We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-time visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #183 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First-time visitor”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We picked this hotel off Easy Click Travel and were more than pleasantly surprised by he experience we encountered. The staff was accommodating in every way, especially considering that we were travelling with a one-year-old. It is not your modern, sterile facility; rather a "blast from the past" in that it is considered a historical property. We found the rooms (we had adjoining with our son and his family) to be spacious and well appointed. Closets were great, beds fine and amenities were just as good as any other hotel. The restaurant -- though a bit pricey -- served excellent meals and the service was attentive and competent.
What made our experience was the overall cooperation and willingness to please by all members of the staff. The neighborhood is not the greatest, but once you entered the hotel doors you left that behind and were transported to another era -- one of old-time grand hotels and opulence. It was a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Whitcomb and for taking the time to post these wonderful comments. I will be sure to share this post with our staff so they all know that their hard work paid off and we had another happy guest. We do hope that each time you come up to SF from LA you keep us in mind.

See you again soon!

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    714
    770
    432
    344
See reviews for
503
885
236
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel Whitcomb is always my place to stay in San Francisco. The location is perfect for travel from the airport on BART and the hotel is walking distance to the opera, symphony, San Francisco Ballet and many great restaurants, including Zuni Cafe. The staff members are very helpful and friendly and make sure all of my needs are met. I look forward to returning each time. If you're like me, and you are out exploring during the day and attend events in the evenings, this is a wonderful place to regroup during the day and to lay your head on the pillow at night. Sure, you can easily pay much more for a hotel with what might be considered a tonier address, but why, when you can experience this historic gem that is so conveniently located and provides such personal attention? Don't be put off by the reviews that describe the neighborhood as "scary." I am a single woman and I walked easily and safely to and from San Francisco Ballet performances on several nights. My friends, who also attended the performances, stayed in much more expensive hotels in other neighborhoods and were surprised when I showed them the great location of the Whitcomb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

WOW! Thank you for another great review. It always makes us proud when our returning customers are so pleased with their experience. We do hope that you continue to stay with us each time you are in SF. We all look forward to another great time together soon!

Thank You.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is my home-away-from-home when traveling to SF. The staff is always very helpful, the rooms are large with walk-in closets and they all have beautiful bedding, draperies and furniture.
The Muni/Bart and the F tram are right in front of the hotel...also close to museums and the SOMA neighborhood bars and restaurants are blocks away. It is truly worth investigating...
This hotel has charm and we can feel the history of the city.

Room Tip: rooms on the west side are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for continuing to stay with us each time you are in the SF area. We love to hear that the Whitcomb is a "home away from home" from our guests as that lets us know we are providing great service and attention to our guests needs. Thanks Again and we hope to see soo soon.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Not entirely happy with the rooms. They are small and really dated!
It's extremely noisy! You can hear everything. Car parking is well and truly overpriced and the neighbourhood is pretty scary. Nothing really around that makes it worth the money you spend per night.
We had a room for 4 people and they provided us with two towels.

Service was slow but they were accommodating, rooms were cleaned daily. Wouldn't recommend the place because of the surroundings and because its really out dated. If they updated there rooms and there bathrooms then it would make a nice hotel, shame for the area though completely turns you off.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tr4vell3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Really disappointing. Nice bedroom but dated bathroom with low water pressure.

We were woken up by security at 3am nightly for an issue in another room and housekeeping through thin walls every morning constantly. There was also a dance conference on with no warning to us although we were staying 8 days so we were kept up from "salsa night".

A lot of homeless people around although they were pretty harmless. Nicely located to the mission.

We will be complaining about the noise issues.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melis_smish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

we are here again for the salsa festival and the service is the best as usual
ROLANDO is always going out of the way to assist
location close to public transportation to main attractions
room big and comfortable
happy to be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is a pleasure to stay at the room i was staying in 395 was quiet clean and very spacious .The staff were all super friendly and all work very hard to make your stay special.The location is good for getting around with the transport on the very doorstep.The hotel like any older hotel is a little frayed around the edges but this adds character this building survived the biggest earthquake in San Fransisco's history,and if you look at the beautiful marble columns you can see some cracks it is quite amazing.There are homeless out and about but this is not part of the hotel and are certainly not threatening and you are quite safe.The next time i come to San Fransisco i will be staying here.

Room Tip: 395 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl 'carlos' V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#122 of 227 in San Francisco
1,142 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#140 of 227 in San Francisco
287 reviews
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#132 of 227 in San Francisco
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serrano Hotel
#99 of 227 in San Francisco
2,339 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
1,081 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 227 in San Francisco
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Property: Hotel Whitcomb
Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing