We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Heights Inn
Ranked #15 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad value for the money”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Small old rooms - not very clean. Very small breakfast - 7 to 9 am only - 1/4 of a muffin and that is it. The thermostat for the heater does not work - it is controlled centrally only so you depend on the management to decide what the temperature of the room should be. The location is good and the free parking is a plus but that is all you get. As long as you stay here you feel like you paid way too much for what you get. We paid $180/per night with $50 tax in mid week. Next time I would love to pay $50 more for one of the other hotels in the area and feel much more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Savina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    121
    82
    30
    18
See reviews for
86
152
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Pacific Heights Inn is ghetto meets gang. The room was disgusting at best. When we finally did go to sleep we were awakened by shouting in the courtyard. We were awakened by he manager (YES THE MANAGER) yelling at a guest at 6 am! My husband finally got dressed and went to the office to tell the manager to stop yelling! Dirty. Noisy. Disgusting. I'd rather sleep in my car.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Stay anywhere else. Sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASomATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is located in a convient place to walk and use public transportation to see San Francisco. Driving seems to be awful and parking is worse so having a hotel where parking is free and close (1 mile down hill) to Fisherman's wharf makes it worth it. The hotel itself is outdated but very clean. Continental breakfast is muffins in the lobby. Bed is comfortable.

I don't spend much time in a room so this hotel saved me enough so I could rent a car for the week. I do 5 star as well as 3plus star hotels and it is good value for the low end of my criteria.

Hope this helps, Phil

Room Tip: Busy road rooms in back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Fair price, AAA, $109.99 mid-week (Wednesday-Thursday) plus $15 for taxes.

Rooms clean, small. perfect for budget traveler, cute, reefer, microwave, free parking right outside room door, hot coffee and muffins/bread in morning.

Perfect location for walkers and bicyclists.

Union Street is fun location.

Friendly front desk staff.

Great motel...Great experience in SF.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Absolutely nothing to reproach, as this Inn is exactly as it promotes itself: basic, clean, motel-style property. It was also good priced, or at least its price was good for us. We booked it because it was our first visit to San Francisco ever, and my biggest concern was about high parking cost there. So we were happy to get it with its free parking, and explored the city by walking. I think it took us about 10 minutes on foot intil we reached Russian Hhill with its dramatically steep streets and nice views over the bay. It was also good for us as drivers, because its location is convenient for first-time visitors.
The breakfast included juice, a muffin and coffe or tea. We got a room with kitchenette (a fridge, a stove, a table). although we didn't use it at all. I hope to visit San Francisco again and book something better than basic, but I can easily recommend this hotel for those who prefer to save money on accommodation and spend it rather elsewhere.

Room Tip: we receved a room on the 1st floor on the left, when looking from the hotel entrance towards its yar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kipakip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Have stayed here several times on trips to San Francisco and surrounding area. Hasn’t changed outside appearance in years. Small, 2-story building less than a block from busy Van Ness, but street noise isn’t bad. Don’t stay here for the ambience or well-appointed rooms. Rooms are typical ‘60s era-looking motel rooms but well maintained and very clean. Friendly staff, free parking in front of rooms. Modest ‘continental’ breakfast is free (coffee, juice, pastries). Easy walk to good restaurants and shops further down Union St. (which is not to be confused with the busy, downtown Union Square district). Bus stop about 50 yards from motel takes you straight to North Beach or downtown with ease. Not a bad walk to Marina area or even to Fisherman’s Wharf. Great place to stay if you plan on day trips to Marin County or Napa/Sonoma.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveCDecatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Pleasant & helpful staff, willing to discipline unruly guests that were drunk & noisy. Inexpensive by San Francisco standards, including free parking. We only stayed one night & they allowed us to leave the car while we used Muni to tool about the city. Ask for a room on the second floor in the back or the left hand side (as you face the motel) to dampen the noise.

The place is a wee bit run down, furnishings & bathroom are showing aging & a lack of real reinvestment, but the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
1,017 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#82 of 229 in San Francisco
586 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#105 of 229 in San Francisco
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#30 of 229 in San Francisco
1,557 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#115 of 229 in San Francisco
501 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Heights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Heights Inn

Property: Pacific Heights Inn
Address: 1555 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123-4580
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Heights Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pacific Heights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Heights Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing