We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in San Francisco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #183 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay in San Francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is clean and while the single double bed room was small, I wasn't having a party in there and for one person it is enough room. As a single woman, I felt safe in the hotel at all hours. The staff was courteous, especially Burney who greeted me. It is very close to the BART and Muni and that is so convenient. A block or two away from the main downtown area where you could walk to Union Square and Powell street. There are homeless in the neighborhood, but if you don't bother them, they won't bother you. As a single woman, I would definitely stay there again and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    705
    760
    422
    337
See reviews for
492
873
234
536
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

When I walked into my room at Hotel Whitcomb, I noticed a card on the night table asking “If there was one thing we could have done to make your stay more enjoyable, what would it have been?” Little did I know it would be so difficult to boil it down to just one thing! First, both my computer and iPhone couldn’t connect to the hotel’s WiFi, and I spent 75 minutes on the phone with their tech support. This didn’t entirely solve the problem and I spent most of a two-day business trip with no internet access, which was extremely problematic. The hotel itself is old and gives off the air of having been grand at one point in its life but is run-down now with an unpleasant vibe. The room was quite small, although it did have a walk-in closet. The metal soap dish dangling to the wall in the low-pressure shower fell off the wall onto my toe while in use. A desk lamp and the TV didn’t work, and I blew a fuse after drying my hair for less than 60 seconds. To top it all off, the neighbourhood in which the hotel is located is filled with homeless and mentally ill people, making one feel a bit ill at ease while walking down Market Street. And the nearby streets all smelled of stale urine. I see now online that there have also been reports of bed bugs this week. I must strongly recommend you look elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Some_tips_for_ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Petaluma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I booked the Hotel Whitcomb for one night to see a concert at the Bill Graham Civic Auditorium. Perfect location. We were able to walk to the venue in less than 5 minutes. As I booked the hotel through hotwire, didn't know the name of the hotel until booked but got it for $100.00 less than other booking websites.

Room - nice, clean, high ceiling. I love older hotels that are clean and well kept which ours was. Flat screen TV. Heard some street noice, but not too bad. Earthquake woke me up out of a dead sleep though. Made me a bit nervous but only for a few minutes.

Staff - great. No complaints.

Parking - gave valet a nice tip and he parked us in the indoor garage right in front. Tips always work for good service.

Starbucks - long line to wait for coffee but oh well. Should have brought my portable coffee pot. (no coffee pot in room)

Area - lots of homeless, but that didn't bother me.

So for the price, it was great. I will ALWAYS book his hotel when going to a concert at BGCA.

Room Tip: High Floor to lessen the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mybughannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks very fancy.. it is a nice place to stay. The rooms are quite small but there only for sleeping.. the bathrooms are a bit squishy and the shower pressure is sad. 4 blocks to the shopping mall which is also close to union square. Asked front desk for room pricing and was told to go online and check.. we also had construction going on across the road from about 2am so don't stay in rooms _50 - _65.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stopped coming to the venerable a number of years ago because of the shabby facilities and the rude personnel, but my weekend here this time was fantastic. Everything was better., Room was spacious and clean. People at the front desk could not have been nicer. Some folks are uncomfortable with the neighborhood, but the homeless people are not aggressive and one can coexist with them just fine. My family an d I feel perfectly safe here. The hotel provides excellent security at night.

Room Tip: Away from Market Street if sirens and trolly cars bother you at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbucking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Hotel whitecomb is a decent little hotel if you can ignore the fact it's totally got a shining vibe to it.
I stayed here for a weekend during outside lands festival. The front desk staff wasn't the most polite but it definitely was a busy weekend.
I never got to try the restaurant or bar as they closed much earlier than I was able to return from the venue. Something like 8pm.

One word of warning to smokers, the hotel security "officer green" is a rude pr**k and didn't allow me to smoke cigarettes out front by the entrance or on the roof. Instead both times he rather forcibly and boorishly made me follow him to a dingy disgusting concrete room inside the parking structure that was rather uncomfortable and a lousy smoking room.

Other than not being accommodating to smokers the hotel is nice if somewhat old and is nicely located in downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Sadly the first impression of the Whitcomb when you get off the nearby airport shuttle is that it has been uprooted from the 1930s and transplanted into the third world. The area is literally full of beggars, drunks, junkies, and drop outs who will not hesitate to ask you for money or shout and swear at you. Many seem to be drugged up and incoherent. As soon as we arrived my young daughter was greeted by the sight of a gentleman urinating against the hoardings on the sidewalk in broad daylight and in full view of anyone who cared to look. The street is used as a toilet and it stinks like one.

All this is very sad to report because the hotel itself is ok and could be a great venue if it was located somewhere else. Although it is dated it has the air of aged decadence. Think of the corridors of the Overlook in the Shining with the kiddies in the pedal cars, and you aren't far wrong! Room was clean and tidy and TV, shower and bed all of good quality. Staff were friendly and helpful. We did not eat there but there is a Starbucks adjoining the hotel lobby which seemed full most of the time, and Sam's Diner is across the street which is first class. Lifts seem crowded so we used stairs all the time which was ok because we were only second floor. If you were dependent on lifts you might get frustrated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClarissaCarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#121 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#131 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Cova Hotel
#94 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#130 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#98 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Property: Hotel Whitcomb
Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing