We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant location, great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #95 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

Stayed here total of 3 nights in Sept/Oct whilst my husband and I drove around California.
Great location - close to MOMA, good shops, the tram, not far from Fisherman's Wharf/Alcatraz (on the tram!).
Rooms are small but nicely done. Shower was AMAZING (compared to the UK) and bed was quite comfy. Everything was very clean. The corridors did remind me of The Shining however...
I requested a room high up to escape road noise. It was still a little noisy in the morning, but come on, this is a city so is to be expected!!
Muffins and great coffee were provided down in the foyer for breakfast. Nice little touch.
We didn't have a laptop/blackberry, so had to go out to get internet access. If you turn right out of the front door, walk up and take a right at the next block, there is a little coffee shop (Organic Coffee I think?) where you can go on the computer.
We would definitely stay here if we returned to San Fran. It was cheap, clean, bang on location and good service.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodieb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    980
    400
    134
    88
See reviews for
110
847
509
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

I visit San Francisco monthly and always stay at The Mosser. It's a very charming European style boutique hotel. Can't beat the price for such a great location. For an even better deal, if you don't mind sharing a bathroom, it's cheaper than the cab ride from the airport!

Anabelle's is right next door and has a wonderful menu and their bar is open late.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendysq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at The Mosser for 3 days on business. The downtown location cannot be beat for its proximity to San Francisco's mass transit system (within one block to the Bart and Muni, and one block to the famous Powell Street Cable car). We stayed in a shared-bath queen which was small but very clean. The bath/shower and separate bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Our room had a closet,sink, bath robes, towels, soaps, ironing board and iron, a cute little TV with cable/pay movies, and CD radio. The room was a little warn the first night, but after running the overhead fan and opening the windows (no AC), the room temperature became tolerant. It was a little noisy outside but noise from other rooms was virtually non-existent (a nice surprise for me). Breakfast was minimal (coffee, tea, and excellent fresh muffins), but was included in the room rate. Speaking of room rates, you would have to be a travel agent to get a better deal in downtown SF than our rate booked through their website ($55/night + tax). At check-in we were offered an en-suite queen upgrade for and additional $20 but declined. I'm glad I did and the money we saved was well spent elsewhere in the city. The hotel also stored our luggage after we checked out, and the front desk agent even made a reservation for us at the restaurant next door. We would definitely return to this hotel if we travel back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, got a double bed even though I was on my own. The room didn't seem like an identikit hotel room and had character. Great location if you want to be downtown, no free wifi but the Apple store is just up the road!

I had an en-suite room and the only tiny tiny issue was the bizarrely small sink which made teeth brushing and shaving difficult, I'm not going to mark it down for that but that's the only thing I can think to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

This place has a good location (very close to the BART station if you're coming from the airport) and the cable cars and MUNI buses, close to everything downtown, but if you wander a short distance in one direction you'll find yourself in the Tenderloin which isn't a problem by day, but I wouldn't go there at night. But that's only in one direction, every other direction, and the hotel itself, is fine. The rooms are small, some very small, but you're ony there to sleep right? The bed's comfortable, though only a double due to the size of the room. Most rooms have shared bathroom/toilet, but ours had it's own, which was clean and prefectly functional. The rooms have double windows so the street noise isn't a problem, however the rooms aren't airconditioned so if you wanted more breeze/air than what the ceiling fan can provide and opened the window at night it might be noisy. This wasn't an issue for us in early May. The rooms have a large flat scren TV, hairdryer, and an iron and ironing board if you ask for one.

There is a coin operated laundry in the basement, which they don't tell you about, insted promoting their "laundry service" at about US$5 an item. We were travelling for a month, and spent 6 nights at this hotel, and needed to wash frequently so we were thrilled to find the laundry in the basement. The hotel is more than happy for you to use it, so we did.

The coffee and muffins int he lobby from 7am-10am is a nice touch - most people go down to get them and take them back to their room.

WiFi is US$10 a day, not complimentary, which disappointed us a bit as it's widely available at most cafes etc in the area, and other hotels. No big deal though.

The lobby is nice and clean, staff are very helpful and friendly too. All in all, a good choice, and competitively priced for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2009

Around the Corner from BART/MUNI metro station. ($5.35 from SFO BART station)

3mins walk to Powell & Market Cable Car.

2mins walk to F-line MUNI street car located on Maarket St

2mins walk to Westfield/Macys.

Shared bathroom was clean and never had to wait more than 5mins. Never had to wait to use Toilet.

Service desk friendly. Free Morning Coffee and Muffins.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ae398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

Good location near Union Square, reasonably priced and valet parking available. However, the room we had was very small and most of the space was taken by the bed. The room also included a hand-basin, a stool and some other furniture so seemed rather cluttered. Curiously, the mattress also seemed to be a foot too short for the bed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80shilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,013 reviews
Music City Hotel
#126 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing