We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated very well, even with Priceline reservation -- nice room/location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Treated very well, even with Priceline reservation -- nice room/location”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hard to say much bad about the place -- got a very good deal on the bidding section of Priceline, which sometimes makes me nervous about getting stuck in a subprime room or something, but absolutely no problems here. I checked in around 4 p.m. and was given a great room on a lower (but not lowest) floor away from the elevator that had a sliver of a view of the Bay Bridge.

I don't know what others were saying about the furniture in the rooms being dated -- mine was very nice, and the room overall was pretty spacious. I really appreciated how the windows were angled, so it seemed every room was a "corner" room. Only complaint was one of the upholstered chairs could have used a cleaning.

The common areas seemed OK to above average, and the business center was good -- open 24 hours with free printing. I didn't eat at the restaurant or bar, but the free morning coffee from Illy was nice.

I thought the valet parking charge ($60 with tax) seemed very high to me, but I didn't pay for it directly because of it being a work trip, so it didn't bother me personally. I think it might be cheaper if you book through the hotel, at least on a package deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_c812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    773
    231
    65
    55
See reviews for
300
779
151
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location. Walking distance to Union Square, Ferry Bldg. Rooms are clean and quiet. Service is horrible. Our room did not have a working phone, working TV or decent pillows. We asked to have these things looked at and upon return found only the phone fixed. I called again for a pillow and they said it would be brought right up. Two hours later no one showed. No call. Nothing. I slept on two small towels for the second night in a row. Thankfully the towels are soft.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkehs1, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and our apologies that your requests for a pillow was not fulfiled and this will be addressed with our Housekeeping Department. I am happy to hear that the Engineering Department was able to fix the phone problem for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Well placed in San Francisco but little expensive in my opinion
If you're going during the vacation you can find better offers.
Other point, when I was there they made so many confusions with my invoice that I felt upset.
Anyway the room is really nice, just it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CelsoBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkehs1, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello and I want to thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you experienced problems with you billing and i hope that you were able to recieve a acceptable explaination from our Front Desk. I am glad to hear that you though the rooms were nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The Meridien is well located, near but not in Union Square, two blocks from the Ferry Building with its wonderful Saturday market, and close to the Californis Street cable car line. The upper floors have great views of the Bay Bridge and the rooms are modern and comfortable. We've stayed at the boutique hotels and the grand old hotels around Union Square and they are charming -- but location and practicality keep us coming back to the Meridien

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redtree54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you need to be in this part of the city then I would say the hotel is fine.
Didn't much care for their new lobby set up, seemed cold and trying to be to trendy. The front desk staff are very friendly & helpful BUT their set up is not customer friendly at all. They only have a small check in counter which can only handle two people at a time. Perhaps, whoever designed their new layout had never tried to check into a hotel?
The rooms are still ok with a very nice comfortable bed but they are showing their age.
Also, make sure your not assigned a room or jr. suite near the elevators as you will hear them all night long!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alohaboys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkehs1, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our Hub launch. Le Meridien is transforming all of thier hotel lobbies to the Hub concept and while it is more modern in style it is designed to encourgae our guest to gather. I am happy to hear that your recieved friendly service from our associates and that your guest room accomodations meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while we celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary in San Francisco. From the time we arrived to the time we left, we had excellent service and experienced friendly staff. Since we are Starwood Preferred members, we had an option of choosing between vouchers for cocktails or free wifi for our three night stay. We chose the free wifi. Jenna, at the front desk, upgraded us to an an Executive room on the 20th floor overlooking the SF Bay and Coit Tower. The views were stunning! The room was spacious as well as the bathroom. I've been in some tiny hotel rooms in SF and this wasn't one of them. We had a lovely sitting area by the large windows so we could enjoy the view. We were surprised with a complimentary bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates from the hotel shortly upon our arrival congratulating us on our anniversary. Complimentary coffee/tea is served every morning in the restaurant. We would each grab a couple of cups of coffee and bring them back to the room.
It is within an easy walking distance to the Ferry Building, the street art vendors at Justin Herman Plaza and Chinatown. We also walked to Union Square but it's not nearby. There is a great shopping mall with a movie theater across the enclosed walkway from the hotel. Since this hotel is located in the Financial District, the restaurants and shops are bustling during the weekdays. Many are closed on the weekends.
Pop into their bar for a cocktail and food. They have a terrific Happy Hour. It's packed on the weekdays with locals. We enjoyed a delicious, casual dinner in their bar on Saturday night. The food is prepared in their restaurant. The hotel restaurant is only open for breakfast but you can easily grab lunch or dinner at the bar.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we need our city fix!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kre8tivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkehs1, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback and I was so happy to hear that Jenna and our staff at Le Meridien took such good care of you for your very special event with us. We hope to have you with us again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great hotel! Spacious room. Good location. Really nice staff. It was clean and they were really helpful if we ever had any questions. The wifi was a bit dodgy but they were working on it so they gave us free wifi for 2 days. Parking is a bit on the expensive side.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mans207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4,267 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,078 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Property: Le Meridien San Francisco
Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 100% nonsmoking downtown luxury hotel offering clean, sophisticated style blending Italian marble, Australian lace wood, and modern decor. Elegant and simple in atmosphere, Le Meridien is conveniently located downtown near the Ferry Building Farmer's Market, Chinatown, North Beach, and Union Square. 360 guestrooms include 89 suites offering both city and bay views. Hotel offers 24 hour in-room dining, a restaurant and bar, complimentary exercise facility, and limited town car service. All guestrooms offer sumptuous duvets, CD players, in-room safes, High-speed Internet access, cordless phones, minibars, and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing