We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your basic motor lodge in a great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Redwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Redwood Inn
Ranked #147 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Your basic motor lodge in a great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Can't beat the rates. It's, neat clean and is close (15 minutes) to many restaurants. May (the owner?) is helpful and you'll need to ask specific questions. Free parking and Internet. TV has great music stations too.

We blew into SFO and needed a quick place to crash. I can sleep ANYWHERE, but my significant other likes VERY clean. This fit the bill.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    193
    90
    23
    13
See reviews for
94
183
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a great hotel! We were looking for a place to stay in San Francisco that would not send us to the poorhouse and we chose Redwood Inn based on this site's reviews. I couldn't be more pleased. The room was spacious, super clean (not even the usual "hotel smell") and the staff was wonderful. As an added bonus, the location was convenient to many of the places we planned to go. If I ever go back to San Francisco I'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I heard that the hotel has quiet rooms away from the street. We didn't care and did not ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sldahlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Redwood Inn is a small hotel located on Lombard Street which is a very convenient location for public transportation in the city. It has a small parking lot, but any parking in San Francisco is a major advantage. Just don't try to park a large SUV because it will take quite a bit of maneuvering! The rooms were simple and clean, as were the bathrooms. There is only 1 pillow per person and 1 blanket per queen bed. When we asked for some extra we were grudgingly brought an extra pillow and a blanket. We wanted to sleep in on Saturday but were awakened by a call from the front desk wanting to clean the room. You must notify the front desk if you don't want to be disturbed. The usual Do Not Disturb signs are only available upon request in the office. The price is pretty good for San Francisco so not a terrible deal.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger so ask for the corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana34088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was one of the best places we stayed in on our honeymoon tour of America. What sets it apart are the people that run it - Yan and May. They made us feel very welcome and gave us the best advice on where to go in San Fran. The rooms are standard but very clean and spacious.
I also loved the donuts for breakfast (if I could get them without the wife looking!)

An ideal place to stay if you want a good base to explore San Fran at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pintofstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This Hotel is the best deal you can have in SF.
Cheap and In a central position.
The rooms are huge and clean and the people there very gentle, they make you feel like at home.
May, the woman working here, can tell you a lot of interesting thing about the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved this place! Although this is an older property, the friendly staff and convenient location make this a good choice. The rooms were clean and quiet even though Lombard is a busy street. The wharf is within walking distance and the bus connections are great! We parked our car for 6 days and walked or bussed everywhere, including Golden Gate Park. There is on site laundry facilities available as well. There are tons of restaurants located within walking distance and we were able to try a different type of cuisine every night - all were good! Parking is free, as is the Wi Fi. We would definitely stay here again! Good value in an expensive city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor to avoid the parking area. You can't book online but the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

When we first arrived at the Redwood Inn I was a little disappointed. However the room was spotlessly clean and it was well situated for walking to the Wharf and over attractions. The staff did not appear friendly but did help us with any queries we had during our stay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dj500600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#143 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#110 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#119 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#129 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Marina District
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#130 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Property: Redwood Inn
Address: 1530 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Redwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Redwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel San Francisco
Redwood San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing