We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Ranked #130 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel almost 3 years ago, and recently went back for another visit. We booked in advance and got a room for $109. We booked a room with one bed, but when we arrived, we were upgraded at no charge to a larger room with 2 beds. While the hotel is older and the rooms slightly dated, it is extremely clean, comfortable, quiet, and it good condition.
You really can't ask for more with this "budget" hotel. A great price for San Francisco, free parking, free Wi-fi, free continental breakfast, friendly staff, and a great quiet and safe location within walking distance to restaurants and bars. The room had a refrigerator, microwave, new flat screen tv, plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, conditioner, and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was apples, bananas, muffins, donuts, juice, and coffee. There is a fantastic gourmet market right next door called Cheese Plus that is a must visit.
We brought friends with us who liked it so much that they are going to stay there again when they are back in the city over the summer.
The hotel is not fancy, but it has great service and I will stay there again next time I am in San Francisco. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    315
    103
    36
    39
See reviews for
162
247
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We took a last minute trip with our 2 kids and chose this place. We liked the outside appearance as we arrived, it was nice and clean. Nothing big and fancy like other hotels we usually stay at. There was free parking (our Tahoe got scratched and the alarm went off several times because parking is tight!) and free wifi. We stayed in the junior sweet and had plenty of room. We always bring a sound machine with us for noise, but we barely needed it here. We walked to the Cable cars and to a nearby restaurant.
If you are looking for comfortable, clean, and safe, this is a good place. The carpets are old, the tile and lighting is outdated, but still a great little motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great location in San Francisco, lots of restaurants and bars in the area and a moderate walk to Fisherman's Wharf (1.3 miles away). The room was clean and spacious, owners seemed like nice folks. Nothing fancy but a good value, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I went here with my bf when we were trying to find a place to stay in SF that was cheap, only for the night. I had checked online and it was around $70-$100 MAX for the price of a room. So without an booking whatsoever, we finally found the place, it was small. Like a motel, really. And ended up getting charged $225. It was crazy. Normally I'm not the one to get very openly angry and I'm very easy-going, but that is still ridiculous thinking about it. I end up dealing with it and it's like whatever as always... But my bf was the one who paid so he was pretty upset about that.

The room overall was ok, just some average motel not hotel and worth $225 a night! So we were mainly bugged by that. But the room is clean, had the amenities. Basics. The lady downstairs said it came with free breakfast, which was the next disappointment. Here my bf is, thinking it would be at least like Best Western and he said he was going to eat his money's worth but she said breakfast was happening in the lobby... Which was a tiny closet room. We went down and saw why. It was just a coffee or juice with few pastries. That's it. At another hotel we could've gotten better for less. Other than that, it was at a decent place I guess. Good quiet location and a nice walk to some attractions. Just overpriced.

Room Tip: Book online to get a better price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatoKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A good central motel, with good size parking spaces. In a really central location, this is really good value, and the rooms are large with plenty of storage space. The hairdryer in the bathroom works well. The room and the property in general was clean. Breakfast was limited to muffins, pastries, juice and coffee, along with some fruit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hi there,
Am happy to have stayed at the Nob Hill Motor Inn. It was easy to get to, had free parking, free WIFI and a free continental breakfast. Room was clean and close to everything. Chinatown is next door, there is a great street for restaurants one block away and the cable cars only a block further. We walked anyway as SF is great for proximity and Fitness!
Price was great for what you get in this city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We (two couples/two rooms) stayed one night at Nob Hill Motor Inn on October 4, 2012. We flew into San Jose, rented a car and drove to San Francisco. My husband and I had stayed here before and found the location ideal for a short stay in the city and liked the free parking for the rental car which isn't used to navigate the city. Access to the wharf either by foot or trolley is great. We walked to the wharf in the late afternoon and took the trolley back to the hotel. Our ultimate destination was St. Helena for a great time in Napa Valley. The hotel is clean and staff friendly. The continental breakfast is somewhat lacking as you pick up food items in the very small office check-in area but we knew that was the case when we made the reservations for the second time. There is a quaint little market/store at the corner of the hotel block where we had a great breakfast. We would consider staying here for sure in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAEMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#172 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#104 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#121 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#143 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nob Hill Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nob Hill Motor Inn

Property: Nob Hill Motor Inn
Address: 1630 Pacific Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-2518
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Nob Hill Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nob Hill Motor Inn is a wonderful hotel in the trendy and popular Nob Hill neighborhood of San Francisco. Our hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco, within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, the Cable Cars, "Crookedest Street," Chinatown, and a number of fine restaurants and shops. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Each room is spacious, newly renovated and appointed with convenient amenities such as mini-refrigerator and microwave, cable TV with HBO, and complimentary in-room coffee. All of our rooms and hallways are 100% non-smoking.The Nob Hill Motor Inn's newly renovated rooms include: FREE covered parking, 2 room family suites available, In-room microwave and fridge, FREE wireless Internet, FREE continental breakfast, 100% non-smoking rooms, Elevator access to all floors, Cable TV with HBO, Direct dial phones with dataport, Complimentary in-room coffee, Free tour pickup, Complimentary coffee, tea, juice and hot chocolate served all day in our lobby. The Nob Hill Motor Inn is an award winning member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Nob Hill Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nob Hill Motor Hotel San Francisco
Nob Hill Motel
Nob Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing