We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised by Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #47 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised by Great Staff”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We've stayed in the Financial District of San Francisco several times. The hotels have always been upscale. What sets the Le Meridien apart is the staff. They are amazingly friendly. As soon as the valet opened my car door I was taken back by how friendly and helpful he was. Then at the front desk the woman behind the counter gave me a great big smile and welcome. She even gave me an upgrade to a suite. I didn't ask for it. She just said, "I have a surprise for you and you'll see what it is when you to get to you room." For such an upscale hotel, which I booked with Priceline for about $50 less than what the hotel web site showed, the staff were not pretentious. I've found that many hotel staff in fancy S.F. hotels treat you as though you're lucky they're letting you spend the night there.

Green Features: I'm not aware of what those practices are. What I did like was that they give you a $5 credit voucher if you don't have your room cleaned and bed made every day that you're there.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachWizard4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    765
    227
    63
    52
See reviews for
295
775
147
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My fiance and I were in town visiting friends and checking out the restaurant scene. Hotel rooms are very nice, modern and chic.Bed is very comfortable and the bathrooms is super cool looking.
Staff is good and very attentive. Location is perfect too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetting79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I’m becoming a huge fan of Le Meridien. We had a very enjoyable stay at the San Francisco Financial District location. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Our room was large, well appointed, and extremely comfortable. Even the complimentary bottled water - while a small amenity - is a welcome change to the water with the $6 price tag one typically finds at comparable hotels. The building has a rather unusual angular design so that most rooms have a "corner" window. We had a nice view of the Bay Bridge. Happy hour from 2-7 in the hotel bar is an added plus. While there is not a lot going on in the Financial District for tourists, the hotel is a short stroll to the Embarcadero, ferry building, and Chinatown and a very walkable distance to Union Square. For public transit riders, a Muni and BART stop is an easy 7-10 minute walk, and the #1 bus will drop you off less than a block from the hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freqtraveleratl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here as a longer USA trip. We were struggling to find a reasonable priced hotel and this was booked through Priceline. We were in the car and parked at Embarcadero Centre which is across the street and saved money compared to the hotels valet. Check in was quick and friendly.

We arrived on a Friday evening and in the hotel bar they had a happy hour. There is also a British style pub over the road called the Elephant in Castle, there are not many other restaurants or bars in the area as the hotel is in the Financial District. We got a taxi a couple of times and the rest of the time we tended to walk, it is about 10 minutes walk to Union Square and another 10 minutes in the other direction to the Ferry Building. The hotel staff were really helpful at advising us how to get places and also which cable cars to get on.

Our room was spacious and clean. I would recommend staying at this hotel if you can get it at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenson ranch, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was great! We arrived a little early & unfortunately we weren't able to check into our room right away, but the front desk did offer to hold our luggage for us. Everything was tagged & taken to a back area. The hotel is conveniently located near the embarcadero, so we didn't even need a taxi cab or to use our car (there is a parking structure just across the street.) There were so many restaurants, coffee houses, and attractions near the hotel! We went to a concert several blocks down (about a 15-20 min walk), so we called the front desk to ask if they could bring our luggage to our room & we would check in after the show. No problem at all! When we finally got to our room, we had a gorgeous view of both the city & the water. It was absolutely fantastic. The beds were so comfortable & everything was neat & clean & spacious. In the morning, as we were getting ready, we discovered my sister's makeup bag was missing. We called down to the front desk to report it & they apologized, looked for it & found it. Not even 5 minutes had passed from our initial report & they sent it up right away. No kidding- there was 0 wait time! Excellent customer service, very professional & accomadating. We were extremely happy with our stay here! Thank you Le Meridien!!

Green Features: Trash cans are hard to come by (on the streets) - EVERYthing is recycled in San Francisco which is really nice, but at times, its hard to find a place to put your trash...you will find them eventually, they are just sporatically placed, but that is in the city, not inside the hotel.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
270 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A great hotel right next to the Embarcadero center. It has good views of the area and nice modern rooms. I had an executive room with an office, a small balcony and a view over the street. This hotel is in the SPG network. A good option for a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nodrama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I've been to San Francisco a dozen or more times, but I'd never stayed in the Financial District. It always struck me as a boring area with only a few mega-chain hotels. Recently, however, the combination of tight availability (due to the Americas Cup) and the fact that I needed a room with two beds (which lets out most boutiques) led me to try Le Meridien San Francisco.

Le Meridien has a faint "corporate" feel, but the warmness of the staff and the spacious rooms (and beautiful views) more than make up for it. They placed me on the Starwood "Preferred Guest" floor (I'm a member, but rarely stay in Starwood hotels so I'm not exactly "elite" status), which had sweeping views over the Bay and Telegraph Hill. In fact, the view from my room was one of the best I've ever had, anywhere in the world. The front desk personnel were extremely helpful, particularly when I had to address an unexpected work emergency. The room decor was a little bland, but the room itself was comfortable, and the bathroom was large and spotless.

Contrary to what I had thought, the FiDi location is a plus, not a minus. The Ferry Terminal is about a 10-minute walk. Union Square shopping, Chinatown, and North Beach restaurants are all within an easy walk. I stayed at Fishermans Wharf on my last trip to San Francisco about a year ago, and I found the location of Le Meridien to be superior in all respects (not to mention avoiding all the awful tee-shirt shops and other tourist blight at Fisherman's Wharf).

Try Le Meridien. I think you'll like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay side room on the highest floor available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
4,101 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
377 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Property: Le Meridien San Francisco
Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 100% nonsmoking downtown luxury hotel offering clean, sophisticated style blending Italian marble, Australian lace wood, and modern decor. Elegant and simple in atmosphere, Le Meridien is conveniently located downtown near the Ferry Building Farmer's Market, Chinatown, North Beach, and Union Square. 360 guestrooms include 89 suites offering both city and bay views. Hotel offers 24 hour in-room dining, a restaurant and bar, complimentary exercise facility, and limited town car service. All guestrooms offer sumptuous duvets, CD players, in-room safes, High-speed Internet access, cordless phones, minibars, and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing