We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Phoenix has nice staff!”
Review of Phoenix Hotel SF

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel SF
Ranked #20 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vallejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Phoenix has nice staff!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have stayed at the Phoenix 4 or 5 times now for business. It is always clean and tidy, good restaurant, helpful staff. It has good security and a gated/fenced pool area. It's an Oasis in the Tenderloin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Lynn1322,

Thanks for sharing some words on your experience here. While many a hotel staff is friendly, our staff is truly exceptional because of our commitment to each guest experience. We're so happy to hear your feedback, and look forward to having you back soon.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    311
    91
    39
    20
See reviews for
176
302
70
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Phoenix Hotel is a very nice place to stay that is centrally located. The staff are all helpful. One warning is that if you like to go to bed early, this is not the place for you as they have a bar with music that stays open until 10 PM Sun thru Thu and until Midnight on Fri and Sat nights. However, place is quiet once bar shuts down. Rooms are nice, bathrooms well appointed and courtyard is like an extra living room. The place is 5* for what it is. You cannot compare the Phoenix to the St Francis, Ritz Carlton or the Palace. Compared to the boutique hotels of the City, it was great. We will stay here again. Did I mention FREE Parking? Free Parking!

Room Tip: Away from the Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear H S,

Thank you for pitching in with your thoughts on your recent stay with us! While it's absolutely true that we'll never be the five-star skyscraper hotel of San Francisco, we consider a night here to be one of the best values in the city when considering the unique amenities of free parking, heated outdoor swimming pool, exclusive lounge access and wi-fi. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Nice clean motor lodge with terrible curb appeal. I arrived late and initially could not find the entrance as the street side of the hotel is all painted black. After eleven you have to bang on the door to get in. The streets are littered with bums. It's a little scary if you're not accustomed to the gritty side of a city. The hotel is cool with its courtyard and pool area. They warned me it became noises w guest of the bar and restaurant particularly Friday and Saturday nights, don't plan on sleeping well until after 2 am then. The small breakfast the offer consisted of muffins and coffee, I'd say that's pretty small. It would have been nice if it had a banana too or some fruits and yogurt with granola.
The staff was helpful and accommodating although one female who was dressed like an extra from "the Wire" struggling to walk around the property with her behind and underwear exposed and her pants hanging down under her butt. Her attire I felt was inappropriate for a hotel employee and offensive.
When I checked in I was told I could not have parties in my room, I had none planned but there were plenty going on, I could still hear the screaming at 3 am, it sounded like a pool party in the closed pool!
The wifi, let's just say I've been in third world countries with better wifi, forget about streaming Netflix if you have any down time, that won't happen.
My room was heated w a space heater! The type plugged into the wall, like you see on the news when a house burns down in the sketchy side of town.
Don't expect a luxurious bathroom. The bathroom is very small, just big enough for a tub, toilet and sink, everything's been refixtured but is by no means cool, hip or elegant- thing run down motel on Route 66.
Beds were comfortable, more firm than mushy with good support. Bring your favorite pillow, theirs are like sacks of newspapers.
The rooms on the second floor appeared to have a balcony in the back and may have been more quiet and brighter.
Overall I would not stay her again, I only booked here because I have stayed at other Joie de vie properties in SF and Huntington Beach that I liked very much. This one was surprisingly not as nicely renovated or restored.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiancarloBuonarroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear GianCarloBoromeo,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your thoughts on the hotel experience here. While it is certainly true that we are not a five star hotel, our multi-cultural staff work diligently with great care and pride to provide a unique experience where people of all walks of life can feel welcome, comfortable, and well cared for. We rely on guest input as a means to actively improve upon the experience, so we always appreciate hearing from our guests while in-house so that we can ensure that every expectation is met and nothing is left to be desired. I'm sorry to hear you won't be likely to return, but we understand that we are not for everybody. We appreciate your input and wish you the best in your next city experience.

Cheers ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I am a long time fan of the Phoenix~ 20 years ago this was THE place to be as all of the bands that toured through SF would stay here. 20 years later, touring universities with my daughter I found the Phoenix to be one of the highlights of the trip. Rooms are well appointed, staff is extremely knowledgable and helpful (thank you Mike!!), good strong coffee in the morning and did I mention that the rates make it just plain exquisite?? The neighborhood has "character", but you are just minutes away from everything and at these rates you absolutely cannot go wrong. My 17yr old thought it was the coolest place ever, which says it all right there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klevrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Klevrgirl,

We are truly grateful to you for taking the time to contribute a thoughtful response to your experience here. It is true that we keep a stay at this hotel one of the best market values in the city if you are looking for something fun, "cool", and a little adventurous. Believe me, it is our genuine pleasure to host guests like you who share in the joy of what we work to create - and your daughter has good taste, as we are consistently ranked one of the top "hipster" hotels in the country!

Cheers and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hip, fun, clean and safe place to stay in the Tenderloin. If you're seasoned SF visitor and okay with the "culture" of the tenderloin this is the BEST place to stay in SF. Great rate, comfortable, awesome staff, cool restaurant/bar, and FREE PROTECTED PARKING! I probably wouldn't pick this place if you've never been to SF and plan to walk everywhere, as the local area is not the best of SF. However, we were visiting family over Christmas and drove everywhere, which made this a perfect location for your holiday stay. What we saved in hotel expenses we could spend on the excellent food and shopping SF has to offer. Only thing that would make this place even better is a "pet friendly" designation:)

Room Tip: A little noisy on Fri/Sat night when near the restaurant/bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimiluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear mimiluk,

We so appreciate your taking the time to share your experience here with others. As we seek to achieve the right notes in creating an experience that is in harmony with our guests' needs, wishes, and expectations, it is hearing feedback like yours that truly serves this purpose. Of course, we will continue working to improve upon one of the most unique hotel experiences in the city with all your wonderful input at heart.

Cheers, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Phoenix for one night while we were in the city for a show at the Fillmore celebrating a friend's birthday (2 other couples got rooms too, and loved it as well). It is a really cool hotel, awesome mural on the exterior walls, the look is like a 60's motor lodge, all the rooms facing the on site restaurant and the very warm artsy swimming pool (no hot tub). We didn't get to experience the restaurant because it was closed for a private party, but it looked nice. It has a fun party vibe, but it's not too crazy. I would imagine it is a blast to stay there in the summer, I can imagine everyone hanging out together in the courtyard outside of their rooms, swimming, laying out... (We stayed in December.) Rooms are very comfortable and decorated with old show posters and an overall music theme. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful - got us our cab, last minute dinner reservations, etc. They include parking for 1 car with your room reservation, which is rare in the city. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the location.... the Tenderloin isn't the safest place to stay, but the way the hotel is situated with a central open air courtyard makes you feel like you are far from the outside world. And then you just catch a cab outside, so the location worked great for The Fillmore, and didn't bother us that it is in a sketchy-ish neighborhood. There isn't a fridge (or a microwave), which is fine, so just bring a cooler for your beers, they have an ice machine :) It's perfect for a lot of things, but especially perfect for a fun weekend of music and friends! We just live in Petaluma, about 45 minutes north of the city, so this is our new go-to hotel for a big night out! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiek1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,180 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
5,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,910 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel SF

Property: Phoenix Hotel SF
Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel SF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary wifi, complimentary onsite parking (one car per room) and complimentary passes to the Kabuki Springs and Spa (Monday - Friday). Show casing original sculptures from local artists in the courtyard gardens, and a one of kind mural in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Hotel SF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing