We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic is in the name”
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #181 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Whitcomb has historic in the advertising which usually means old and out of repair. The price was right for the location so I gave it a try. Everything is clean in the room but it is very dated. The shower is probably the worst I have experienced in a hotel. The elevators are slow and of the four available usually only two are working, sometime they turn on the third one. You wait long times for a car to get to your floor and then it is full as the units are small. The people are nice, location good, temperature in room is good and works well - negative is the age of the property and investments needed to upgrade.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orchard609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post you comments about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all the feedback. We are pleased that the staff and location were particularly good parts of your stay and we will work to keep imporving in all areas.

Thanks

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 3,142 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked this hotel as it was cheap and I didn't do much research on the area prior to booking. I was told by a friend that near fishermans wharf can be noisy because of the seals there but that was clearly a bum steer, the price we got was $567 for 3 nights. Yes it was good value and the rooms were cosy, the bed was very comfortable and the old decor was delightful but I felt the lifts could use a polish and clean and the reception staff are not the most polite people.The bell boy was polite and helpful. The area is surrounded by homeless people and most of them have mental issues. I wanted to stay near union square as I believed it was a busy area that would be safe but I wouldn't go near there again. If I stayed in SF again I would most def stay near fishermans wharf. It feels a lot safer and is a tourist area which I feel comfortable with.
If you like to live life on the edge and are a US citizen with a concealed weapons permit then this is the hotel for you

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dellygrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your trip. We appreciate all your feedback both positive and negative. We always strive to make every guest experience positive and if not we will do all we can to improve the overall stay.

Thanks Again and feel free to contact me personally if you should have any questions.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Travelled with in laws and 2 kids. Rooms were small but that didn't matter as we were only staying for 3 nights. No fridge and very small bathroom. Area is a little shady and wife and kids got slightly scared walking down Market st but never had any problems. (My 12 yr old and I walked back from AT&T park around 11pm and it was fine) Public transport right outside hotel is perfect to access fishermans wharf or anywhere else. Coming back late at night you need to show your room key to concierge to get to the elevators.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ship34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share you thoughts about your recent stay. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and you made time to see a game at AT&T park. We do hope that if you return to the SF area from Austrailia you will stay with us again.

Thanks

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a great stay here for 2 days. The location is perfect in the city of San Francisco, the rooms are clean and their beds are very comfortable, they are very nicely priced compared to other hotels, their management office is great and very helpful, and to top it off there's a Starbucks in the hotel. It was just a great overall experience here and I would definitely come back here whenever I'm in the city again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goheat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay this July. We are all pleased to know that you had a great experience with us. We do hope that you will keep us in mind each time you stay in San Francisco.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Helped us with everything we needed
Special thanks to harvey who gave us special info of the city
San Francisco is a great city but there are certain things you need to know before going around the city

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marielard87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Whitcomb. We really appreciate all the kind words you had about our staff and your overalll experience. I will be sure to pass these words to the staff memeber you memtioned so he knows that he did a great job.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Whitcomb. The staff was helpful and friendly, especially the guest services department. They went out of their way to help me iron out the details of my return flight- an act of kindness that is getting hard to come by these days. I would stay at the Hotel Whitcomb again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashvegasDougRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are all pleased to know that you had a great stay and that the Guest Service department was particularly helpful. I do hope that if you return to the SF area you will stay with us again.

Thank You.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

While the hotel itself was fine, other than taking 45 minutes to check in, the area it is in is so awful, that no matter how cheap it might be, I would advise against staying here. The neighborhood around the hotel is filled with so many homeless and shady characters. If this is going to be your home base for a stay in San Francisco, and that doesn't bother you then by all means stay here. The location totally ruined our stay. I would rather pay more and stay in a better neighborhood. It was seriously scary and you experience none of the charm of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary07036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
1,225 reviews
Cova Hotel
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
1,194 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#135 of 230 in San Francisco
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
815 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#141 of 230 in San Francisco
307 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $123 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing