We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #39 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Le Meridien is located in central San Francisco. It is a business-friendly hotel within a short walk of The Embarcadero Center, Embarcadero Plaza, and TransAmerica Pyramid. Also, across the street from the Embarcadero Plaza is the "San Francisco Ferry Building". The Ferry Building features many small shops and Resturants, a perfect lunch spot. Hop on the the "California Street" Trolly for site seeing intrests such "St. Mary Square" and shoppintg on "Union Square". Or choose to stay on the Trolly and get off in "China Town". It is just great fun. Having lived in San Franciso, myself for 11 yearsr . When I am visiting "The City", the Le Meridien, San Francisco is my 1st Choice Hotel where I choose to stay. The Hotel features a restaurant and a bar/lounge, with "Room Service" available 24 hours a day. I only wish the "Front Desk" were a little more friendly. Some of the Staff are a bit snooty...Stand Offish. This is the only area in my book that needs some attention.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are rudely awakened at 7:00 a.m. on Saturday morning by construction followed by the next 12 hours of a jack hammer from the construction site right across the street from the hotel. The same thing happened on Sunday. When we called the front desk to complain about the horrible noise level, they feigned ignorance as to the noise level and did not even attempt to make any amends. They did not offer to move us to another room. They did not offer to discount our current room rate. They did not offer us a comp meal in their restaurant. They did not even offer to comp us a cup of coffee. If you want to spend a pleasant weekend in SF you might want to avoid Le Meridien and when making reservations elsewhere you might want to inquire as to whether any construction is in progress at the hotel. Le Meridien did not feel guests should be aware of this.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkehs1, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hello,

My apologies for the noise you experienced from the construction that occurred in a building across the street from our hotel. Unfortunately we did not have any control over the time work was being done as it was not our building. We have confirmed with the Embarcadero Center that the Jack Hammering portion if their construction was completed and we will not experience any more noise from their project.

Kind regards,

Troy Gauthreaux
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Anyone planning on staying at Le Meridien in the near future, should call the hotel first and inquire as to whether or not they are still doing construction right across the street from the hotel. Although the hotel was fully aware of the noisy ongoing construction activity, they failed to warn us and we did not find out about this until about 7 a.m. on a Saturday morning when we heard the construction starting and for the next 12 hours a jack hammer was pounding the concrete with a deafening noise. Same thing on Sunday morning. When we called the front desk to inform them how horrible it had been listening to this annoying noise the entire day, they did not offer to find another room for us, they did not offer to reduce the cost of our room, they did not offer to comp a meal at their restaurant and they did not even offer to comp a cup of coffee. They feigned ignorance of the construction noice but indicated they would make a note of our complaint. Our advice is to stay aware from Le Meridien if you want to enjoy your stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this recently remodelled hotel. The hotel is beautiful and luxurious. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The location was perfect. Short walk to ferry terminal building and great restaurants. The newly unveiled foyer is lovely. Still some work going on but it did not cause us any inconvenience. There was a private function each night we were there which meant that patrons had to go to the 2nd floor lobby where a makeshift bar was set up for cocktails etc. This was a bit poor really, weird. If bar is going to be hired out for private functions a much better alternative needs to be set up for hotel patrons. This was our only complaint otherwise great hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Junior suite is spacious and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Avoid this hotel, major jack hammering across street starting early in the am even on weekends. Also constant backup beepers, heard even on 17 floor. Staff seemed unaware was happening, management indifferent. Not worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thebern01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'm not sure if I have missed a re-branding program with Le Meridien, but since when did it start trying to be like "W" or all those other trying-to-be-cool type of boutique hotels? I just stayed at the Le Meridien in Taipei and found it to be an impeccable business hotel - modern, classy with great service. Unfortunately, the Le Meridien in San Francisco has undergone a lobby renovation which looked like bad plastic surgery on a 70-year-old. Maybe it is not completely finished, but from the decor/lighting to the poor integration of new and old to the thumping music, it is hard how to see how this would be appropriate for a business hotel. It is okay to be modern - businessmen can go with that (see Hotel Vitale on Mission St) but not poorly done/executed. Despite still smelling like a construction site and the run-down nature of the hotel (marks on walls, TV didn't work properly, gym equipment not working smoothly), I still give the hotel an average rating as my guess is that the hotel is still in the middle of a longer-term revamp. I would just wait until it's completely finished before staying here again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was my first stay at a Le Meridien, we selected this hotel as one it was a Starwood Property and secondly the online room photos were beautiful. We were not disapointed. We were provided an upgrade with a nice view. The rooms are a little small but very nicely decorated. The concierge was very helpful in getting a reservation at the Slanted Door. It was a Monday but you typically need two weeks advanced reservations.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
4,536 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
507 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $203 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien San Francisco is a newly renovated luxury upscale hotel located in a prime Financial District location and connected via pedestrian bridge to the businesses, shops, entertainment, theaters and cafés of the dynamic Embarcadero Center. Just steps away are San Francisco’s main leisure attractions such as Chinatown, the Ferry Building, and the California Street cable cars. From our location, enjoy convenient access to AT&T Park, Union Square and Fisherman’s Wharf. Le Méridien offers a professional staff and superior facilities, including Bar 333 with its lively happy hour and street level vibe as well as Park Grill Restaurant, serving local and sustainable fare for breakfast and lunch. Impeccable service is promised at every turn. The trademark of sophistication, our award-winning Les Clefs d’Or Concierge professionals, will treat you to the highest level of service. Discover San Francisco and Unlock our Destination, book your next stay at Le Meridien San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing