We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art themed comfy hotel - well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #43 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bahamas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Art themed comfy hotel - well located”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Location is probably one of the best assets for this hotel. 5 mins from the clock tower. The dinning room is also fairly attractive. The lobby is small but cosy, where the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel rooms are nicely decorated, and the beds very comfy. The bathrooms were a little dated but in good condition. Valet parking is available but there are plenty of public parking options available for half the cost of valet. Street parking is also an option and secure. We got a great deal through priceline which was impossible to refuse. Would come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank is0lde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy g, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    783
    235
    65
    56
See reviews for
302
791
154
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We arrived at the hotel a bit prior to the posted check in and the staff was kind and accommodating our request to check in early. Pouring rain and a long flight delay made us eager to change out of wet clothes and the front desk was most accommodating. Our room was quite nice, the best part was the luxurious bed. High end sheets, expensive pillows and a mattress we didn't want to leave, everything was perfect. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. You can't beat this location if you want to be close to the water and walk to the Ferry building. We have stayed here before a few years ago and it is one of our favorite hotels. We booked through a third party website and were pleased that we were lucky enough to get this hotel. The price was fair and the value enormous when you consider the location and amenities. The fitness room was plentiful, they provide head phones, and lots of options for equipment. We are returning again in March and this will be our preferred hotel if the price is right. We had a room on the 15th floor, a bit close to the elevator, it didn't bother us, but if you are sensitive to noise, ask to be further away. Valet parking is expensive, but in this location, parking is a premium. If you can utilize BART, then you won't have any issues as the station is quite close and an easy walk.

Room Tip: We liked being on the 15th floor, and I'm sure higher would be nice as well. If you don't l...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel had lots of environmentally-friendly practices and they were implementing more.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetravelsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review of your recent stay. We are very happy you enjoyed the stay. I agree--the beds are very comfortable. It is great that you had a chance to enjoy them. Thank you again and hope to see you on your return visit to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip and upon arrival, the woman at the front desk was a bit snooty but I was, quite frankly, too exhausted to notice after a long and horrible flight from EWR. The room however, was nicely appointed with a huge kind sized bed, a flat screen TV and a lovely balcony. If the weather had been warmer, it would've been great to sit out with a nice drink and book or morning coffee. There was also a nice view of the Bay Bridge, of which I snapped a few pictures. I was only at the hotel for a short stay and didn't get the chance to take advantage of the 3rd floor free coffee in the mornings. The hotel was only a block and a half away from where I had to be for work and that made it quite appealing. It's in a business district so I don't know that it would be great for folks there soley for vacation. But really, it's hard to find a bad place to stay in San Francisco given the diversity of the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review about your recent stay. We really appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry about the staff attitude you experienced during your check in. We will definitely use this as a point of training.

I am glad you enjoyed the views and I hope the photos you took of the bridge turned out great. It is nice to hear that the location was convenient oft you.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

RandyW LSF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

As a Starwood member, I was given a corner room so room was spacious with a big bathroom, which we appreciate. Room came with a nice view of San Francisco city with free wifi. Enjoyed chatting with the concierge. Both times, they were helpful and informative.

Areas to improve on:
1) The cupboard needs to be replaced. It's outdated and doesn't match the modern decor of the room.
2) Housekeeping was very annoying. Kept knocking on our door to clean the room. Even called our room to ask when can they come into the room to clean up. I don't care what time the cleaner needed to go back, management should train their staff to be more discreet and respect the privacy of its guests. Stop thinking of your own convenience. Start thinking of providing a better experience for guests staying at your hotel. After all, Le Meridien is a four star hotel. These stuff are pretty basic.
3) Reception at checkout was not professional. Kept herself busy keying in things into her computer instead of greeting us right away. Again, basic training. She should learn to put whatever she chose to busy herself with and greet each & every guest approaching the counter and assist them right away. I waited a couple of minutes for her to acknowledge us. Also, when we approached the reception counter for check out, she was chatting away with 2 other staff so she was obviously not that busy. Unprofessional behaviour.
4) The bellman who was chatting with the receptionist also needed training on customer service. He was friendly and asked if we needed to keep our bags at the concierge. I answered but he could not hear me. Then he asked "yes or no?" I thought the proper way to go about this was "I beg your pardon" or something along the line that's more polite.
5) Coffee at the cafe during limited hours was not convenient and pointless. We did not drink any as it was not available by 10am everyday. Annoying inconvenience.

Due to the hotel's high demand, I feel the management slacked in training their staff. Please try harder.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulberry79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Le Meridien. We appreciate your feedback and find it very valuable. I am sorry about the issues you had with housekeeping and the number of times you were disturbed. I am also sorry about the attention you received at the front desk. We definitely will take this into account during our future training sessions.

I am pleased to here about the great experience you had with our concierge staff. Thanks for sharing that with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences.
Rwilsonlsf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Views from the upper floors are skyscraper paradise. If a suite with a view is an option go for it. Yes the hotel is a bit stark but my taste goes in that direction. Parking in the Embarcadero Center Garage is an option if you want to park without valet. Ferry Building is a short walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen_wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy g, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

While the lobby has gone modern contemporary, the rooms are pretty standard 4* business hotel rooms - both were fine. The bed was really comfortable. My room overlooked a courtyard/side street, so it was very quiet (high floor 20+ helped). Very comfortable bed, safe had a plug inside to charge things which is a nice touch. Rooms were large for SF, including a little sitting area. Fairly extensive gym area. About $250/nights, at a corporate discounted weekday rate. Check-in was pleasant; other than that, I didn't interact with the staff.

I too experienced union protesters with bullhorns in the am, but protests are constant about everything in SF, down to the Google buses. But I had to get up early for work anyway. The only bad thing I'd say was the coffee; there's no coffee maker in the room. Why one has to go down to the third floor to get coffee is beyond me, Illy coffee or not. Who wants to have to look semi-presentable just to get some java first thing?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prolix50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy g, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I see that you mentioned that we do not offer coffee makers in the rooms and while this is true i did want you to know that we do deliver the coffee makers to the rooms upon request at no charge. We also offer daily complimentary coffee in our resturant from 5:30am til 10:00am. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here two nights and the location was great. This is right next to the embarcadero, so perfect for business. Close to great restaurants (a short walk from my favorite, Kokkari). And just a five minute walk from the Ferry Building. The room was spacious. We were on a high floor and had a great view of the bay. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#48 of 229 in San Francisco
4,417 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Property: Le Meridien San Francisco
Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien San Francisco is a newly renovated luxury upscale hotel located in a prime Financial District location and connected via pedestrian bridge to the businesses, shops, entertainment, theaters and cafés of the dynamic Embarcadero Center. Just steps away are San Francisco’s main leisure attractions such as Chinatown, the Ferry Building, and the California Street cable cars. From our location, enjoy convenient access to AT&T Park, Union Square and Fisherman’s Wharf. Le Méridien offers a professional staff and superior facilities, including Bar 333 with its lively happy hour and street level vibe as well as Park Grill Restaurant, serving local and sustainable fare for breakfast and lunch. Impeccable service is promised at every turn. The trademark of sophistication, our award-winning Les Clefs d’Or Concierge professionals, will treat you to the highest level of service. Discover San Francisco and Unlock our Destination, book your next stay at Le Meridien San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing