We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, Bad wi fi, poorly lighted”
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #181 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Although this hotel is very well located, the balance is negative because the rooms (Quite BIG) are very bad iluminated, and the suposed wi-fi service does not work from rooms. The service is slow but nice, and the lifts are always Crowded, so expect del anys when getting them.

Room Tip: Ask a room far from the ice machine and the lifts. If you expect to use the Internet, work on the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JordideBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 3,140 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed two nights at this hotel, it was a very disappointing experience. The room itself was fine- relatively clean, newly remodeled. The hotel itself is very eerie looking and slightly creepy but not anything horrible. But most importantly the service is TERRIBLE. We were charged for 3 nights of parking although we only stayed 2 nights. It took half an hour to get this simple mistake fixed. Also, I went to ask a simple question of where to park and it took over 20 mins to find someone to help me. The employees seemed disinterested and kept referring me to someone else to answer this very simple questions. Parking attendants were very slow and sloppy. The valet attendant basically left the car with the keys in the ignition for 10 minutes. We had to stay outside to make sure everything would be okay and the car wouldn't get stolen. It took more than half an hour to check out. The front desk employees were rude and would raise their voices every time I asked a question or was confused because of the incorrect charges on my receipt. They did not explain everything thoroughly, so I had to keep asking questions, and so they kept raising their voices. Also, the concierge was not well informed and every question I and the person in front of me in line asked, she acted like she did not want to do it. Management needs to train their staff better. It was overpriced for what we received. Overall, the staff is a nightmare to deal with and so frustrating to talk to. It seems like no one working there seems to care about the customer.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank atran2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hotel Whitcomb turned us away, despite having a prepaid reservation! Amazingly, after having called them saying we'd be arriving later in the night, we showed up exhausted from our trip to be rudely told that our room had been given away. Shocked of course, we argued that we had already paid for the room so how could they have given it away? No just answer was given, we were only told that we could book a suite at full cost.
Not only was this a baffling event, the manner in which we were treated was typical of an outdated hotel that doesn't appreciate their guests and does not know customer service. Our protests were met with a threat to have security tak us out, which seems very uncalled for, since we were simply arguing and not at all making a scene.
We were not greeted on arrival, this first thing the front desk guy said (the night auditor) was "give me your ID", no welcome, no please. Just rude.
Bottom line, if you're looking for a nice stay this is not the place. The audacity of charging 4 star rates at a sub 2-star hotel is truly remarkable - there are plenty of alternatives in beautiful SF. DON'T LET THIS PLACE RUIN YOUR TRIP!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank gbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Everything was great except the water pressure in the showers, This was strange because the sink had great water pressure, they put on those crappy shower heads to limit the amount of water coming out, what a bad way to save a buck! Other than that all was well!!

Room Tip: Watch out for the homeless people at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

As per other reviewers, I found this hotel to be overpriced and was very disappointed in the stay. Booked through a Travelocity surprise deal thinking that 3.5 stars would actually mean something but this just shows that star ratings are no longer useful (we paid $250/night).

The room we got was extremely small, and had very poor furniture choices. The chair they selected didn't fit under the desk, so it meant that you literally could not walk around the bed without having to climb over things. Bathroom was quite old and was in need of refurbishment.

We lost power for most of the second day, and while maintenance did work to fix it, it took quite a while to get resolved. Went downstairs to ask reception to charge my phone, and he tried to tell me that I didn't understand how a usb cable works and that's why it wasn't charging, even though I told him we had no power.

Location is average - there are a lot of homeless people around, but they didn't bother us at all and it's right outside Civic Center station.

On the positive, the bed was reasonably comfortable (though only a double).

Overall, the size of the room on it's own would be enough to make me not come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Luis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Whitcomb and I was a bit wary of it from some of the reviews I had read on here. However we need not have worried, the hotel was lovely, bright, airy spacious rooms with excellent water pressure. The location is very central and its easy to get about from this hotel.
Yes there are homeless people in the area but none bothered or even spoke to us, I never felt any way unsafe and really if that's all you have to complain about its a small thing as the city is teeming with homeless people !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Negatives: paid $374 usd for 1 nights stay. Room was tiny and old, bedding allthough clean was pretty inadequate. Wear and tear in the room was pretty significant, bathroom was especially rundown, shower made loud vibrations through pipes and had almost no pressure, toilet and sink was all cracked up, lighting in room & bathroom is extremely poor. Also add $35 per night to any price you pay online as we discovered they will charge you that for parking here. And you kind of don't have a choice as it's a rough part of town. Bums and crack heads everywhere.

Positives: the concierge was very helpful. the place is reasonably clean/room didn't smell.

Summary: extremely dissapointed with how much we paid for our stay. would have been happy with this if priced at about $100 wouldn't pay anymore for it than that.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank wobblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#124 of 230 in San Francisco
1,225 reviews
Cova Hotel
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,189 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#135 of 230 in San Francisco
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
813 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
307 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $122 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing