We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small but great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #96 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small but great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

The Mosser is walking distance from the bart/metro and right in the union square area. Very good location, easily accessible to/from. Service was good, hot beverages and muffins provided in the morning. Free and strong wifi available. The room is very clean yet small. We have only 1 big luggage and once it is opened, we have difficulty walking in the room. Bathroom is very clean too, but hard to move around inside it. Can even hear water rushing thru the pipes when neighouring rooms travelers are swtiching on the taps.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EYHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    961
    393
    131
    84
See reviews for
108
833
500
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We chose this because of the location, and It proved to be right. Close to union square so easy to get around. Rooms are small, but clean and tidy. Free wifi - bonus and hot drink and muffin in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We booked here as it was cheaper than everywhere else in the area by a large amount so we're not expecting the great hotel that it was. The premises had been tastefully renovated, were exceptionally clean and provided everything we needed. Yes the room was very small but we fitted our 5 large suitcases in and were able to walk around the bed, we actually were unconcerned with the room size anyway as we only wanted the room to sleep in - there was too much to do, see and experience in San Francisco to spend any amount of time in the room! The shared bathroom was a new experience for us and was fine too. We never had to wait for a shower or toilet even though the hotel was fully booked and the facilities were always clean. The breakfast was coffee and muffins - more than ample for us to start the day and considering the $116-125 plus taxes we paid , was an added bonus. The main thing about this hotel was the location - it was excellent, very close to the cable car, trams, buses and BART and also the shops, eating places and Union Square. We had no issues with noise at all, and there were no homeless outside our hotel, however, this is San Francisco and you don't have to go far to find them - and they are not fussy about where they camp out including the most expensive hotels and shops. If you are looking for a good priced, clean hotel in a great location in which you only want to sleep and shower and don't want a huge full breakfast in the morning this is the perfect place to stay. What we saved here in prices we were able to spend in exploring and experiencing all that the city had to offer!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mechelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

The best thing The Mosser has going for it is its location. Located behind the Old Navy on Market St. at Union Square, the hotel is close to Walgreen's and City Target (for your last-minute essentials). But it's also near the Muni, Bart and F-Streetcar line.

The hotel itself offers small rooms (cozy but cute) similar to most SF hotels. Some rooms do not have in-room bathrooms, so you'll have to use communal showers/toilets, but they are kept extremely clean. Of course, these types of rooms are cheaper.

The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating and provided lots of helpful information to my barrage of questions. The lobby seating area is comfy and warm. If you have a car, you'll be paying an arm & leg for valet (like most SF hotels).

Room Tip: Be friendly to front desk staff and tip well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Loved it. So much better than the mega-hotels like Hilton, Marriott, etc. Fantastic location near Powell St. station. Very friendly staff. Old World feel. Clean. Great muffins and organic, fair trade coffee each morning in the lobby. Our room (2 twin beds, 4th floor) was small in terms of sq footage, but the ceiling was high and the available space was arranged nicely. Windows actually opened! Overlooked 4th Street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Sometimes you know you're going to mostly be out and about on a trip. In those cases, I like to be close to the action... walking distance, a short cab ride, and public transit. The Mosser fits all of those criteria.

It's only a block from the Moscone Convention Center, a cab or Super Shuttle ride from the airport. A short walk from Union Square.

It also has wonderful in-house restaurant, on the main floor. I went there for breakfast, mainly, to start my day. I chose a room with private bath, rather than share, but either way would have been fine.

The rooms are small, but well appointed and stylish. For those foolish enough to get a rental car, just for city driving, it does have overnight parking for a fee.

I have a last-minute trip to San Francisco next week. Unfortunately, The Mosser was sold out. I missed out... but will try to plan head next time, so I can stay there.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad choice for a room, from my multiple stays. The photos accurately re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is excellent, the rooms are small but clean and the location couldn't be better. It was a great price and my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in San Francisco and can't wait to go back. When we do we will certainly stay here!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adventureisoutthere6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#84 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,903 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#105 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#119 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing