We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Opal San Francisco
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Monarch Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Civic Center Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Red Coach Motor Lodge(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel EPIK(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Oasis Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calista Organic Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Essex Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Pool
Reviews (1,182)
Filter reviews
1,182 results
Traveler rating
171
545
312
77
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
545
312
77
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmel's dinervan nesscontinental breakfastyogurtunion squaretenderloinhard boiled eggsan older hotelfront desk staffjapan townpublic transportfisherman's wharfbus stopcentral locationparking garagefew blockslobby
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 1,182 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Opal is reasonably priced and in a good location. Close to bus stops, trolly stops, this hotel is a great place to call home base in SF. Angela, the Service Agent at the counter, could not have been any more helpful. She pointed out some great places to eat and how to get around the transit system. Daily cost of parking is reasonable. The only downside is: the rooms / bathrooms are small, which is standard in SF.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisab34481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for the review.

I couldn't agree with you more about our little slice of San Francisco history, especially regarding Angela, we're lucky to have her! The hotel is right next to the bus stop that brings you down to Fisherman's Wharf. 5 blocks from the nearest trolley line (although uphill: Beware!), and less than a mile to Union Square (also a hilly trip).

Our rooms and bathrooms are small, but as you mentioned, this is pretty standard for the city; especially for the historic boutique hotels.

Thank you,

Dierk Demers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is located just on Van Ness Avenue, relatively close to many attractions - City Hall, Union Square, Lombard Street and Golden Gate Bridge by bus/taxi. There is also a garage at the theatre next to the hotel, which costs just $20/night, cheap by SF's standard.

The grey-hair gentleman at the front desk was moderately friendly and helpful.

The breakfast could be more decent. The room smells of detergent and gave us a very unpleasent feeling throughout the stay. But if you tire yourself out during the day, you probably won't care.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaijunjiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for the review!

You probably dealt with Brad at the front (although you were quite a bit generous by saying that he had hair) who is an expert at the going ons of the city and has some great stories about his 40 years of being a local. He is usually a good deal more than reasonably friendly, I am sorry that you got him at an off moment. I am not sure what room you had, but we do use cleaning agents in the rooms and they can sometimes catch people off guard. We try to find a balance between a room smelling fresh and clean, but not overpowering the room with air freshener.

Our breakfast is really meant to be a quick stop over before heading out to enjoy the city. Mel's, which is located right next door, has a full breakfast menu if you are looking for something more substantial.

Best Regards,

Dierk Demers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We only stayed here for one night, but I think the hotel is very reasonably priced compared to the vast majority of SF hotels. The staff were absolutely brilliant: they upgraded us because it was our honeymoon, they booked an airport shuttle for us and they stored our luggage all with a smile and genuine interest in us as guests.

The price of the room also includes breakfast, which is pretty good considering the price. The location of the hotel is great and the lobby area is really nice. Some of the corridors and the rooms are starting to show signs of wear & tear, but there were posters up saying that they are doing renovations.

Once the renovations are finished I would rate this hotel as excellent, rather than very good. If you are looking for a good value hotel with superb front desk staff then The Opal is it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

In some ways I wish I'd paid more. Downstairs is fine and the staff are great but the rooms are very basic, the bathroom tiny and no facilities like tea making or even a safe. Furnishings are spartan and breakfast is like being in a youth hostel.That said, the location is great and you can pretty much get anywhere by bus or trolley. One big advantage is Mel's Diner right next door. This is the true American diner experience, great for that late meal when you arrive jet-lagged, or for brunch ( and brilliant burgers!)

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank foodie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for the response!

The hotel is definitely a little bare bones currently as we prepare to really update everything in the coming year or so. We really plan on being a place to relax after a long day out exploring the city and enjoying everything the bay area has to offer.

Our breakfast is meant to be a quick option for those who are looking for something small on their way out the door. As you mentioned, Mel's is a great option for those looking for a more substantial breakfast.

Best Regards,

Dierk Demers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Its a funky hotel - its been around for awhile - and age adds to its character. Its in a good location to see the sights and there are convenient bus and trolley routes near by. The front desk staff are very helpful. Breakfast is unexciting continental but it saves having to find the first cup of coffee in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from Van Ness St.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicspics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for the review!

The hotel is definitely a little funky. The term I typically use is that we are a quirky little San Francisco boutique hotel. Our hallways feel maze like to some, we are rumored to be haunted (request the third floor....or don't), and so we try to make those who are visiting feel at home even if most of our travelers are international. We do that with friendly service, clean rooms, and a few comforting services at a reasonable price.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Best Regards,

Dierk Demers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews