We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, close to attractions and clean”
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #86 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The Mosser was a clean and comfortable hotel with no hassle. The staff were very helpful on check in/out, as well as providing new key cards for our room as we kept accidentally swiping them so they didn't work. Hotel is near to the trolleys which lead to all major tourist destinations.

Only a small compliant, the room and bathroom were quite small but it was no biggie!

Overall, we had a good stay at the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 2,380 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

I agonized what to write about this hotel. When our airline schedule changed, and our chosen hotel could not accommodate us for an extra night, our Booking Agent (ABC Global Services) was able to obtain a room at The Mosser, at what we were told was a "good rate". Later we found out that the "Good rate" included a 33% commission of $58 on a room rate of $175.20 before taxes. Of course, this commission was nothing to do with The Mosser and I have tried to discount it from this review.

So, positive comments first. Yes,The Mosser is situated in downtown SF and it is an easy walk to nearby restaurants and touristy shops. Importantly for us, it is also very close to the nearby BART trains which allowed us to get to the airport the next day. And yes, our room was clean, the bed comfortable, and our room rate included a small shower and toilet. WiFi was very good and our room seemed to have multi-glazed windows, so noise from the streets was not obtrusive. By clever use of shelves and walls, most amenities were available, e.g. ironing board, LCD TV, small arm-chair and a very small table.

But (and for us, it was a Big But!) our room was just too small, especially for the base rate we paid. If there are two of you, and you need to repack your bags, there's not too much room left to move around the bed. Likewise, the little handbasin is so small that teeth-cleaning became a major operation, with yours truly banging his head on an inconveniently placed shelf. There was no room for a small fridge and barely enough room to brew the supplied coffee.

In short, this Hotel would be fine for a single, younger person who needed to be in the CBD for one or two nights, but I have reservations about its suitability for longer stays, especially for seniors like us!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OnceBittenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear OnceBittenMelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at the Mosser Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the close proximity of our hotel to your nearby points of interests. The location of our hotel is walking distance to many awesome shops, restaurants, and bars- which I find very convenient as well. I am sorry to hear that the size of your room did not fulfill your expectations. We certainly have some very value oriented rooms that are smaller, however we do have plenty of rooms that offer far more space for those that would like size above lowest price. Our larger rooms do face the 4th street side but all our windows are double-paned to ensure a good night’s rest. I very much would like to have you stay with us again, so please contact me directly at the hotel and we will see if we can get you into a larger room the next time around. Thanks again for your business and hopefully you can give us another try in the future so you can experience what so many others have come to enjoy about the Mosser Hotel.

Sincerely,
Hillary M.
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Visited in April with my partner. We stayed in a room with a private shower/lavatory facilities.

My girlfriend and I arrived at Powell station having used the BART to get from SFO to the hotel, it was all very straightforward to do, and the proximity of the hotel to the BART station couldn't have made the journey any easier.

Upon entering the hotel, the door was opened by a very welcoming gentleman. We were then greeted by reception staff. Very friendly and professional service, couldn't have asked for more. We were asked if we needed help with our bags, we declined as we didn't have much. But the staff were more than happy to help out.

We proceeded up to our room, using the fairly rickety old lift. It's worth pointing out that there is only the 1 lift in the building, not a problem for me. But I can imagine it might result in a bit of a wait during the busier times of year.
The corridors felt a bit dated, but not to the pint where it was a negative experience.

Upon entering our room I was pleasantly surprised. It's far from large, but there is plenty of space for everything you'd need. The rooms felt modern, clean and 'airy', despite their small size. The sink was in the room it's self, yet the shower and lavatory were in another small room separated from the main area by a door.
The room had plenty of soaps/shampoo's on offer, including some free samples of branded products (such as branded antihistamine, oddly. Though I did make use of it!), plenty of towels on offer and there were two lovely robes hanging behind the shower room door.

The WiFi provided was excellent, which makes a lovely change considering the dire connection hotels normally provide and the TV facilities kept me entertained while my girlfriend nodded off.

A few small issues to mention though:
It was warm and there is no AC. Opening the window brings in plenty of cool air, but considering it's location right next to Union Square, it's noisy. If your a light sleeper you might find it hard to sleep with the window open.

Secondly, our room faced another part of the building. You could see into other peoples rooms. Personally this didn't bother me, I'm not massively bothered about my own privacy and you can always close the blinds when getting changed. But if your distinctly uneasy about the possibility of being over looked, I'd advise requesting a room which does not face the other side of the building.

Finally, as I've always touched upon it can be noisy. Not just from outside, but particularly noisy rooms can be overheard. Again, this wasn't a problem for us. There were clearly a group of people in a room close by getting ready to enjoy a night out, they were noisy but it didn't go on late into the night and I wasn't once woken up during the night.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Cheap, cheerful and welcoming in the heart of San Francisco. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ethybeefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

It's a very nice a comfy place to stay right in the heart of SF. Walking distance from almost everything. The customer service is awesome and everyone is very friendly and helpful. The beds are super comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcrynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Mosser. The staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel itself was very clean and well maintained. The location in downtown San Francisco suited our purposes, too, although being in a busy urban area it might be advisable to bring earplugs...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Just finished my second stay here and it's clear word has spread far beyond California about the Mosser. Lots of young Europeans are guests. And with good reason. The hotel, simple, clean and affordable with a whiff of sophistication, fills up often. Great location off Market. Good included breakfast of coffee and buttery muffins. I'll be back - if I can get in.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnDNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My friend and I stayed here one night recently. Check in was easy and we enjoyed the fresh fruit in the lobby. The lobby was clean and the hotel room is updated and clean. This is an old victorian hotel and has the charm of one. The room we were in had a queen bed and a sink. The restroom was right next door. I knew about the shared restroom before check in but I was pleasantly surprised to have a sink in the room. It is very convenient. The room had a new flat screen and good toiletries. Even one nice surprise toiletry - I won't spoil it but I really like it. I let my friend have it and the lobby was kind enough to give us an extra one. The room is small but comfortable. I would stay here again due to location, friendly staff, great rates and comfy bed, oh yeah, a good strong coffee in the lobby in the mornings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahncherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#91 of 230 in San Francisco
1,868 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
746 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
1,421 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $98 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing