We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Redwood”
Review of Redwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redwood Inn
Ranked #156 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
london
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Redwood”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The couple running the hotel are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are absolutely huge, my advice to stay on the top floor in the back where noise will be less. Our room had a large bed, fridge, coffee machine, kitchen and WC. Totally spotlessly clean. Parking is free.

Other people have commented the traffic is noisey but we did not hear it and slept like a log. We actually arrived a day early back from LA and thought the Redwood was fully booked so we went across the street to the opposite Motel which wanted $289 per night, the Redwood was $139 and they found us a room eventually when we refused to pay the ridiculous $289 across the road.

The hotel is convenient for Golden Gate, Lombard St bendy road, Fishermans Wharf. Buses leave from the top of the Street to Mission and other areas and a taxi to North Beach is $8.

The only complaint I have is the WiFi is not fast but it is free.

Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serpico651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    197
    92
    27
    15
See reviews for
101
186
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a spacious no-frills room in a fairly central area of San Fran.
Pros:
Cost
Spacious and clean room
Microwave, fridge, coffeemaker
Central location - easy to catch hop on, hop off and other buses.
Owners are very helpful with directions, attractions, etc
Heat & A/C worked great; tons of hot water

Cons:
Old and rundown building
Very very noisy - our room was right on Lombard St. Fortunately, I brought ear plugs and slept great. My husband less so b/c he likes to be able to hear all night. Bring ear plugs and ask for a room at the back.
No frills - only toiletry provided was soap - no shampoo, conditioner, body wash, etc.
I was disappointed that I both emailed ahead of time and asked at check-in about CAA/AAA discount and got sort of a round-about response and they never did give us the discount (which I heard quoted on the phone to another customer as $10 cheaper per night) - this felt rude & unfair to me. Otherwise, I'd probably give the hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanTravel182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had trouble finding a decent room in San Francisco that we could afford. Thank goodness for trip advisor and the reviews for the Redwood Inn. We called May at the Redwood and she had rooms available for the dates we needed. She was really helpful when we checked in to get us on the right bus to A T & T park and other locations we were interested in visiting. San Francisco is a busy, expensive place, so we were very thankful for May and her family and their great hospitality toward us.

Room Tip: Request a room in toward the back of the hotel. This is a busy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 58livinlavidaloca77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and it was nice not new but clean and within walking distance to everything! Our car never left the parking lot until it was time to go home :) great bargin considering how much gas is a gallon great overall visit !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lockedup72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
behonest1
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

First, the manager couple are very nice here and they try but the security at this conveniently located hotel needs beefing up urgently. We stayed 3 nights in April 2013. First night was ok although the noise from the road is very loud so best to go for a room at the back of the complex.

The 2nd and 3rd nights were horrific. 3 rooms of 20 to 30 year olds arrived who drank, swore, screamed, shouted and tore the place down from 9pm through to 4am. We complained to the night watchman and to the 2 managers the next day. We said we were going to call the police if there was a repetition and we were told that all 3 rooms would be got rid of. We were told other people had complained and were assured that it wouldnt happen again. The next night they were still there and my god the noise, screaming, swearing and shouting was absolutely horrific. We wanted to call the police and complained to the night watchman who did nothing - he was clearly afraid to a deal with the yobs so on it went into the night / morning. The night could have turned into something very nasty and violent and security was non-existent. The managers clearly had not got rid of the trouble makers and had lied to us. The next day I was refunded for a night and we left. All I can say is be very careful staying here as if you need any help or assistance in the night or personal protection and safety you will NOT get it. Very disappointed and really put a dampener on our time in San Fransisco.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the back of the complex on the top floor. The floors, walls and ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank behonest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were going to be visiting San Francisco for 5 days and the Redwood Inn seemed, by all accounts to match our criteria ... good location, good price and good reviews.

We stayed one night rather than five, however. The hotel room itself was quite adequate ... clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. The issue we had with the Redwood was the internet service which was stretched beyond its capacity which resulted in practically non-existant service. Despite being on vacation, we need to be able to stay in contact via the internet. Because we are from Canada, smart phone data - even with special roaming packages - is exorbitant, so we cannot fall back on keeping in contact that way, making decent and dependable WIFI service at whatever hotel/motel we stay at on our cross-continent road trip an essential component of our stay. Unfortunately, the Redwood Inn failed in that regard so we had to move to other accomodations in the area that provided dependable internet access (this review being written from that location). Too bad, because it was an otherwise great value.

However, if internet is not a huge deal for you and simply having a clean room and a decent price in a great location is all you need, then I have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kreskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

.Great location that's walking distances to major points of interest, it of course depends on your ability to walk or a 10one min cab ride Pier 39 for Alcatraz was a good 30 minute walk from there. Bars, mini markets and restaurants are @ walking distances too. The best value I found in that area. Theres only one bad thing I can say about it, the noise of street traffic which wakes you up in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enrique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
585 reviews
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#175 of 229 in San Francisco
489 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#148 of 229 in San Francisco
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#117 of 229 in San Francisco
759 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#114 of 229 in San Francisco
501 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#133 of 229 in San Francisco
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Property: Redwood Inn
Address: 1530 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Redwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Redwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel San Francisco
Redwood San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing