We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good option for the budget conscious” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Opal San Francisco
Ranked #100 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A good option for the budget conscious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Opal for 4 nights. The rates fluctuated wildly in that time, but on average we paid $150p/night (inc. taxes) for a double double room. In SF this is a very good price, we discovered.

The room was very small and had a strange design. For example, the TV faced the room door and the bedside lamp kept hitting us in the head because it was so ridiculously big. The carpet was new, though, and the room was clean. Unfortunately, the beds were not comfortable and the room furnishings are very worn.

We had requested a quiet room in our reservation; instead, we got a room by the elevators and the ice machine! We were not happy to be woken up throughout the night by those facilities. There is laundry on site, in the basement, with one washer and one dryer only.

WIFI is only in the lobby, which was very frustrating, but we knew that when we booked so it wasn't a surprise. Breakfast is very basic - toast, yogurt, and tea/coffee. Not even milk or cereal. That was disappointing.

The hotel is incredibly well located. It has a major transit route on Van Ness and you are 10mins. away from downtown, 20mins. from Fisherman's Wharf, 30 mins. from Golden Gate Bridge by bus. This is the wonderful feature of this hotel.

The nieighbourhood is a shock at first, even from those of us who are from big cities. But SF is a gritty city in many respects. However, the area is so busy that we walked around during the day and night.

The hotel is older and worn, but well maintained. We were told that they are renovating in December, so if you book during that time, you will want to speak with hotel staff first.

Room Tip: Ice machines are on the 3rd and 5th floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraInTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    506
    293
    71
    69
See reviews for
251
332
94
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

very quiet
good service
very clean
spacious rooms
well located, bus quite in front of the hotel
movie theater right at the corner

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

for the amount that you pay per night they include the breakfast, also internet in the room and WiFi in the lobby

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you are going to read several reviews of the Opal you will have noticed that the description of the neighborhood in which it is situated tend to vary enormously. Some reviews seem to describe it as be ideally situated, others make it sounds like it is in the bad part of West Baltimore. To clarify this, and as a British tourist i'm fairly objective, here is my take on things. The hotel is on Van Ness, a main road leading into the heart of San Francisco. 10 - 12 minutes brisk walk will see you right in the heart of things. There are buses and plenty of taxis, and it is quick to get in and out to the airport. Just behind the hotel you are in a neighborhood which has a bad reputation and does have it share of interesting characters shuffling around, and yes the sight of the odd crack addict might shock people. you can find this in any city in the wolrd, and dont let it influence your choice of hotel; if you want to escape the real world entirely and not see any poor people I suggest that Disneyland would be a better choice.

I found the staff at reception to be absolutely charming at all times - they really couldnt do enough to help. The room was spotlessly clean and everyhing worked - the least you can ask for in a hotel that maintains many original features. this isnt a Marriott built 5 minutes ago dont forget.

Wifi worked perfectly for me in my room, breakfast was a little disappointing, but i eat so much at breakfast that i prefer to eat elsewhere, but the coffee was very good.

All in all, you can reserve a room at the Opal without a second thought if you intend to go out in the evenings, return by taxi and generally make the most of the whole city. if you want your hotel to be the centre of your stay and to have dozens of bars and restaurants on your doorstep then maybe look elsewhere. I'll happily stay again though.

.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel, they beat internet prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kissthesunsetpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed for two nights in late September 2011. We chose the Opal because of a combination of price and reviews here on TripAdvisor. Overall, the hotel was perfectly fine. The location was okay, but on the cusp of the Tenderloin, which we learned was the bad part of town. Pros: the price of the hotel was around $ 150 per night, plus tax; the included continental breakfast spread was pretty good with a wide selection; the staff were friendly and attentive; the location was easily accessible to public transportation (bus), and a 10 minute downhill walk to Union Square. Cons: the room and the hotel itself were a little dingy; no wi-fi in the hotel room, though they did have it in the lobby; no safe in the room; the room we were in had a weird smell to it - and unfortunately the clothing I hung in the wardrobe absorbed the smell and stayed with us as we moved on to other places. Overall, considering the price we paid, it was worth the stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike-and-Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTARCANGELO DI ROMAGNA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed for 3 days, frontdesk was welcoming. They gave me a room on the second floor, It was good dimension, bathroom was clean with a fan very noisy. Free wi-fi in the room was pretty fast. Breakfast was average with coffee, juice, bread, marmalade, fruits, yogurt and muffin.
If I were in San Francisco again I would come back in it surely.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights end of Aug 2011 after our trip to Napa.
very popular and convenient hotel, the staff is very international and helpful.

The lobby is overcrowded most of the time as the only wi-fi of the hotel is there.
The rooms are clean and nice with comfy beds and pretty bathroom.
We had 4 rooms booked, but as we had our little puppies with us, my broher and sis in law had to move in one of the rooms outside the building, on the L floor, number 103.
The difference in the quality was spectacular, room #3 smelled like rotten wet carpet, very unpleasant. Also, some renovation work was in progress in the neighboring room, so was pretty noisy around 8 am.

breakfast is very average, just toasts jam and butter and coffee, not very convenient for peaple willing to have an eggy start of the day.. but all looked quite clean and fresh.

once again, all the staff was helpful and welcoming.

Will stay again but without the dogs as we dont want to get the smelly room type.

Room Tip: the rooms on L level are to be avoided, all rooms on floors 3 and 4 look very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Cova Hotel
#94 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill Hotel
#145 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Property: The Opal San Francisco
Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-6934
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring iPod docking stations and LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include a computer station, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request), and self parking (subject to charges) is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing