We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn’t too bad but wasn’t the best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #183 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wasn’t too bad but wasn’t the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

If it’s a clean room and good bathroom that you are after, then this place will be fine.
I used the hair dryer, but it didnt smell to great so decided to tie up hair instead, iron worked fine and free wifi was fast!

Breakfast on the day that we were leaving was fairly bland- toast and a cup of tea.
Entry looks great but lift took for ever to get to the ground floor/ back up and the actual rooms did feel a little dated.

Bed was comfortable and little street noise can be heard. Was glad to see there was security at night that checked our room keys to make sure that we were staying there as there were a lot of homeless people on the streets, more at night and a few in the day time.
Coin laundry located around the corner, underground train station at the front door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatsthequay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    705
    759
    422
    336
See reviews for
492
872
234
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is OK. Breathtaking lobby makes you feel like you're moved back in it to the 1930s. The elevators are very very slow,. Checkin process is extremely slow and the $35 per day + tax for parking is an outrage. But the biggest issue I had was that we wanted to have dinner at the Market Grill ( award winning) around 8:00 PM and after 5 min of waiting where nobody cared about us the bartender simply states that the wait would be at least 1 hour because they only have 1 server and he recommends going across the street to Sam's Diner. Really?

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is REALLY down town. There are down and outs all along the road near the hotel. Rooms are small, bathroom had a dreadful smell, we think it had just been re painted. Toilet was a step up, almost like u were sitting on the throne! Saw a parcel in reception, no one seemed to own it, informed the reception who promptly replied ' So what shall I do about it'. Thankfully we were leaving that day. We were with a coach trip and we were told to leave our cases in the room and that they would be picked up. Unfortunately two peoples cases were not picked up and the coach left without it.
I must say the beds were comfortable.
Not one restaurant we went into had heard of a gluten free diet, so beware if you have an allergy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 401traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Fairbanks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was leery after booking this hotel on Hotwire; reviews were not very good. We had a larger room than depicted. I concur with the street noise comments. Very noisy. We did not encounter any bedbugs or any other pests. Location is good and the price was great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is located in a very convenient location, just outside the BART station. Trams also stop just right outside the hotel. It is very easy for tourists to just hop on the trams and sit for a couple of stops to the buzzling city area and also all the way to Fishermen's Wharf.

The hotel concierge was also very kind. If I remember correctly, her name is Janet. She is very helpful in helping us with all our queries, even before we have flown to San Francisco!

The room is in a pretty good condition. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable to sleep on. Room was quiet and peaceful, except for the occasional emergency vehicle sirens going off at night. Highly recommended for anyone with a little bit of a budget and want to stay in a hotel near transport systems. There is also a Hertz Car Rental two streets down if anyone wants to rent a car.

Another problem that one could faced would also be the many homeless people that roam the nearby streets nearby this hotel. We walked from the busy city area back to Hotel Whitcomb a few times at night, and as you approach the hotel, the number of homeless people increases. But not to worry unduly, they do not really disturb you. But if you want to feel safe, just take the BART or trams. You'll alight right at the doorstep of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

loved the hotel, nice and cozy, room was kept clean, the bed we loved and because of it woke up late because it was so comfy. the only thing i didnt like prolly is the neighborhood coz it was a bit saturated by homeless people i think, but it was safe so i didnt mind it too much. so if ou need a clean comfortable and affordable hotel this is a good choice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dannilo253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here September 2013. The lobby is beautiful, very grand. I fell in love with my room instantly. Very quiet, peaceful sleep. I read some reports about bed bugs, so really examined my mattress & bedding. Didn't find any trace of them. Bathroom was long & narrow, but it's a very old building; I had everything I needed. It's only a few blocks to the shopping area. Where I live (Vancouver B.C.) there are more dangerous areas than here so that was no big deal. Mark in accounting was great, very helpful at getting my deposit back quickly to me. Very communicative & helpful. Only problem, restaurant wasn't open the night I arrived. I went to the bar though and for breakfast the day I left. Very good food.

Room Tip: I was off the main hallway, don't think anyone was in a room close to me. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#121 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Cova Hotel
#94 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#129 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#131 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#98 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Property: Hotel Whitcomb
Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing