We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Opal San Francisco
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
sherwood park
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will not be back”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Although the building is historic and gorgeous I was extremely disappointed.
I had a very uneasy feeling as I waited to be buzzed in to the hotel to check in. The front desk only had one person working (Carlos) who was fabulous but he was on a call and there were several people waiting. Once he was finally able to check me in I was disappointed again when I was told I would have to find public parking somewhere. I complained a bit about it and all of a sudden the full parking had a parking stall available... at the cost of 35 dollars. I see everyone else saying they got it cheap... i did not get it cheap it was very expensive, so to pay an additional 35 for parking was a tad annoying. The breakfast was awful.. worst continental I have ever seen. Mel's drive in attached to the hotel though served up some excellent food and great ambience. It is located rather close to everything but not quite in the fishermans wharf like I had requested from hotels.com. So that was disappointing, especially as we walked past so many other hotels closer to where we wanted to be! The pillows were old and dead and we feared bed bugs, the sheets are old and dead and wearing thing. It was not a comfortable home away from home feeling. The oldness of the hotel definitely suits the age of the hotel, but does not create a comfortable ambience by any means. The staff although not enough of them were fabulous with answering questions and assisting with things.
I will not stay here again, but if you dont care about comfort price or breakfast then it will do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpllover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    526
    301
    73
    70
See reviews for
262
348
99
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights.
Positives : room size, breakfast, gym, laundry' staff.
Negatives : under renovation, on-site restaurant (Mel's Diner), location.

The hotel isn't in the City Centre but about a mile away. The walk is fine by day but the area is a little 'choice' after dark (sidewalk sleepers, people asking for money, etc).

There is a bus stop outside so you can get around to all the sights quickly and efficiently.

The staff were always very polite, helpful and generally efficient.

All round very good value, just be aware that after dark you want a taxi or bus to travel around.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Would stay here again! Basic hotel with good rates, but with a big room, clean facilities and very good location. It was easy to go walking to other spots and also to take a bus. Has places to eat nearby (such as Burger King, fast foods, all in a walking distance) and pharmacy. Staff was very nice!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmariye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We caught the Opal on a price-saving website, and were totally happy with it. It's basic; the bathroom was small and oddly located in the room behind the door, but it all came together just fine. Their on-site parking was good for San Francisco - reasonably priced, and easily accessible with our own door opener. The staff were very helpful, and we came in to a wine and cheese gathering. I have a problem with down bedding, and the staff beat the time record for helping me address the situation. Although our visit was short, it was neat to see a building that obviously was built shortly after the 1906 earthquake. We always stay in this general area; go down to Fillmore Street area for some very nice breakfast places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Good place. Excellent location next to muni stop and a few blocks from cable car. It has nice historic touches:, stained glass, etc. very clean. Breakfast is basic: toast, juice, yogurt, coffee, and fruit. but sufficient.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurasian_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and it is a good clean hotel. My room was a good size and comfortable and the bathroom was big enough. The buffet breakfast was OK, nothing fancy but pretty good. I could hear some road noise in my room, but it was not too bad. What was very loud was the next rooms shower, but you could get that anywhere. The wifi is good and for an extra $2 you can get a faster service but I did not try this. Mels right next doors is a decent dinner, again nothing fancy but good. The reception staff were helpful to a point, they could have been more helpful in explaining the excellent but complicated San Fran public transit system. There are some "street people" in front of the hotel sometimes, but you may get that at any City Hotel, just remember to never give them money but refer them to the city agencies that help the homeless and those on low incomes and if you want to give money give it to the agencies or United Way!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high or top floor, I was on the 3rd floor and wish I was on the 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitchrj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012. The room and bathroom were on the small side, but being in San Francisco, you're not in the room very much anyway. The room was very clean and quiet. I don't think we ran into anyone on our hall. The best thing about it was how convenient it was to everything. Very close to the bus system and only a few blocks from the cable cars. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Don't forget to visit Tommy's Joint across the street for a drink and some great food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimaley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#128 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
1,000 reviews
Cova Hotel
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
1,136 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#99 of 229 in San Francisco
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Property: The Opal San Francisco
Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-6934
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring iPod docking stations and LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include limited onsite gated parking (for $41/tax per night), on-site ATM, ice machine, vending machines, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing