We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Ranked #137 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very central and good quality for money motel. Freeparking is superuseful in a city like San Francisco. Room was clean and spacious and we got upgraded to a 20$ more expansive room. Breakfast was OK, very simple but filling with hot drinks, fruit and pastries. We definetely recommend it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Giuditta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 798 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We checked for room on our trip in California - San Francisco and found out that it was almost "New York" prices in SF. But at the end we choose this hotel/motel and this was a great choice. Very friendly staff, great and clean room with all the things you need for a stay. Free wifi in the room and maybe best of all- free parking at the hotel (first on the spot!). The location is great for going around in SF with the famous cabel-cars just blocks away and local busses just around the corner. Maybe not the best "breakfast"- but there are some small gr8 cafees just around the corners. If (when) we come back to SF this would be our choice. Thanks to you all at Nob Hill Motor Inn.
Hans Backstrom - Norway

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

California and I did not seem meant to be. Terrified from driving in San Francisco after a long day/week/month on the road, I finally (seriously, this was hard work) found a room under $200 with parking included at the Nob Hill Motor Inn. I was hungry and needed a stiff drink. I could find only one of those at midnight, and it wasn't the one my body REALLY needed.

Still, the room was clean, if just barely big enough to fit the double bed. There was only one of me, so I wasn't too concerned about size. The toilet didn't flush very well and the shower was kind of a joke, but the bed was comfy and the desk clerk actually moved her car so that I could have a space. Nice people, decent spot.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brekidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The shower is ineffective. There is not nearly enough water pressure to clean your body. Just a little drip of water. I have a flow restricted shower myself, and I have sufficient water pressure, so that cannot be the excuse. What good is that to someone who is traveling? I had to fill the ice bucket with water repeatedly and pour it on myself to get clean. If you have hair past your shoulders, forget it--won't get clean.
We put a Do Not Disturb sign on our hotel door because we preferred not to allow housekeeping staff to have access to our belongings. I am a native Spanish speaker, and I showed and told the housekeeper in Spanish that I was taking out the trash myself and that she could hand me the clean towels, we didn't need sheets, and that there was no need to enter our room. She did anyway. The hotel claims that we don't actually have the choice to keep them out of the rooms since they pay the housekeepers by the half-hour, and that they have to guarantee them a certain amount of money. I told the management that that is not my problem--our privacy must be respected. The housekeeper came in every day of our short stay regardless of the sign.
Location is good, safe as any big city can be, and close to many interesting tourist attractions, such as pier 39, the wharf, the cable car, and China Town. Everything was clean and in working order, though. Beds fine. Very expensive for what you get, though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is our second time at the nob hill motor inn, and we are very accustomed to the area. It is a great location, the hotel is starting to show a little bit of wear and tear despite the somewhat recent renovation. The breakfast is absurdly ridiculous. Cut the rates down 10 bucks and take it away.
It's embarrassing to offer donuts, a couple oranges, INSTANT coffee and hot chocolate and call that a breakfast. We stayed in many other hotels in San Francisco and had extensive breakfast options included with the rate. Obviously management doesn't seem to care about this because it has been like this for years, it's a shame customer's are completely unheard.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MassExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My 5 friends and I rented 3 nights at this hotel. At 9:30 pm the first night the toilet overflowed. We called the front desk and were told that she was the only working and she was too busy to come right up. They had no one else who could fix the toilet. We waited but when no one came we again called the front desk and were told that she is still busy, but she would come. She came up and tried to fix the toilet, but could not. We asked for another suite and were told that the hotel was full. We asked her to call a plumber. She replied that she would have to call her manager to authorize that. She suggested that we use the outside bathroom in the parking lot. She could not give us the key, but would just leave it open! We told her that it was not safe to leave an outside unattended bathroom open and if we needed to use it we would get the key. After some time had past we went to the front desk to get the key and to ask about the plumbet. We were told that the manager would not allow her to call a plumber so we would have to use the outside bathroom during the night! We felt this was not acceptable and ask to speak with the manager and were told that we could not call the manager or have her last name. However she gave us the e mail for the manager and we e mailed the manager. When we did not get a response from the manager we decided to leave. So after much time and all 6 of us calling hotels we found another hotel who could accommodate us. The JW Marriott was beyond helpful. We let the person at the front desk that we were leaving and his response was" there is nothing I can do I am not a plumber." It was now after midnight and we checked into the JW Marriott where we were very well taken care of. The manager of Nob Hill called us the next morning. She tried to blame the girl at the front desk, but she had no explanation as to why she did not allow a plumber. She also wanted us to pay for one night!! We all found this to be unbelievable!!
TL

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel booked 6 women into a family suite with one bathroom! We were going to make the best of the if until the toilet overflowed around 10 p.m. The nice clerk cleaned and disinfected the floor and tried the plunger to no avail. Since there were no rooms available we asked for a plumber to be called. The clerk called the manager who denied our request. They offered a bathroom located in the parking lot below the building. That would mean we'd have to walk down an outdoor hallway, down stairs, then go to the office for the key in the middle of the night. It's very cold at 3 a.m. in August. They offered to leave the bathroom unlocked. They didn't seem to realize how unsafe that would be especially considering it's located on the street level. No one knew when the toilet in our room would be working. We left after midnight for the Marriott in Union Square where we were warmly welcomed. They couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. They know what good customer service is.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank A1181OKMaryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
856 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
1,032 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
850 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#113 of 230 in San Francisco
780 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#146 of 230 in San Francisco
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nob Hill Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nob Hill Motor Inn

Address: 1630 Pacific Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-2518
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $97 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nob Hill Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nob Hill Motor Inn is a wonderful hotel in the trendy and popular Nob Hill neighborhood of San Francisco. Our hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco, within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, the Cable Cars, "Crookedest Street," Chinatown, and a number of fine restaurants and shops. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Each room is spacious, newly renovated and appointed with convenient amenities such as mini-refrigerator and microwave, cable TV with HBO, and complimentary in-room coffee. All of our rooms and hallways are 100% non-smoking.The Nob Hill Motor Inn's newly renovated rooms include: FREE covered parking, 2 room family suites available, In-room microwave and fridge, FREE wireless Internet, FREE continental breakfast, 100% non-smoking rooms, Elevator access to all floors, Cable TV with HBO, Direct dial phones with dataport, Complimentary in-room coffee, Free tour pickup, Complimentary coffee, tea, juice and hot chocolate served all day in our lobby. The Nob Hill Motor Inn is an award winning member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nob Hill Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nob Hill Motor Hotel San Francisco
Nob Hill Motel
Nob Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing