We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two nights at Phoenix Hotel, SFO” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #25 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Ramon, California
2 reviews
“Two nights at Phoenix Hotel, SFO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very comfortable beds. May want to get there early enough to get room on first floor since there is no elevator. You are within walking distance of the Asian art museum. This is one of the finest displays of southeast Asian art in the U.S.

Room Tip: No elevator, so may want to consider arriving early enough to get first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    283
    82
    35
    19
See reviews for
152
277
66
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at the Phoenix for two nights and could not have been happier.
The staff is great-super attentive but in a very relaxed way if that makes any sense.
We loved the room, the bed was amazing (especially the linen)
The staff recommended a great Thai restaurant right up the street which was fantastic.
We will definitely come back when in San Francisco again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Benny B,

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and very appreciative that you enjoyed it so much as to share your experience with others! Being attentive to our guests comes easy to us because we simply love creating transformative experiences at every opportunity we get. Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay, and please come back soon.

Cheers ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Phoenix is our "go to" hotel in San Francisco. It is as fun to stay there as it is to be in the city. There are so many positive things about staying at the Phoenix.

I'll start with how well we are always treated by the staff. They make us feel very welcome and are attentive to us during our stay. The hotel is restored vintage "mid-century" with modern touches. The rooms are spacious, very clean, furnished with superior bedding on comfortable beds and good for a quiet sleep. One of my favorite amenities is that parking is complementary and wi-fi is free with the rooms. All of the rooms face the swimming pool and the art garden which creates a tropical resort feel. Their pool and garden area is an excellent place to hang out or entertain too. Chambers, the hotel bar and restaurant are excellent for dining and cocktails. We've enjoyed many well-crafted cocktails and very good meals there.

The neighborhood . . . The Phoenix is in a changing area of "The Tenderloin" & "Civic Center" and over the years it has improved in all aspects. There are many excellent new restaurants and cocktail lounges in the neighborhood. Also the Phoenix is within walking distance ( we've walked to and from most ) of all of the popular SF neighborhoods. My wife and I have always felt safe in this area and cabs are always available when needed. In fact when we last stayed at the Phoenix we walked to Hayes Valley ( opera, symphony, nmusic, restaurants, shopping area) for dinner and music at the SF Jazz Center.

You will not be disappointed staying at The Phoenix. We love it and will continue to stay there.

Room Tip: First floor poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear ed L,

We are so happy to have folks like you who continue to stay with us and share in our journey as we continually break through the challenges of running a hotel on a mid-century property in a transitional neighborhood to provide a uniquely positive and memorable experience to our guests. Thank you for writing such a thoughtful and eloquent review. You can be assured that your words are taken to heart as we look forward to making your next stay here even better than the last.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I've Stayed At The Phoenix A Dozen Times And Continue To Come Back Because It's Not Your Average Hotel - It's Funky And Comfortable. It Has A Colorful Decor And Trendy Atmosphere. It's Proximity To Restaurants, Bars And Music Venues Is A Bonus. Rooms Are HUGE For A SF Hotel. Be Sure To Join The Joy Of Life Club For Extra Amenities.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashtraveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear ashtraveler18,

We truly value guests such as yourself who continue to return to our hotel. It is with genuine pleasure that we pluck away at the finer details to ensure that we are providing the very best possible experience to each guest. Thank you for taking the time to write about us, and of course we hope your next stay with us will be even better than the last.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Phoenix is a great motel -- a classic motor inn the has been updated with a Rock and Roll theme. Great site near many of the best places to visit in San Francisco. Walk to Union Square and Chinatown for some great shopping and eating. Even closer are the restaurants of Little Saigon and the Tenderloin. Some areas are a bit "sketchy" but have never encountered an problems walking the area. The Phoenix also provides a secure parking lot without an additional car fee. A great oasis in the middle of a bustling area. Visit and Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave95531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Dave95531,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here, and very happy that you felt strongly enough about it to share your thoughts with others! You can be assured that we will continue working to impress with our updated rooms, unique amenities and ever-helpful staff.

Cheers and hope to welcome you back soon ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

If you are a rocker, you will like this place. This place is a CLASSIC - a converted Caravan Inn motel from the fifties, which has taken HIP to a whole new level. Rooms are clean and comfortable- I recommend you ask for Room 42, which is upstairs, has a balcony overlooking the parking lot, and is quiet. King size bed, fridge and microwave, too. Staff are very nice, rooms are affordable. The courtyard with the heated pool is very popular as a kplace to hang out. TO be fair, I will let you know this is the tenderloin district, where winos abound, but I have NEVER had any trouble at all from anyone in the neighborhood and I have been staying there for more than 20 years. Need a bite to eat? Don't miss the CHAMBERS Restaurant which is part of the property, and has great food. And did I tell you that the parking is included in the room rate? A STEAL!

Room Tip: Try room 42 upstairs. Bring your swim suit and swim in the really cool pool. Try Chambers for cock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SactoDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear SactoDiner,

We can tell that you are stoked on your last stay with us, and that gets us stoked too. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. Each visit to this hotel is a chance to connect, refresh, and discover new pleasures - so you can rest assured that we will be actively working to improve upon this one-of-a-kind property so that your next stay here will be even better.

Cheers and here's to welcoming you back very soon ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a mid-century style hotel/motel that harkens back to the days of motor courts. Situated in the transitional Tenderloin, we didn't need a car at all, though access to a secure lot is nice (and free). Walking to the shops on Market, stopping into local bars and really good family-run ethnic restaurants were the big treats. Coming 'home' to the Phoenix was lovely after a night on the town. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful, getting us a schedule for Golden Gate Transit and discussing dining tips. Lots of music and dance venues nearby too. Great location, comfortable beds, big rooms, snazzy courtyard with a really warm pool. Having a bar and restaurant was the icing on the cake. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on a corner, upstairs. Quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
The Kimpton Buchanan
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary onsite parking and a poolside coffee, tea and muffins to start the day. Art from local artists decorates the rooms and the courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing