We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting experience....but one I'd probably repeat”
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #178 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed January 29, 2011

A 2 week break in San Francisco to accompany our daughter to the city where would be working with the homeless for 6 months. So the Tenderlion district was appropriate for us. We certainly saw the 'real' San Francisco!! Previous contributors have mentioned the homeless and mentally I'll, of which there were many only a few steps from the front door. At no stage in those two weeks did we feel threatened by any of them. You are only a tram ride away from SF - central, $2.00. The security staff in the lobby run a fairly tight ship and prevent non residents from getting into the hotel, which not all hotels do! The Conceige facility in the lobby is the best I have come across (thank you Michelle). Check-in was painless. Wireless was fine (and free) and strong enough to support Skype throughout ALL times of the day. Rooms were ok for the star of hotel, cleaned daily, staff doing so were both accommodating and helpful. Yes the decor was a little dated, but so is the hotel. Noise from other residents was an issue on one night, a party from 1600 to 0200 in the next room. But in fairness to the management once it was brought to their attention that the behaviour was unacceptable it was dealt with promptly, I guess this could happen in any hotel. It was as much the smell of cannabis coming from the party room as the noise which was the issue. But hats off, they were dealt with. Overall an enjoyable (sometimes entertaining) experience I might wish to repeat one day. At least we got a first hand impression of what downtown SF Is like. I suggest you taxi after dark to and from the hotel if you are of a delicate disposition.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for giving us your thoughts about your experience. We are pleased to know that your experience, while interesting, was enjoyable. We do our best to provide the best service possible and hope that we do see you and your family again soon.

Thanks again,

Kris Betz, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,124 - 2,130 of 3,126 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2011

Just recently spent my third time at Hotel Whitcomb in the past several years. We come to San Francisco quite frequently since it is only a two hour flight from Vancouver and an excellent city to visit when you only have a few days-we were here for four nights. Our stay at Whitcomb has always been pleasant but this time we were given a beautiful, newly renovated room with a view of the Orpheum across the street. Other people have complained about the neighborhood but just a few blocks up is Polk Street which has some of the best restaurants in the city. There really is no reason to have to walk if you feel unsafe, Whitcomb is located at a Bart Station, F Train (which takes you directly to all the touristy areas) and the Muni bus. You can buy a pass which covers access to all of these for your stay. This same hotel in Vancouver would be double the price and is a bargin. I will stay here again without hesitation for my next trip to this wonderful city. If I had one complaint, it would be in the restaurant/lounge. While waiting for our room to be ready (we were very early but they were more than helpful at the desk-thanks Rene!) we went into the lounge for a drink. After one each, we were completely ignored by all the staff that were standing at the desk almost right next to us. When, after 15 minutes of no cocktails, we flagged someone down and asked for another. He shouted to the staff, "Are we still open?". This is at 1:15 pm on a Friday. This nice gentleman proceeded to tell us how busy they used to be in the past, doing 75-80 covers for lunch on a Friday. Here's a suggestion. Maybe serve the people you DO have. And consider lowering your hiball prices. $18 for two vodka? So-excellent hotel, wonderful staff, great rooms (thank you Rodney!!) but take your money elsewhere when it comes to having drinks here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cate1896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Little things could improve this hotel stay. The room appeared very nice and clean until you started looking in the corners. The wood trim had layers of dust on the baseboard. Too bad, as it would only take an extra couple minutes to run a duster across the baseboard. The room is old like the hotel but that is part of the charm. The linens on the bed are wonderful. Some of the nicest I have seen. Disappointed there is not coffee maker in the room but I am sure that is because of the Starbucks in the lobby of the hotel. The area after dark on Saturday night was very scary. Lots of drugged up people and homeless. Before dark it is fine, but I was nervous and ready to go back to hotel after dark. Sunday night we were out after dark and it was not as bad. The lobby of this hotel is gorgeous and very historical. Too bad the neighborhood has gone downhill because the hotel itself is beautiful. Oh one more thing, it is a bit noisy at night. The water pipes are very loud all night long. Even with the negatives we would still stay there gain. The car parking is an additional $30.00 per day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts about your most recent stay. We have listened to your comments and I will share them with the appropriate departments so that we can make the necessary adjustments to make our property better. We are pleased to know that service/sleep quality/ and value all received high marks. We will do our best to bring up the other areas.

Thanks Again for your time.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I travel for buisness alot and not a picky traveler. However this hotel looked nice online and the price was good. When I checked in I couldn't belevie how unsafe I felt walking into the hotel - this hotel is in a very very poor section of town and witnessed a drug deal on the corner while I was in the cab about to turn the corner, homeless people everywhere. While I was waiting in the long line to check in I noticed a women on the couch next to the front desk completly passed out no shoes and ripped stockings dirty hair ect. I waited over 20 minutes to check in and watched staff walk around her like this was a normal accorance. When I made it to the front of the line I told the desk clerk about the women he looked over and then told me he would check with security. I was down stairs for about 20 minutes checking in, fiddling with luggage and no one ever came to remove this women.
The room smelled a bit, very old but bedding thank god looked clean and I slept pretty good. Showers looked newly rennovated. Once daylight I took a cab and could not belive how bad the neirboorhood really was. My advice is do not stay here . The only positive I would say is the reasturant seemed clean and the food was ok .

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TradeshowGirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay in January. I can assure you that security for our guests and comfort of their surroundings is a very high priority. Please know that we take your comments very serious and will do all we can to investigate our current systems to ensure that all guests feel a sense of ease.

Again thank you for sharing.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

After a 20 hour flight from Singapore, all we wanted was a hassle-free trip to the hotel and rest our weary feet. And that's what we got as there's a BART that goes straight from the airport and stops pretty much at the hotel's doorstep. This bode well for us throughout our stay as it was very convenient and cost-effective.

Check-in was quick and painless and the hotel room was clean and spacious. Sufficient amenities, but it would have been great to have a mini fridge. The decor of the room was pretty dated, but we understand the historical significance of the hotel and how it's part of the hotel's character.

Our room, which looked like it faced another wing of the hotel, was quiet and we couldn't hear traffic or outside noises at night.

Highlights: Very convenient location that's close to a BART station and Union Square, friendly service from the staff at reception to concierge and security, Sam's Diner across the street (try the Eggs Benedict!), free wireless

Lowlights: Shady characters in the vicinity, room service stops at 10:00pm

Recommended if you are on a low-key holiday like us and not looking for a trendy and modern hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theknees_dido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for choosing our hotel. We are pleased to know that after such a long day of travel the hotel check in was smooth and painless. We are also glad to know that you were pleased with your accomodations. We do hope that next time you fly in from Singapore you choose to stay at the Hotel Whitcomb again.

Thanks,
Kris Betz, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Whitcomb over NYE and was shocked when I walked into my very clean, large room with queen bed! For $69 online! It was luxury after a long hall flight. The staff were happy to help with maps, bags and new keys when they stopped working.
It is easy to walk from the hotel down Market St to Union Square or catch a trolley car right out front.
At the end of my stay my flight was cancelled. The staff at Hotel Whitcomb accomodated me at the sane low price and calmed me in a time of distress.
A great place to base yourself when in San Francisco

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buceylarnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your thoughts about your stay with us this January. I will make sure to share your kind words with our staff who work very hard to ensure that each guests feels a personal connection before they leave. We are glad that you found the room clean and a great value. We hope to see you again in the future very soon.

Thanks. Kris Betz, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I booked my room at hotel whitcomb because for the neighborhood the price was amazing and people seemed to have good reviews. I will go back everytime I visit San Francisco because not only was the price amazing for a great central location but the service was phenomenal. The rooms were recently upgraded and I thought it was plush and romantic.

The only change I'd make is the hallways, they just seemed a little creepy because they had with far too many large mirrors and weird lighting. (just a small negative in a hotel full of positives)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenix_local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel Whitcomb and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are all pleased to know that first and foremeost you will be returning next time you are in San Francisco. That is always our goal to create new and lifelong members of the Whitcomb family. We look forward to hosting another stay soon!

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
1,221 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 230 in San Francisco
808 reviews
Cova Hotel
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Htl 587
#161 of 230 in San Francisco
30 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#187 of 230 in San Francisco
651 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 230 in San Francisco
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $85 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing