We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently the right choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #20 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Consistently the right choice”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have stayed here a few times a year for the past 7 years now. Never a bad experience, super central, can't beat the parking, warm greetings and attentive staff. It's not a spa service kind of place, know that, but it is a service oriented really cool rock and roll spot with a very good and late night bar and restaraunt.
We won't stop going!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    297
    87
    37
    20
See reviews for
161
293
68
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

i love this spot, it's not a 5 star place but it's certainly kitchy and super fun, when i travel for work i stay at the Clift and when i travel for pleasure i like this spot. The staff is great, the area is great lot's of fun bars fairly close, and i love sitting by the pool at night with a drink. It's got a great casual cool vibe. Prob more suited to a younger crowd.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esheld01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka California USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I have been return guests for over a decade and a half, effectively seeking out a room at the Phoenix even when an alternative location may be more convenient for basing our related SF visit or business.

The front desk, grounds, and housekeeping staff have always been friendly, welcoming, and willing to go the extra to make sure your needs are met.

Although the various adjoining restauran/club venue has taken different manifestations over the year, the Phoenix has been keen to make sure the two don't step on each other's operations.

These days, with our daughter in tow, this has been a very management feature, as a great balance gets struck between the Phoenix being a great place to get together with your peeps for some serious partying, at the same time, the shorties can share the pool with the hipsters and all have a good time. Finally, my hat goes off to the Phoenix as being right there in terms of the embracing change: Whether its a re-model of the rooms or new murals to celebrate the transition of this part of the Tenderloin into Little Saigon, the Phoenix has its finger on the pulse of what's Now.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you may want to take the front desk up on the "free earplugs&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Seemed like a cool place to stay but to be honest i did not spend much time here. The staff however were very very helpful. However what is annoying is that more than a week after i have checked out the deposit money has still not been returned to my card and also my emails have not been responded to. I was going to give it 5 stars but the after care sucks

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank chakstoneboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay at the Phoenix was great! It was my husband, myself and two boys (ages 12 & 8). The room was big enough for all of us and it was great being so close to the pool. The staff greeted us with some treats upon arrival (join the Joy of Life club if you haven't already). The neighborhood can be a little sketchy outside the walls of the Phoenix, but once you are inside you feel transported to another place and time. Plus the location made it easy for us to walk to the Giants game and grab a cab home after. And don't forget to grab a cocktail in the bar before heading to bed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber_S_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I took the advice of other Tripadvisor visitors and booked this place - very glad we stayed there. Pretty much all that has been said before is true:- Whilst it is on the edge of the Tenderloin area don't let this put you off as the local 'homeless' do not bother you. The hotel is a little oasis in a compact city. The rooms are a decent size, spotlessly clean, very comfortable, and for San Francisco a competitive price (and no charge for parking). Check in & out is easy and quick. Best of all are the staff, each one very friendly and very helpful, I only got the names of Andrew & Mike but a big hello and thanks to all the staff -0 you are nice people. If you want take away recommendations/menu's just ask, Restaurant advice just ask them, anything really - just ask them !!!
Not really negatives, more like pointers:- They do have the off party there but but so does their sister hotel in Los Angeles where we stayed at the end of this holiday, but they do keep their promise on sound levels and noice cessation times (chill out and get with it). They do not provide breakfast but some muffins/cookies/coffee are available in the courtyard from 7.30am, we did not bother but went round the corner to Branda's (French Soul Food) and the food is fantastic and great portions which make the price reasonable. SF is a food lovers paradise so you will have to work hard to get crap food.
Would I stay here again or recommend it - without a doubt should I return or people ask my advice The Phoenix will be my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Phoenix Hotel is the epitome of the laid back California style and class to boot. You are greeted by a front lobby staff that is very knowledgable about the history of the hotel, it's previous guests and the neighborhood Phoenix Hotel surrounds.
The rooms have such a fun Hawaiian bungalow decor which makes the laid back atmposhere even more apparent. I would love to furnish my apartment with everything in the room I stayed in.
Then there is THE pool. Not your typical pool since the bottom of the swimming pool is tiled blue instead of white. It's also heated and the center piece during Sunday's pool parties... One I was lucky enough to people watch from my Head Liner Suite. There were lots of people people that after noon listening and dancing to a DJ. Can't better than that.
I will most definitely stay at the Phoenix Hotel again next time I'm in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longlegsnograce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,019 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary onsite parking and a poolside coffee, tea and muffins to start the day. Art from local artists decorates the rooms and the courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing