We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Comfort and Service”
Review of Phoenix Hotel SF

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel SF
Ranked #30 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Whenever I stay a night or two in San Francisco, I always try to stay at the Phoenix Hotel. It is close to the Opera House, Hayes Valley, and an easy bus ride to Union Square and other SF locations. The rooms are all comfortable and excellently maintained. The staff are always welcoming and helpful. It is easily my first choice. The pool, the bar, and the restaurant attract a number of people. The nights, however, are always quiet, so sleep is never compromised.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a number of rooms, and I am pleased with all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnRSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Recently had the party for my 30th at the Phoenix. Perfect place for it. And there was a card and bottle of wine (and, strangely, two boiled eggs) from the hotel staff waiting in my room.
Everyone was helpful and friendly and I will definitely go back - it's a great little oasis in the TL.

Room Tip: 40-43 are worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We recently stayed here for three nights, the rooms were clean and a good size, ours was on the upper floor facing out to the pool, it did get a little noisy at night but nothing too bad.
The staff were in the most part helpful, particularly Mike and Mariah. The only downside to the hotel is the area that it is in, lots of homeless people etc, however if you are sensible and get taxis back to the hotel after dark you should be fine. There is also parking available (off street) and a pool and a light breakfast each morning (muffins and hot drinks). It was pretty easy to walk to places like Union Square or the BART stop wasn't far (we managed to walk to the BART with suitcases in tow!)
If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful hotel in San Fran you should definitely consider this one!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristol_em81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have stayed here a few times a year for the past 7 years now. Never a bad experience, super central, can't beat the parking, warm greetings and attentive staff. It's not a spa service kind of place, know that, but it is a service oriented really cool rock and roll spot with a very good and late night bar and restaraunt.
We won't stop going!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

i love this spot, it's not a 5 star place but it's certainly kitchy and super fun, when i travel for work i stay at the Clift and when i travel for pleasure i like this spot. The staff is great, the area is great lot's of fun bars fairly close, and i love sitting by the pool at night with a drink. It's got a great casual cool vibe. Prob more suited to a younger crowd.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esheld01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I have been return guests for over a decade and a half, effectively seeking out a room at the Phoenix even when an alternative location may be more convenient for basing our related SF visit or business.

The front desk, grounds, and housekeeping staff have always been friendly, welcoming, and willing to go the extra to make sure your needs are met.

Although the various adjoining restauran/club venue has taken different manifestations over the year, the Phoenix has been keen to make sure the two don't step on each other's operations.

These days, with our daughter in tow, this has been a very management feature, as a great balance gets struck between the Phoenix being a great place to get together with your peeps for some serious partying, at the same time, the shorties can share the pool with the hipsters and all have a good time. Finally, my hat goes off to the Phoenix as being right there in terms of the embracing change: Whether its a re-model of the rooms or new murals to celebrate the transition of this part of the Tenderloin into Little Saigon, the Phoenix has its finger on the pulse of what's Now.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you may want to take the front desk up on the "free earplugs&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Seemed like a cool place to stay but to be honest i did not spend much time here. The staff however were very very helpful. However what is annoying is that more than a week after i have checked out the deposit money has still not been returned to my card and also my emails have not been responded to. I was going to give it 5 stars but the after care sucks

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank chakstoneboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Buchanan
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
537 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel SF

Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $174 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel SF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary wifi, complimentary onsite parking (one car per room) and complimentary passes to the Kabuki Springs and Spa (Monday - Friday). Show casing original sculptures from local artists in the courtyard gardens, and a one of kind mural in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Hotel SF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing