We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge by the Bay
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our keys would never work to allow us entery to the building or our room. We were constantly having to visit the office to have our keys re-programmed. The patio doors to our room were left open after one cleaning - the odors that were allowed to fill the room because of this were not pleasant. One of the towels left in the bathroom to dry yourself with had a hole in the middle with hair left on it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank DON T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_widner, Manager at Travelodge by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

I apologize for the door lock not working to let you in to our elevator, we recently replaced the batteries and it seems to be working much better now. As this is the busy time of year for us, we recently hired a few new housekeepers. I do recall this particular situation and it was the housekeepers 2nd day. Although this is not an excuse for what happened, I hope you can understand that it takes time to train employees on every detail of cleaning a guestroom. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Too much money for a room in an old motel, and a very poor breakfast.
This sentence is to fill in the dumb requiremetn that a review be 100 characters.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank BRUCE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Check in for Top floors as the ceiling is noisy , because of wood.
I liked the hotel being a bit supportive and moving me to a top floor, very happy with this response.
The breakfast is not that good, and shouldn't be counted for quality breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank NISHANT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good location with Fisherman's wharf close by . Staff were very helpful and friendly, but rooms need updating and redecorating. No fridge in room and old fashioned (not flat screen) television. Breakfast room tiny and selection was very limited. Parking on site and reasonable price at about $15 a day. Free WiFi. Quite noisy at night next to Lombard street but good base to see SF from.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank mikepr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We paid the top rate according to AAA but were disapointed we had no micro wave or fridge and we had very loud neighbors (otherwise quite).. The location was great for tourist sights and transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank GORDON J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

All always, it was a clean, comfortable room. Staff was helpful.

My only problem was trying to get towels! Two females sharing the room and both having showers every morning does not add up to two bath towels. I even went to the front desk as asked if we could get 4 bath towels for the duration of our stay. Was told ok, but we still had to go down to the front desk every day to get the extra two.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The location was perfect for me as it was very close to the bay and Fishermans Wharf but also on a good bus route for downtown.
The place on the outside could use a coat of paint but the room was clean and quiet.
We stayed for 7 nights and the room was cleaned and fresh towels were put out every day.
I have stayed here before and would be more than happy to stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank ANDY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_widner, Manager at Travelodge by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I wanted to mention that we will be giving our property a completely new paint job in less than a month. Again, thanks for the kind response and please come back and see us again the next time you're in San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
1,173 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 230 in San Francisco
2,276 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge by the Bay

Address: 1450 Lombard St, Van Ness & Franklin, San Francisco, CA 94123-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: $142 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge by the Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated Sleepy Bear Honor Roll 3 Years running and voted 2006 Property of the Year. The Travelodge by The Bay has also won the Guest Satisfaction Award. the Travelodge By The Bay is located just 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, 2 blocks from the Cable Cars and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Travelodge by the Bay has just completed a full property renovation. Experience an enjoyable nights stay with convenient amenities and nearby attractions. We offer clean and affordable guest rooms, indoor and outdoor parking, safe interior corridors and much more. The Travelodge By The Bay provides quality, comfort and cleanliness in an excellent location at a reasonable price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travelodge
San Francisco Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing