We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starbucks Cafe in lobby”
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #183 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Starbucks Cafe in lobby”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

After reading some bad reviews on this hotel we were very worried when the only hotel available was the Whitcomb! However we were pleasently suprise to find our room clean, quiet, and comfortable.We were there 4 nights and the only problem we had was seeing the street people outside the hotel all day. Wifi in room not always good but Starbucks was just down stairs so no problem! Bustop to most attractions right in front of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear GUest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share all the aspects of your stay so we have an accurate picture of how our guests feel. We are pleased to know that you had a great sleep and the room was clean. We do hope that if you return to the SF area from Australia you keep the Hotel Whitcomb in mind.

Thank You.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    724
    778
    437
    348
See reviews for
511
901
239
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We chose this hotel based on its proximity to the event we attended. We were greeted at the door as soon as we entered the lobby. The staff at front desk were professional and courteous. We were given an early check-in and a great room at the end of a hall. Its a historic hotel so the size of the room, the bathroom and furnishings were completely expected. That is the beauty of a historic hotel, right? We stayed for four nights and did not have one complaint about anything. We ate at the Market Street Grill (the hotel restaurant bar/grill) two nights. The food (tapas/style) and the service were perfect. In the mornings, it was a total bonus that Starbucks was right off the lobby. Public transportation, which we used, is easy access and right out the front door. And the two nights we used taxi service the cab was right outside with no wait. As far as the neighborhood, it wasn't the best, but it wasn't the worst. What it was was 'real'. The area is full of locally owned restaurants and shops which we found quite interesting. I was very concerned bybthe neighborhood based on other reviews, but when we arrived Friday afternoon there were a lot of homeless, but harmless, people around. we walked all over the place and no one bothered us. Not sure if it was the weather or the weekend but Sat, Sun or Mon we saw only a few. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay. We are so pruod to know that you had a wonderful stay and that each aspect from the service to the restaurant exceeded your expectations. We will be sure to share these comments with the entire staff.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Whitcomb on Market St for one night in January 2012. The location wasn't too bad, though with a front facing room, the trams and homeless people outside did cause a lot of noise through the night/early morning (on 4th floor), something double glazing/better windows could sort easily.

The room was quite basic but functional with an old CRT TV screen and dated/worn furniture + stained shower floor and some damaged bathroom tiles. But nothing dangerous (except electrical points) or particularly unclean, it just took the shine off the experience.

The hotel itself has some stunning hallways and the foyer is lovely. Starbucks at the entrance and a reasonable, if not great, restaurant (I only stayed for breakfast). Staff were friendly and helpful.

Whilst Wifi was advertised, I failed to get it working due to such slow speed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us this January. We do apprecite all the feedback you have given want you to know we will be doing all we can to make these necessary changes to improve the guest experience. We are hopeful that you will keep us in mind if you are ever in the San Francisco area again.

Thank You.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Great value (bang for buck) stay located at the epicenter of the city. Not a place for those who are bothered by a full city experience; busy, lots of movement, wide range of people, etc... I loved it. If your nose is in the air, stay at the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramastrapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Whitcomb for your stay in San Francisco. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your overalll stay and appreciated all the unique aspects of the Hotel Whitcomb. We do hope that each time you return to the area you choose to stay with us.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Done a three city adventure while on the west coast and San Fran was the first stop over. The hotel is a little out of the way when comes to the city centre - you need to walk for 15 minutes before you start to see anything. The hotel seems to be like an old victorian style. Small room high ceilings. The beds seemed fine however the batroom was really small.
Hotel staff were helpful and very nice. And the saving grace of the morning rush was there is a starbucks right next door. Something that did annoy me though not even 100 feet from the hotel was homeless people trying to sell you gold chains and stupid things and they seemed to take over the street. We always ended up in a fight with one of them as he was harrassing this woman with her child so we stepped in to help and he started on us.
No police around at that part of town which I seen.
But of course this is not the hotels fault. Could just be something to mention in case you dont like uncomfortable situations.

Room Tip: Cheap enough - area can be touch and go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey4815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Whitcomb and for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to know that you found the service excellent and the in house amenities convenient. We do hope that you keep us in mind for future stays should you return to the San Francisco area.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I just spent two nights at Hotel Whitcomb and was extremely nervous about staying there because of all of the negative feedback. I did not have much choice in the matter as I was traveling for business and had a very strict budget to follow.

To sum it up, if I was in my 20s, traveling to San Francisco on a budget and looking to spend more time in clubs and bars than in my hotel, I would have stayed here. However, I am now in my 40s, have traveled extensively and have come to expect a certain level of accommodation from hotels. Here is what I think is a balanced look at The Whitcomb:

PROS
• Price
• Customer Service - All employees I encountered were very helpful
• Room – If you are looking for a simple, clean room with a very comfortable bed and do not need anything beyond that (except a bathroom of course)
• Starbucks – right in the lobby

CONS
• Location – Numerous homeless people outside. What that means is every time you go for a walk you will be asked for money and you will come across an array of smells that are best left to the imagination.

• Lack of Updates to Building – This building is very old which is not a negative however certain things have not been updated making it hard for a business traveler. For instance, there is a lack of electrical outlets in the rooms and the outlets that are there are so old, modern day plugs practically slip out of them making charging laptops, cell phones, etc. quite difficult.

• Bathroom Fan – Very loud light/fan combo that is jarring, especially for someone like me who gets up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and needs some light. Also, I could not use the electrical outlets in the bathroom without turning the light/abnormally loud fan on, rendering them useless to charge my laptop and cell because I do not like to waste electricity.

• Wi Fi – Although complimentary, the connection was horribly spotty and so slow, making getting work done nearly impossible. Again, not good when traveling for business.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lgfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that the value and customer service contributed to the positive side of your stay. We have noted the areas that were not 100% satisfactory and are in the process of making improvements. We are always striving to make our overall experience better and thank you for your help.

Please keep us in mind if you are back in the San Francisco area.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This hotel is what I could get on a weekend that was slammed in San Francisco in October. The price was right but I was a bit worried when I saw that you cannot even check in before a certain hour. Now I know many hotels have this policy but the front desk will not even talk to you.
This hotel is a big group hotel and that also means it is less than ideal for wither business or romance? Forget about romance here unless you get tickled by the feeling on the floors that you are on an antique steamship that is grounded.
The rooms had the cheapest mattresses possible and the bathroom was basic , basic.
I think this would be a two star or less. Now, it is affordable and within a Streetcar to the Castro.
The room was clean however and that is no small feat in a hotel that seems gigantic.

If you just need a place to crash- then fine. If you are coming in from the BART, it is across the street from the Civic Center Station. There is a Starbucks on the groundfloor and a library also across the street.
There is a gem of a Middle Eastern food place in front of the library. IT looks a little dicey but the soup and the food is good. You will see locals there.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fattycrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We always appreciate any feedback we get from our valued guests as it allows us to see where we need to imporve. We have listened to your comments and will make adjustments where we can. Please keep us in mind next time you are in the San Francisco area.

Thank You.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#138 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#129 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Property: Hotel Whitcomb
Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing