We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room”
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Ranked #134 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Fresno
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great room”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here the night before we left on a cruise out of San Francisco. The room was very nice, clean and quiet. We booked a regular room for four adults. We arrived early and they allowed us to store our luggage in the office for the day, while we spent the day touring San Francisco. When we came back in the evening and checked in, they gave us a family suite with two rooms (for the same price as the regular room). The continental breakfast was coffee, juice and donuts, nothing special, but nice.

There was a city bus stop that was only about a block away, or we could have taken a cab to the cruise ship for around $10.00. But we had lots of time, and decided to walk.. The walk took about an hour, but was pleasant (we waked down Lombard Street and along Beach street to Pier 39).

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definetly stay here again when we visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miata-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    318
    107
    39
    39
See reviews for
166
250
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I called last minute as I have stayed in the past for work right next door. Nasim went out of her way and even remembered who I was and got me checked in for the night. This is not a ritzy boutique hotel but with free parking, a healthy simple breakfast, and getting to anywhere in the city this is where to stay! I will be back! Even just to say hello to the very friendly staff. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mha323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

It was deff. hard finding an affordable hotel that would be clean and in a good area of San Francisco. I was very lucky to have found this one right here, the staff is very friendly and very helpful. This was my first time in SF and the front desk person gave me and my boyfriend useful information on how to get around the city and what places to go see. The room itself was big and very clean, the bathroom was big and the shower was huge! This hotel is also close enough to a liquor store if you want to buy drinks, close to a CVS and many bars on Polk St. There was a tiny problem, the ice machine was not working therefore I had to go buy ice across the street, good thing we had a fridge in the room! I would deff. stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms in the front can get a little noisy from street traffic, I am sure you can ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very clean bathroom ample soft pillows and comfortable beds! short walk to everywhere. When we got there it was late still we were able to park. Breakfast -continental, was just right and sufficient but we got hungry ate a place closeby. The office staff was informative. We had a junior suite and there was enough space for us and our 2 grown children.

Room Tip: Free parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaysikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Booked this hotel but was told that there was no availability when I checked in. We were offe to their sister hotel, Inn on Broadway. As I did a prepay and was afraid we had nowhere to go, I had to accept that. Our experience in their sister hotel was horrible, no internet at all.
I spent about 1 hour booking hotel every day and read a lot of reviews to make sure that my stay can be pleasant within my budget. This experience is very frustrating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler201312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed at Nob Hill Motor Inn in 2002, in my first trip to California and was a little concerned that after 11 years the hotel didn't keep the good quality it used to have. I was wrong. Nob Hill Motor Inn was a very good choice again! In a very good location in San Francisco, the hotel offers free parking - which is very difficult to find in a city as San Francisco. Although the rooms keep the same decoration and furniture of 11 years ago, they're very clean and spacious. Same for the bathrooms. They offer a complimentary breakfast right by the front desk. You have to take whatever you want to eat and take to your room (there was a table in the room for breakfast). Also, we needed to prepare our coffee in the room's coffee maker - which was OK. Breakfast is not a complete one, but the hotel is located next to an excellent deli, where you can either buy the stuff you want for your breakfast or take coffee and your selection of pastries to go. Wi-Fi was excellent. I totally recommend Nob Hill Motor Inn.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarlawRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Leonards, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stopped here for one night on our way to napa and were extremely pleased we did! Leenay on front desk when we checked in was incredibly friendly and so helpful, nothing seemed to hard or too much to ask. The guy that checked us out was just the same, didnt catch his name unfortunately, helping with directions etc.
The room was clean, warm, well appointed and quiet- everything you need from a motel room! Free parking and wifi was great also!
Its located close enough to fishermans wharf- 9 dollar taxi ride!- and just off a main road from the airport so easy to get to!
Overall a great motel in San Fran!

Room Tip: Grab a room up top and at the back! Super quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyBunny-XD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#171 of 229 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
962 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#108 of 229 in San Francisco
833 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#148 of 229 in San Francisco
549 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#117 of 229 in San Francisco
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nob Hill Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nob Hill Motor Inn

Property: Nob Hill Motor Inn
Address: 1630 Pacific Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-2518
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Nob Hill Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nob Hill Motor Inn is a wonderful hotel in the trendy and popular Nob Hill neighborhood of San Francisco. Our hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco, within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, the Cable Cars, "Crookedest Street," Chinatown, and a number of fine restaurants and shops. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Each room is spacious, newly renovated and appointed with convenient amenities such as mini-refrigerator and microwave, cable TV with HBO, and complimentary in-room coffee. All of our rooms and hallways are 100% non-smoking.The Nob Hill Motor Inn's newly renovated rooms include: FREE covered parking, 2 room family suites available, In-room microwave and fridge, FREE wireless Internet, FREE continental breakfast, 100% non-smoking rooms, Elevator access to all floors, Cable TV with HBO, Direct dial phones with dataport, Complimentary in-room coffee, Free tour pickup, Complimentary coffee, tea, juice and hot chocolate served all day in our lobby. The Nob Hill Motor Inn is an award winning member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nob Hill Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nob Hill Motor Hotel San Francisco
Nob Hill Motel
Nob Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing