We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you don't mind the noise”
Review of Phoenix Hotel SF

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel SF
Ranked #22 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel if you don't mind the noise”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here at the end of an amazing roadtrip that covered 1500 miles. Our last 3 days were at The Phoenix. We booked it on a recommendation. We knew that the Tenderloin area wouldn't be the most classy in SF but that didn't matter. We found the hotel room to be lovely, very clean, comfortable beds and all seemed well ... until the party started around the pool.. Nobody had told us about this ! It looked great fun but after a whole day of sightseeing we wanted a nap before dinner but this was impossible as the walls in our room were shaking and the music was so loud. Never mind as we think the music was great and ended up dancing to it.

The hotel is super cool and full of nice staff, and we were having a nice first nights sleep until the guests in the neighbouring room decided to come back and party in their room from 3am to 7am, unbelievably loud, banging, shouting, screaming, door slamming etc. We kept asking them to be quiet but they were having too much fun. This is the only shame in the hotel, the walls are thin and when someone opens a door the front wall shakes. However, it didn't tarnish our view of the hotel and we would definitely return (with ear plugs). Had a great breakfast brunch, cool dishes with a twist instead of the usual fare which is fantastic. Beautiful pool designed by David Hockney and super cool high end motel feel which we loved..

If you like a party too then this is definitely the one for you ! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Maybe the upstairs rooms are more quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    310
    91
    39
    20
See reviews for
174
301
70
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lemoore, California
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is my second time staying at the Phoenix, I originally found the hotel from googling free parking in San Francisco.The first stay was two nights and this last trip was three, The staff has always been very helpful, the rooms are ALWAYS spotless, the pool is crystal clear and at the perfect temperature. As for the parking never a problem even if the neighbor hood is a little sketchy. On this trip i convinced 4 other people to stay here and everyone loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobGorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family of four spent two nights at the Phoenix. It was part of a wonderful visit to San Francisco. Good friends (musicians) recommended it, and they were right on! Staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was well-appointed and very clean, the courtyard and pool area were like an oasis. It was so nice to have a walled lot in which to park the car; we're definitely coming back. I think the price is fair. The first night we dropped an acquaintance off at the Motel 8, which is not too far away. Holy xxxx! We were so glad to be staying were we were.

The weaknesses of the place are also its strengths. Yes, there are people living on the streets nearby, but there seems to be an easy coexistence. Big bungalow windows let lots of light in when you want it, but are adequately draped for light and privacy. For cool air, you open louvered windows, which also let in sound from the courtyard. It wasn't loud, though, and there's always white noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent two nights in this "hotel"... The only thing that they have nice is the lounge bar and the restaurant, where they were so nice so let us eat at 11 PM, when every place to have dinner in SF was closed!
Beside this, i really want to complain about this "hotel". First of all it looks like a motel. The staff could also be nice, but the rooms are so old! The bathroom looks like you are in 40's, the sink was clogged. The second night that we were there, we couldn't turn on the lights. Only the light in the bathroom was working. The room of our friends was not cleaned, maybe because they forgot to do it...
It's close to the city hall, and that's it.
When we were checking off, they let us wait for half an hour because they had problems with some customers credit cards.
Never be back again!!!!!! i totally don't recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenxHotelGM, General Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Seredi,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us as your feedback helps us to improve our service. I am sorry to hear of the unsatisfactory stay with us and will be sure to follow up with my teams as to why your friends room was not cleaned and the lights did not work in your room.
We do have a very old building and strive to keep it updated and modern, with that said we went through a complete remodel of the main living space in our guestrooms and will be starting the bathroom remodels in 2014, and I do understand that does not help in regards to your recent stay with us.
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay and I appreciated that you let us know at check out of the issues associated with your room which gave us a chance to have our maintenance team rectify the issues before another guest had the same experience.
Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel for any further feedback and a chance to restore your faith in us.
Sincerely,
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Phoneix is a great hotel. It's a shame that people don't seem to warm to the location as we really loved it! And yes, it gets a little noisy at night, but bang on 'curfew' the music is so quiet you can barely hear it! The coffee and muffins in the morning are great and the cleanliness of the rooms is second to non.
The only reason I have it four and not five stars is that there was a problem with our payment so we had to wait a while to get money back. Having said that the staff were very good at responding to emails and trying to sort the problem out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

It's located near Union Square, good for internal parking if you are using car. But that San Francisco zone is full of homeless and toxic men. Restaurant is very good, but it's difficult to have a good rest. Price is high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Phoenix is centrally located to music venues, ATT Park, downtown and great shopping in
nearby neighborhoods. The beautiful pool and resort-like setting are a calm oasis in the bustling city. The parking lot is on site and free. Taxis are available in a very short time from the call.

This is a small, boutique hotel with a laid back vibe and great service.

Room Tip: Ask the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,160 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,902 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 229 in San Francisco
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel SF

Property: Phoenix Hotel SF
Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel SF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary wifi, complimentary onsite parking (one car per room) and complimentary passes to the Kabuki Springs and Spa (Monday - Friday). Show casing original sculptures from local artists in the courtyard gardens, and a one of kind mural in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Hotel SF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing