We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skid Row Outside, Bed Bugs Inside”
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #181 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Skid Row Outside, Bed Bugs Inside”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel two nights for business travel to save $$$ as required by my cheapskates employer. Felt very uncomfortable with the surrounding area immediately upon arrival at the hotel, as homeless people roam the streets in groups from dawn to dusk. Walked briskly numerous times during day/night to/from business appointments in downtown/nearby areas and the 'Skid Row' scene never changed. Hotel staff's overall attitude was fair, but not overly helpful. At times front desk was understaffed, resulting in waiting times in excess of 5-10 minutes even at peak dinner/breakfast hours. Got a bed bug bite upon first night of stay and couldn't shake it off now it's more than one week later. Hotel walls/doors had very poor sound proofing as I can hear ice machine noises and hotel guests' conversations in hallway well past midnight on both nights of stay.

Avoid this hotel if you can, as its prime has clearly past due, and especially if you value your personal safety given the area surrounding it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuakernJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments about your recent stay. We are truely dissapointed to hear that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. I am personally looking into your claims made in this posting to make sure, if accurate, they are addressed immediately. If you feel the need to talk to a manager please feel free to contact me.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    734
    793
    449
    356
See reviews for
534
920
242
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

First thing, is that although the Hotel Whitcomb is centrally located on Market Street (the main street running through SF), it's on a not particularly nice stretch of it. Having said that, once you step inside, the lobby is far more serene. The rooms were slightly pokey, as was the tiny bathroom, but the everything was well kept, clean and the rooms were nicely furnished.
Other minor gripes were, toilet seat need replacing as it was peeling, the TV was very old (i.e. not flat screen) and the staff seemed slightly disorganised. One night we came back to find out that we had been locked out of our room, so had to go back down to reception to get the keys reactivated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your stay. We always like to hear what our guests think so that we can take appropriate action and make changes when necessary. We have listened to your comments and are in the process of making some adjustments to try and make the next guest stay better.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vagas
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was checking into the hotel on Friday and a rather large line started forming... A manager appeared out of nowhere and immediately went behind the counter and began processing customers... The reason I writing this review is that as this was transpiring I glanced to the gentleman to my left and he commented on how efficient and customer centered this hotel seemed to be operated... We both came to the conclusion that the manager must have been monitering the security cameras because no one called for assistance - and like I stated earlier he just appeared (almost magically) - Im positive that your hotel gained some loyal customers because of the superior customer service - Thank You very much Kazi (manager who assisted) we all appreciated you going above and beyond!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephLasVagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed here for a few days during a tour of Northern California.
The location is quite good as yopu can walk to Union Square in about 20 minutes
There are a lot of homeless people about so I wouldnnt recommend walking at night!!

The rooms are small but reasonably comfortable and we had a tiny but adequate ensuite shower room.
There is a Starbucks in the lobby which is great to sit and people watch in the morning.

The inhouse resturant is nice although we only had breakfast there

The staff were very friendly and helpful too

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Whitcmob and for sharing your thoughts with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your trip to No. California and that our hotel provided the convenience and location to make the trip great. We do hope that you keep us in mind if you are making another trip to this area.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

After reading some pretty terrible reviews, my husband and I were very relieved to have a pleasant experience at the Hotel Whitcomb. The room was spacious and clean. The only "complaint" that I would have is that the water pressure could be better and it took a while for the shower to heat up, but I have experienced far worse at other hotels. If you are expecting state of the art TVs and Four Seasons accomodations then this hotel is not right for you. But for us, it met our needs, which is a clean place to sleep and shower.

It is also very conveniently located for those who need to use public transportation. The F line street cars stops right in front of the hotel and the BART station is also right in front. There are a lot of homeless people in this area but we did not feel harassed. The customer service rep was very helpful with directions and telling us which bus line to use to get to our destination. Also, we received a call from the manager right after we checked in to make sure our room was satisfactory. My husband and I would definitely stay at the Hotel Whitcomb again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PT0wnTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with our readers. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay and that you were pleasantly suprised. We hope that each guest that arrives here has a similar experience. Please stay with us again if you return to SF.

Thank You.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My experience with the hotel is not the worst ever, but I tell u its not worth your money.
I just moved to Intercontinental, I am paying here 100 dollars less believe it or not :S

and moreover, the hotel beds were very bad I wasnt able to sleep for 3 nights from back ache, bathroom had broken tiles , rooms very small :(
called for technitian to solve a problem I was having with water took him 30 minutes to arrive (which made me late to where I wanted to go) also the area where the hotel in is not secure :(
Also surrounding area is not really safe.
on the other hand the stuff were nice, but very slow it takes me 15 min each time I want to reach to front desk which is really so long

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esraa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are dissapointed to hear that you did not have a positive experieince. We do appreciate the feedback and will look into the areas you mentioned and address them immediately.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were at the whitcomb for three nights.SF was a part of our honeymoon.
Our stay at this hotel was just awesome! I have never met such a nice staff they helpt us with absolutely everything and every question! They always smile and do the best they can!
The room was big and clean! There is nothing bad about the hotel!
The area around the hotel is ok too, lot of homeless people, but thats not at all a problem, not even at night!
Public transportation is right in front of the hotel and a starbucks is right next to the lobby! In about 5 to 10 minutes you' re right at powellstreet with the cablecars!!!
Worth staying!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Whitcomb and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay and that the staff was so helpful. We do our best to make sure that each guest who stays with us feels the same way. Hope to see you again for the anniversary!

Thanks.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
1,183 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#99 of 229 in San Francisco
2,615 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#128 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#187 of 229 in San Francisco
752 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
1,000 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#133 of 229 in San Francisco
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Property: Hotel Whitcomb
Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing