner, Manager at Travelodge by the Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our last major renovation was in 2006. We try to renovate every 5 years or so as we are a very high traffic property. We are currently renovating the property and we hope to be finished by early 2013. A wine opener is not something that we get asked for very often, which is why they are not in every guest room, I apologize. For future travelers, if there is anything you need, don't hesitate to call the front desk and ask us. Thanks again for your feedback, come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    398
    314
    95
    50
See reviews for
417
316
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here. Older style motel property, helpful front desk, spacious rooms if a little dated and small bathrooms, nice and clean, comfortable beds, on 2nd floor high vaulted ceilings, parking first come first served can be busy. Located near bus route on Van Ness and Lombard. 10 mins walk to excellent eateries in Cow Hollow area, walking distance to Embarcadero area. Free wifi, breakfast included, basic continental style and breakfast room definitely too small nowhere to sit unless you get there very early! Otherwise a well priced, clean comfortable place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_widner, Manager at Travelodge by the Bay, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We appreciate the compliments, thank you! I wanted to mention that our parking is guaranteed. For future travelers: If you can't find a spot, talk to the front desk and we will be happy to find one for you. Our continental breakfast is from 6:30 - 9:30. I have noticed that most of the people end up coming in the last 30 minutes. Although we have seating for over 20 people, it can get a bit crowded at time. I would recommend comer earlier to avoid the heavy traffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Travelodge by the bay is a nicely located hotel near the Fishermen's Wharf area, and just a short walk to the 'Crookest Street'.

If you plan to use the public transport to get to sights, plan beforehand as the buses are the only amenities near the hotel, so use of public transport needs to be planned.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and are a great source for tours and other attractions.

The complementary breakfast is adequate and very popular with the guests so the dinning room can get crowded.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We arrived late at night after a very long flight and were given a terrible room, no 314 , no place for anything. After complaining they changed our room but only the next day. The breakfast is minimal and the location isn't close to anything in particular . I suppose for the price , and given it is San Francisco we got a fair deal, but still hard to recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid room no 314 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#108 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge by the Bay

Property: Travelodge by the Bay
Address: 1450 Lombard St, Van Ness & Franklin, San Francisco, CA 94123-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge by the Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated Sleepy Bear Honor Roll 3 Years running and voted 2006 Property of the Year. The Travelodge by The Bay has also won the Guest Satisfaction Award. the Travelodge By The Bay is located just 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, 2 blocks from the Cable Cars and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Travelodge by the Bay has just completed a full property renovation. Experience an enjoyable nights stay with convenient amenities and nearby attractions. We offer clean and affordable guest rooms, indoor and outdoor parking, safe interior corridors and much more. The Travelodge By The Bay provides quality, comfort and cleanliness in an excellent location at a reasonable price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing