We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crappy hotel in dodgy neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Opal San Francisco
Ranked #102 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crappy hotel in dodgy neighbourhood”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is much more worn-out than shown on the pictures. The room terribly smells of cleaning chemicals (and something else). After the stay the smell penetrated into all my clothes and belongings. Wrinkled bed sheets and a thin blanket (requires heating at nights). Walls are extremely thing - you can hear your neighbours coughing and talking.
Breakfast is more of a joke, but perhaps it makes some people happy, so I won't comment on it.
Neighbourhood is awful - moving towards the Union Square you have to walk through 4-5 blocks full of homeless, junkies, drug dealers etc.
Very unfriendly and arrogant young male receptionist (others were nice though). Entering the hotel you have to drag your luggage 5-6 stairs up (never saw the porter anywhere around).
Never again - you can add 30 bucks and stay at a much nicer place in a better neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marla187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all forms of feedback in order to improve our hotel and I am happy to read your comments and see what I can do to take meaningful action to improve the aspects of our hotel that you found lacking.

We are definitely an older hotel. we were built in 1908 with the last, merely cosmetic, renovation completed in the mid nineties. We are very excited to be looking into certain ways we can improve our hotel and bring it into the 21st century. We are looking at smaller projects, like new carpets and televisions, to the possibility of larger projects as well. In regards to our bedding, we are actually in the process of switching to blankets with more substance that will hopefully fix some of the issues that you experienced.

Our neighborhood is one in transition and we are happy to be actively pushing for improvements in the area that will be drastically changing the area for the better.

Thank you again, and if I can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to call at (415) 294-8204.

Best Regards,

Dierk Demers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    522
    297
    73
    70
See reviews for
259
344
98
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed for 3 days in August 2012 in a room with 2 queen beds. The room was clean even if not too big, but it was ok for 3 people. Situated on Van Ness Av., next to public transport lines (MUNI). Only few blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary breakfast included (coffee, tead, juices, muffins, bread, eggs, fruit jams, ...)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filippo_Fallarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012 and got a family room on the ground floor behind the reception area. This consisted of 2 Queen beds and a fold down bed that we used. All was clean and tidy and quiet enough to rest and recuperate. It was clean and we had no problem with the hotel at all.
The breakfast was a bit chaotic with not enough room for everyone at the same time and some people needing to be in the lobby to eat.
The parking is a bit exspensive for onsite. $30 for the day but at least you can take it out and put it back when you want.
The negative was the down and outs in that area that hung around the whole periphery of the hotel. Not the hotels fault but some people could feel worried or threatened by this as there was quite a few as i said.
The positive was Angela on the desk, A wonderfully helpful lady who always seemed to be there and always offered advice about SF, A real gem and assett to The Opal we thought.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toon_ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Disappointed by this hotel. Like other reviewers, the area felt rather seedy with tramps hanging around wherever you looked. Breakfast was basic, but went to the diner next door on one of the mornings, which was much better. We always try to pick our hotels on location, but we felt we could have stayed in a much nicer area. Did leave me feeling rather disappointed on our visit to San Francisco with our boys. Hotel is tired and in need of a revamp. But staff were friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chappers98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Opal and overall this was our least favourite hotel we have stayed in during our 2 week vacation. We arrived about 9pm and the first person we were greeted by was someone asking for spare change. We then had to be buzzed into the hotel but check in was quick and effiicient. We were sharing a room with my parents and the room itself was huge, with it's own seating area but the bathroom was very small and there was little space to put your toiletries. Breakfast could have been better, toast and fruit was mainly on offer and there was very not enough space for the number of people eating. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant called Mel's dinner which is a themed diner and they offer value for money. Across the street is Tommy's Joint which is a bar but they also sell very reasonably priced food. The hotel itself was ok but I really didn't like the area. It is not close to many attractions, Union Square is about 20 minutes walk (downhill) and at night I really felt intimated by the number of people that are hanging around. My husband and I are savvy travellers so we walked down the street to find a Thai restaurant, the nearest was in the Tenderloin as this is just streets away from the hotel and I definitely recommend that you avoid that place as it's not very welcoming. Overall an average hotel which is value for money but we won't be returning.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DanielleBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,043 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were reminded of European hotels from the moment we stepped into the Opal. Warm lobby, nice, but smaller rooms, and excellent customer service. The European feel was accented by the fact that we were virtually the only Americans here....the hotel was filled with Europeans on holiday.

Our room was well appointed, but again...small when compared to Marriott rooms. No matter...everything was clean and everything worked.

Mel's Diner adjoins the hotel, giving you easy access to breakfast, late night snacks and everything in between.

The hotel is about a half mile from Union Square...an easy walk. It's about three tenths of a mile from the California/Van Ness cable car stop. Several bus routes go right by the hotel, so there is plenty of public transportation to meet all your needs.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood park
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Although the building is historic and gorgeous I was extremely disappointed.
I had a very uneasy feeling as I waited to be buzzed in to the hotel to check in. The front desk only had one person working (Carlos) who was fabulous but he was on a call and there were several people waiting. Once he was finally able to check me in I was disappointed again when I was told I would have to find public parking somewhere. I complained a bit about it and all of a sudden the full parking had a parking stall available... at the cost of 35 dollars. I see everyone else saying they got it cheap... i did not get it cheap it was very expensive, so to pay an additional 35 for parking was a tad annoying. The breakfast was awful.. worst continental I have ever seen. Mel's drive in attached to the hotel though served up some excellent food and great ambience. It is located rather close to everything but not quite in the fishermans wharf like I had requested from hotels.com. So that was disappointing, especially as we walked past so many other hotels closer to where we wanted to be! The pillows were old and dead and we feared bed bugs, the sheets are old and dead and wearing thing. It was not a comfortable home away from home feeling. The oldness of the hotel definitely suits the age of the hotel, but does not create a comfortable ambience by any means. The staff although not enough of them were fabulous with answering questions and assisting with things.
I will not stay here again, but if you dont care about comfort price or breakfast then it will do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpllover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,309 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
978 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 228 in San Francisco
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#128 of 228 in San Francisco
759 reviews
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
377 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Property: The Opal San Francisco
Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-6934
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring iPod docking stations and LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include a 24 hour coffee and tea station, limited onsite gated parking (for $41/tax per night), and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing