We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth it”
Review of Phoenix Hotel SF

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel SF
Ranked #31 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed the weekend before Christmas and had an awesome time even though the weather was hit or miss. The staff were always very nice and helful, letting us have a look at some of the other rooms just for the fun of it. The bed was great and we enjoyed good sleeping. Bar is cool, free parking a big plus. Very cool place overall!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip for a night and I was absolutely 100% satisfied! The ambiance is so eclectic and relaxed. We felt very safe. The other guests all respect one another and are quiet after hours. Everyone that stays there is super cute! I mean attractive people stay at the Phoenix! The staff are accommodating and genuinely want to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
The bar is super posh and they serve fantastic drinks and food! Parking is FREE! They make it work even if you pull in late in the evening and the parking lot is full. There is a corporate discount if you purchase your hotel stay direct from their website. I especially loved the bathroom products they have for quests. It is a CA modern apothecary line called Lather. All in all A+++ The Phoenix!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Rachel D,

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is indeed a one-of-a-kind and that resonates with a variety of unique guests who discover us through many avenues of travel and then stay with us year after year. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cheers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Absolutely love this place... I have stay here several times. It is my go to place in SF. Yes, it is in the Tenderloin... don't let that scare you. It is very safe there and centrally located. Public transportaion is very convenient. Plus parking is FREE!!! The staff is FABULOUS and very knowledgeable and helpful about SF. They will bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Sallie M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are indeed on the edge of a gritty downtown neighborhood, but we find our location to be ideal for exploring the great museums, music venues, historical buildings, restaurants, and scenic vista points of San Francisco - and our staff are always more than happy to help guests in the right direction to any destination. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I live _in_ San Francisco, and this is the hotel I recommend to my city savvy friends. For those who can appreciate the juxtaposition of nostalgia and city-chic for a former motor lodge, turned divine hotspot. This is perhaps the Betty White of Hotels, whose charm, and sass just sparkles in the roughness of the TL. Parking (oh blessed parking), cute pool with character, and warm stellar customer service. Friendly, genuine desk people who are "can-do" helpful, not lip-service helpful, but "Oh, you think you left something in your room? I will go IN PERSON to see if I can find it, and give you a call right back." helpful. The welcoming vibe of the staff must be absorbed by osmosis, because it translates into friendly guests who come out into the center courtyard to enjoy the oasis (trees, pool, comfortable seating, umbrellas for shade, if needed) and actually make conversation with OTHER GUESTS (shocking, I know). I have personally stayed here twice, and the decor varies from room to room, but always classy, clean, with just an egde of kitsch. In fact I find the room and people meeting in the courtyard so entertaining, I have not made it to the swanky bar and restaurant, Chambers, but it is on my list; the beautiful people of the city seem to be having a lot of fun there. The Phoenix does our city proud, it embodies our unspoken values- re-purpose, re-cycle, be inclusive, be helpful, BE YOU!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor. Enjoying the courtyard adds to the friendly city experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharityPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear CharityPC,

While I've never considered us the Betty White of San Francisco Hotels, I will take that as a big compliment. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and look forward to welcoming you back for your next SF adventure.

Cheers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here with girlfriend for five nights and we loved it. A really nice retro vibe but without a tired appearance. The room was clean, the bed very comfy and there was a decent Plasma TV with a good selection of channels - not that you'll have much time for watching TV in San Francisco!

The Phoenix is located right next to the Civic Centre and we found it a good base for exploring the City.

The bar here, was really cool, a superb place to start or end the night. The walls are lined with classic vinyl LPs which you can pick out and play.

Finally, the staff were absolutely excellent, relaxed, informative and extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenSawtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear BenSawtell,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are always happy to have guests discover what a great oasis we have here for exploring the uniqueness that is San Francisco. Our central location certainly has its benefits, and our staff indeed put forth great effort to make sure each guest gets the most out of their stay. Thanks again and please come back soon!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a great find in the Tenderloin! The hotel is on the corner of Eddy & Larkin with it's own parking lot (1 space/room). The rooms are accessed through a courtyard with pool. The rooms were clean and warm. The staff were helpful, but don't really know China town. It is walking distance to Market street and the Orpheum. There are plenty of restaurants that are walking distance, including the restaurant at the hotel, Chambers. Good food and drinks. It isn't the best area so you may not want to go out walking around solo at night. But during the day, it is fine. Great value in a great city. I would recommend staying here, especially if you are cost conscious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel itself has a lot of positives, it has great service, good value for money, cool vibe and large rooms. There is a quite a lot of noise only.

However, the major downside is the location. The surrounding area of the hotel in all directions is awful. It is very unsafe to walk around, totally stinks and full of crazy people.

I would defintiely not stay here again only for that reason!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Englishguy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenxHotelGM, General Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Phoenix Hotel, we are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel room and staff services despite the disappointment's with the surroudning area.
We understand the concern in regards to the street life and general safety in our area as it weighs heavy on all of us. Over the past 20 years, the Phoenix Hotel has raised over 3.4 million dollars in fundraising to support the Tenderloin Neighborhood Development Coalition in building a healthier community. We would appreciate it if you would help us by notifying the San Francisco Mayor’s office and share your concerns.
Sincerely,
Diana Weech Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Buchanan
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
537 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel SF

Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $175 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel SF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary wifi, complimentary onsite parking (one car per room) and complimentary passes to the Kabuki Springs and Spa (Monday - Friday). Show casing original sculptures from local artists in the courtyard gardens, and a one of kind mural in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phoenix Hotel SF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing