We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great location”
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #181 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Beautiful lobby and room. The lobby is gorgeous with all the marble , the arquitectural details and the crystal chandelliers . The front desk and all the workers were very kind and helpful, they make you fell at home. The lost and found were wonderful locating a purse I left in the room before my departure, our experience with the staff that works at this hotel was really great, they are very kind folks.The hotel is centrally located, we were very close to the Consulate we were attending, the Metro is just outside the door, it was an excellent choice,very good service and great location for the money .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosv163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 3,142 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Major demolition site just outside hotel, bulldozers, jackhammers and other machinery. An adjacent building being torn down. Startled us when we arrived, woke us up at 7 the following morning. Explains the deep discounts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZ4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Loved the hotel! The architecture was lovely. I picked this hotel because it is historic and it delivered. The front desk and doorman were very helpful.

The area is a little dicey but hubby and I were fine with it. Just walked on past the homeless people. The ones by the hotel were not aggressive at all, nor were they panhandling. There quite a few panhandlers down by the piers but they just add to the atmosphere. I've seen worse/more aggressive in other large cities (Rome,Paris,NYC) so they really didn't bother me. Plus I've spent time volunteering at our local homeless shelter.

The area around the hotel had "character". One can tell it's in the process of renewal. It will be interesting to see which way it goes.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor when booking because of the street noise that is inherent to all big cities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am very impressed with the quality and value of the Hotel Whitcomb. Sharon Chism, Catering Manager, was especially kind and helpful with the arrangements for a business reception that I held there. I liked the location, size of the room, and the cleanliness of the hotel overall. The dining room has a nice, spacious design. And, the history of the hotel is impressive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This last time was the third time we stayed at Whitcomb over a period of three years. Overall we are very satisfied with Whitcomb. I have stayed in 5 star hotels in SF and I should say I personally prefer Whitcomb to many others. The staff is friendly, the parking rate is ok for San Francisco ($35 per night; all three times we had a car and you do have to pay around $60 at fancier hotels) and above all the location is excellent and central. You can easily go anywhere in SF with bus or bart within minutes.
The only problem is that it is a bit noisy on the first few floors, which is understandable because of the traffic on Market street and the age of the hotel. So sleeping is not very peaceful if you haven't tired yourself out for the day. Especially this last time a vent outside the window woke me up around 5 AM and kept me up awhile. I did not care enough to switch rooms, so I didn't complain.
You have to understand that this is an old hotel, so the rooms are not very modern and bathrooms are small, but every time it has been clean. If you go to the city for the love of the city and all it has to offer, you couldn't care less about all that.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are quieter. You can get a view of the city hall, but not much else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a renovated hotel across from the Civic Center and the UN Plaza. The hotel is clean, checkin was easy enough (although check out was a bit long), and the staff is fairly friendly (again, except for checkout). The neighborhood after dark is kind of sketchy if you walk towards Embarcadero, but fine during the day. Very close to BART which is always nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are looking for a decent place to crash in San Francisco without breaking the bank, this is a good choice. It is a stately old building, with beautiful architecture. The rooms are not the most modernly appointed, so if you are looking for the lap of luxury, this may not be the best place for you. If you are looking for a place that is situated near public transportation, and is reasonably priced, than this is a great hotel. Some people have complained about the neighborhood, but honestly, having grown up in NY, "the tenderloin" is a cake walk. If you mind your business, and follow some basic rules for self protection (dont flash money/electronics around, dont gawk like a tourist, secure your purse/wallet, etc) you'll be fine. The hotel is within walking distance of some great restaurants/hotels, and is right across the street from the BART station, so getting to/from the airport is a breeze. I enjoyed my stay there and will definitely consider it when traveling to San Francisco in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJankowski84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#124 of 230 in San Francisco
1,225 reviews
Cova Hotel
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,193 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#135 of 230 in San Francisco
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 230 in San Francisco
815 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#143 of 230 in San Francisco
307 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $117 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing