We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well situated, clean and friendly”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Adjoining the financial district and near the waterfront, solid property and terrific bar/restaurant (exceptional bar staff). Room was spacious, quiet and clean. Staff helpful arranging restaurants, car service, etc...and superb recos to local dining options, not the easy "next door" options. Would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPRYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    773
    231
    65
    55
See reviews for
300
779
151
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
765 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here in early June. The room size was good. The room had no view other than other office buildings. The bed was comfortable. Other than at check-out, the front desk showed little interest or any self driven enthusiasm. Every question seemed to be a chore to the front desk staff which was very disappointing. Shame as the room was good with a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

After a long flight from Australia we arrived at the hotel to be told our room was ready early. We recieved great customer service and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The financial district is a great place to stay as it is close to Chinatown and the Piers. Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leesagarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

They are at Embarcadero Center, but that's only technically true. They are at the farthermost point of Embarcadero Center, a long hike away from the Embarcadero BART station. Even in the summer, that's a chilly hike at night.

Rooms are decent, bathroom balconies are a little weird but nice. Dusty circa-1990 Nakamichi alarm clock on desktop not working and producing weird buzzing noises; is this a 5-star hotel?

Asked front desk to bring me some extra water and some toothpaste. Nope. Nothing is free. "Those are available from the minibar, Sir." Really, no free extra bottled water on request, no free tothpaste on request, at a five star hotel? Feels more like a Comfort Inn where you have to buy stuff from a vending machine.

Consider it a decent 3-star hotel, not a 5-star, and consider the location "near the Embarcadero area" and not "at Embarcadero Center," and you'll be ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneta, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was one of two hotel that we stayed in over Memorial Day Weekend. We had booked using a third party site and got this hotel at a great rate. We have not stayed in the Financial District before and did not know what to expect. We had rented a car at the Sacramento airport and drove to San Francisco, finding the front lobby was a little awkward (it's not on Battery it's on Clay) but after missing it once we finally found it. After being told parking was $50+ a night we decided to return the car rental that day instead of the next morning. They give you 15 minutes to check in and unload. We did not get to checkout the room until we got back from taking the car back and venturing all over San Francisco. The room was larger than I expected. It was well appointed and did have a nice min-bar. The prices on the card were actually reasonable compared to other hotels; a Voss water was only $4 plus tax. The bathroom was also amazing! It had a big granite counter with lots of room to get ready in the morning, in addition to a little table in the corner. It had those little extra's that everyone loves, including q-tips and cotton balls. The bed was vey comfortable and I slept well....until the "neighbors" arrived. The walls and windows are very thin and do not create any sound barrier. Our neighbors were having a great time with loud music and talking. The next morning we could hear the street noise from below. The husband did not get much sleep and was disappointed that the music did not stop.

We found getting around without a car was easy. We used the California Cable Car Line to get back to the hotel. There is also a Starbucks right across the street. I would stay at this hotel on future visits, if the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathfamily2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We got a low, corner room at a pretty good price for the City. Bed was super comfortable, bathroom was a generous size, and the balcony (although in an odd location, door leading out from the bathroom) was a pleasant surprise. I would have liked the room to be higher, but ah well. I would probably say the toiletries could be upgraded. We had to call to get a coffee maker, but this is not a service that is advertised. I was told slippers would cost 3USD each, but they eventually sent them up for free. Towels were nothing to write home about, and there was no free breakfast. I did like the fact that they served illy coffee in the morning on the 3rd floor, but I imagine it's not much extra cost to just offer it all day, no? No pool or spa at the location, and in general, the property is showing it's age by just not being modern enough. For example, the in-room CD-player screams turn of the 21st century (but being Nakamachi, the system was still pretty decent), and the cabinets are a bit worn. All of this nit-picking aside though, the hotel was still a very comfortable stay, located in a decent location. At the price we paid, I would certainly recommend it to other people. And the bed, oh, the bed! Quite comfortable. Not quite a Westin dream bed, but pretty close I guess!

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room with a balcony!
See more room tips
Green Features: There could be more. SPG's 500 point housekeeping-deferral program was poorly advertised.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Meridien for 1 night over Memorial Day weekend for fun with my partner.
It was a great place to stay if you are looking for a serene experience in SF. Beds were very comfortable and the granite tiled bathroom was very spacious. It's in the financial district, but still within walking distance to the Ferry Building and some really great restaurants. Room service was very expensive, but there are less expensive restaurants nearby. Check out Fuzio at Embarcadero Center #1 for a casual pasta dinner. You may need a taxi to see other attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nekothetravelingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4,267 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,078 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Property: Le Meridien San Francisco
Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 100% nonsmoking downtown luxury hotel offering clean, sophisticated style blending Italian marble, Australian lace wood, and modern decor. Elegant and simple in atmosphere, Le Meridien is conveniently located downtown near the Ferry Building Farmer's Market, Chinatown, North Beach, and Union Square. 360 guestrooms include 89 suites offering both city and bay views. Hotel offers 24 hour in-room dining, a restaurant and bar, complimentary exercise facility, and limited town car service. All guestrooms offer sumptuous duvets, CD players, in-room safes, High-speed Internet access, cordless phones, minibars, and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing