We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but you can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Opal San Francisco
Ranked #100 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a very old hotel. The matresses are old, the bathroom and the facilities in general seem like 20 years old at best. Everything was clean but ceartainly it wasn't a 100% dream stay. Maybe the worst part of this hotel is the location, right next to the Tenderloin district with lots of homeless and drug soliciting. We had to take big walks in order to avoid going through the Tenderloin everything we get in and out of the hotel. You definitely can do better in SF.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Miguel M,

Thank you for your review. It is true that we are an older hotel with older facilities. We have an exciting renovation project planned in the not too distant future, and our hotel product will improve greatly when that happens.

In the meantime, however, we are an older hotel but we try to make up for it with charm and incredible service. We hope you give us another try on your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Pleasant, clean if slightly musty hotel at the edge of Tenderloin. Rock bottom Hotwire rate. Attracts more affluent backpackers, Euro budget crowd. Staff pleasant. Roomsclean. Decent continental breakfast included. Get a corner room, they are bigger.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Fstein,

Thank you for your review!

We are very happy that you found our rooms to be clean and our staff pleasant. We are an older hotel, but we are well maintained and take pride in providing great service.

We hope you stay with us again for your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The room was small, but it didn't really matter since you're right in the middle of the city and we weren't in the room a lot anyways, only to sleep and shower. It was actually a lot nicer than I had expected it to be, was clean and was actually pretty nice. Also the breakfast was good too, I don't eat much anyways so toast/bagel and juice was perfect. Staff wasn't helpful checking in, but on our way out the lady was really nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amylfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Amy B,

Thank you for your response! We believe our central location is one of our hotel's biggest selling points! We are located right in the middle of the city, central to all that San Francisco has to offer.

We are an older hotel, but we are well maintained and we take great pride in what we do. We are very happy that our hotel exceeded your expectations!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

good hotel, very gentle and helpful staff. parking is small, if you come early enough you can catch the place (i was lucky, i've got it :-) )! rooms are old (like in most of downtown hotels in america), but clean and big enough. position is good, not faraway from the center and from "bug bus". good choice for tourist visit to san francisco, to stay close enough to the center.

Room Tip: i am not "picker" for room choice, it is important good bed and that there is at least one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goran o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear goran o,

Thank you for your review! Our hotel is centrally located and close to all of the major attractions of the city. Our hotel makes a great homebase for exploring all that San Francisco has to offer!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was my wife and my first visit to San Francisco. The location was convenient, the front desk staff was very helpful and the room was comfortable although small. The housekeeping staff did a good job. The only 2 drawbacks were the lack of a free Business Center and the number of homeless people near the hotel begging.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WayneJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeng Chi H, Guest Relations Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear WayneJV,

Thank you for your review! We are very happy that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay with us! Our housekeeping staff works extremely hard and takes great pride in the work that they do. They will thrilled to hear your positive feedback of the team!

We hope you stay with us again for your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel looks nice and safe; their handling of an incident during my stay is however unacceptable to me as compared to the price

I used their self-laundry service and some of my clothes had disappeared when I came back.
I came several times to the front desk and I got 2 kinds of feedback:
- the first 3 people I talked to seemed to be in a "customer care" approach: they were surprised; they said they would try to do what they could to see if someone had taken them by mistake, they would register an incident and keep me informed; however, each time I came back, the next person I talked to was not aware of the issue
- the last 2, including the manager, reacted in a "legal" approach whatever I said, the idea was to put the blame on me for that theft/mistake: "you should have not left your clothes unattended, don't be surprised, we are therefore not liable" (there is not even a chair in their small self laundry room; I came several times to that room and obviously no one stayed there while their clothes were being washed)

I would have expected those kinds of reactions from such an hotel:
- a better synchronized organization; trying to actually coordinate an investigation on the problem
- telling me they would send the clothes back if they were found again, and making sure the full front desk staff is informed so that this would happen if the clothes show up
- finding a way to indemnify me, at least symbolically, to show customer care
- last and not least, showing me they were taking measures for their next customers (post a sign mentioning that clothes should not be left unattended in the laundry? better, secure the self-laundry room so that people can only enter with their room card?)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank F D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear F D,

Thank you for your review!

I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We do offer convenient self-service laundry in our Hotel. However, we do ask that our guests stay by their laundry, just in case anything happens.. as the laundry room is a publicly accessible space for all guests in the hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies that this situation was not handled in a satisfactory manner for you. I will be sending you a private message regarding the incident, and I hope we can still make it right for you.

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently took a group of teenagers on their senior trip to San Francisco and had booked to stay at another inn. After reading some very disturbing reviews we went in search of another place to stay that was within the budget. The Opal was one of the few that came up with a reasonable price and good reviews. The location was great since it was only a bus ride from everywhere with a bus stop practically right outside the door. The rooms were small but reasonable but after seeing the severe lack of space in San Francisco I was impressed with the size they provided. We had a room facing Van Ness but wasn't bothered by any noise. The bedding and pillows weren't spectacular but they kept you warm. The bathroom was neat and clean. Breakfast consisted of muffin, toast, bagel, fruit, and juice. We payed for the parking that the hotel offers and our vehicles were safe from thievery thanks to security gates. Don't be put off by the suspicious looking people who loom in the alleys around the hotel, San Francisco has an extreme number of suspicious looking people who are everywhere but the hotel has several security measures to keep out uninvited guests including an automatic locking front and back door. All in all we were pleased with the service that was given and very happy with the cleanliness for the price!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planner18950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Planner18950,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our San Francisco hotel! We enjoyed having your group stay with us and are glad you all enjoyed your visit to San Francisco. We hope you will consider us again for your next visit to the city!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
814 reviews
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
422 reviews
Cova Hotel
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#113 of 230 in San Francisco
1,056 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-6934
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $108 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include limited onsite gated parking (for $41/tax per night), on-site ATM, ice machine, vending machines, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing