We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Cool Meets Comfort”
Review of Phoenix Hotel SF

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel SF
Ranked #26 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boulder Creek, California
2 reviews
“Where Cool Meets Comfort”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you're headed to the City to an event near the Civic Center and want a unique hotel experience, then the Phoenix is a great choice. We've been there several times and are always pleasantly surprised with our experience. Trying to find the balance of being within walking distance of the Bill Graham Civic and having an affordable but safe experience can be challenging...... but this place does it right. The staff are extremely helpful (and cool to boot). The gated exterior makes us feel safe. The free parking is a total bonus. The courtyard with heated pool makes you feel like you fell into an episode of Melrose Place. Throw in a hip bar, continental breakfast on the heated patio, and fun rooms with killer beds and you have found the spot you want to be. We will continue to make this our hotel of choice in that area!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Erika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    316
    95
    39
    21
See reviews for
188
304
71
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here and went to the civic center for a concert, it was super close and quiet. Just a quick walk from all the places that we wanted to go!!! Great location and staff! We WILL be coming back soon! Clean and nice room and beautiful pool area !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbowles89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angels Camp, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night with a girlfriend and were pleasantly surprised when we walked into the funky courtyard. Warm pool, palm trees and gates for security. Although this hotel is basically in the Tenderloin, we felt safe at all times, even at night. We walked to a concert just down the street at the Great American Music Hall... ate fabulous Thai food nearby the Phoenix, and truly enjoyed the comfy beds the following morning while hungover... Friendly staff who know the area... and FREE PARKING! Unfortunately we didn't get to try Chambers Restaurant because they are closed on Monday nights, but deff will next time! Thanks Phoenix for a fun stay! xx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC11129094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay here. We booked two nights and the price was one of the best we found in the city. I thought the neighborhood was a little rough around the edges, but to be clear I never felt unsafe or uncomfortable, and since I love people watching I found it entertaining. There are also several great restaurants within walking distance (there's a place literally around the corner that does amazing breakfast/brunch, Brenda's I think?)

The staff was extremely welcoming, from the front desk to the cleaning staff, everyone was really nice and informative. They helped us catch a bus down to Fishermans Wharf, which we appreciated since we had no clue which bus to take.

I must say I was pleasantly surprised by the rooms. Very clean and the bed was really comfy. And the soaps/shampoo in the bathroom were awesome! The courtyard was really pretty and the pool was kept at the perfect temperature.

Overall I think for the price this hotel was awesome. I'd stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GennevieveBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This Joie de Vivre property has a casual but comfortable vibe. The morning coffee/tea/pastries breakfast had great coffee and real tea options. There a couple great restaurants nearby -- I liked the Red Crawfish on Larkin and Brenda's French Food -- along with tons of Vietnamese and Thai options. The internet worked well (a luxury these days even at five star hotels) and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had just spent a few days up on the coast at Point Arena enjoying the waves and the fabulous mid-winter sunshine, and then came into San Francisco for the night and had our first stay at the Phoenix Hotel down on Eddy St... We were not expecting much, just a reasonable place to stay in a neighborhood that generally is a bit tougher than one might care for, however we were more than pleasantly surprised by what we found.

This place is wonderful, the staff at the front desk were great from the moment we arrived and got us squared away and all setup within a few minutes while we listened to the Velvet Underground in the background, which made us both quite happy to say the least. Another big plus: they have on site parking (included in the rate) which in SF is such a joy.

This is a vintage hotel with an artsy rock 'n' roll vibe that suited us just fine. The heated pool is quite lovely, and the lounge area in the courtyard reminded me more of a SoCal kinda vibe (a nice kind of SoCal vibe btw). The room was on the ground floor. cozy with a great bed, iPhone dock/radio & large screen HD TV hung on the wall (the resolution was a bit off, but we made do), comfortable room temperature, clean and functional bathroom, easy on the eyes lighting and overall just right for our needs. The walls are not the thickest, but what we could hear from the next room was just the overtones of a very good time, and made me smile more than feeling annoyed. The next morning they had a nice simple Continental breakfast type scene by the pool with a nice assortment of teas and some basic pastries, though we did not partake save for the tea as we always go to one of our favorite place the 'Moscow & Tbilisi Bakery Store' in the outer Richmond area on Geary.

Next time we'd probably ask for a room upstairs just to see what they are like, but not because of any noise issues from the room above us, just curious is all.

There was a very cool ambience to the place outside that made it feel much more like a nice jungle/woodsy/coastal kind of cabana like location, rather than being right in the heart of the Tenderloin. It's located just a few blocks walk from the Great American Music Hall or just a tad bit further (but still walking distance) from Union Square or Market Street, so overall a great location despite some people's feelings about the surrounding neighborhood.

I could go on, but you get the idea, we like the place and plan to return again in the next month of two and are very much looking forward to it. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: read my review above as that's about the best tip I can offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikailGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
MikailGraham,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughtful and colorful descriptions, thoughts, and feedback from your recent visit with us. Amongst all that is hip and the inevitable hype, we truly do our best to keep it real here, making a connection one guest at a time. I'm so glad our efforts resonated with you and we hope to welcome you back for another one-of-a-kind experience next time you visit San Francisco.

Cheers :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent one night here and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The rooms are located around a nicely landscaped interior space with a pool, outdoor seating, trees, interesting landscaping and contemporary sculptures. Great to have parking! The staff was very helpful and concerned about our comfort (the room was a little chilly so they brought over a space heater, which was perfect). The room was large, but only had one chair - next time we will ask for a second chair. And grab bars in the tub/shower would be appreciated. We are seniors and were definitely the oldest customers there but we did not experience any ageism!
The on-site restaurant is 30 seconds away and offered several delicious small-medium plates, interesting menu, lovely presentation, perfect, attentive service, excellent in every way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CreeksideGrassValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear CreeksideGrassValley,

We are so grateful to have guests such as yourself discover our hotel and take the time to share thoughts from your experience with us! It is true that while our legend is built on a long list of "cool guests" - our reputation is built on warm service (and having a heated pool also helps!). Our property accommodates all walks of life, from touring musicians to downtown executives to European families and romantic retreats, so we take every possible measure to strike a happy balance in serving the varied needs of our guests. Thanks again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to an upgraded experience!

Cheers :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,230 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
3,956 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel SF

Property: Phoenix Hotel SF
Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel SF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary wifi, complimentary onsite parking (one car per room) and complimentary passes to the Kabuki Springs and Spa (Monday - Friday). Show casing original sculptures from local artists in the courtyard gardens, and a one of kind mural in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phoenix Hotel SF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing