We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel- Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #93 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel- Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Have stayed here many times for Salesforce. Very convenient and AnnaBells restaurant is great!

Too many times I have seen people at the counter not knowing the room they reserved had a shared bath. Make sure you confirm that.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Ted T.,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We thank you for your continued business and for your recommendation. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel as well as our restaurant, Annabelle's Bar & Bistro! Feel free to contact me directly if you need me to check availability for any future dates--- hope to see you stay with us again sooner than later.

Best regards,
Hillary M.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    902
    351
    121
    77
See reviews for
102
763
480
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I liked this hotel. It's old and very European with the shared toilets and all. I was lucky enough to book a room with a private bathroom. The room was cozy and perfect for one. It was pretty loud but acceptable since it's located in the heart of Union Square area. Great shopping nearby too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne O, Director of Sales at The Mosser, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for staying at the Mosser Hotel and giving us a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great wi-fi, friendly staff, very clean, hotel has a lot of character. I would much rather stay here than a standard style hotel AND it was less expensive. The rooms are small, but it was big enough. I enjoyed my stay very much. Very mixed clientele. Cardiogist conference in town so there were several cardiologists and related types as well as several Europeans. I had a great time,

Room Tip: I had a shared bathroom room. I never once had to wait for the bathroom and it was very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne O, Director of Sales at The Mosser, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for staying at the Mosser Hotel and for the great review. Hoping that you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We didn't originally plan to stay here. We had a hotel up by the Golden Gate Bridge. However, when we got off the Bart, we wanted to stay downtown. I happened to look up hotels nearby and The Mosser came up with great reviews and great pricing for downtown. When we walked in they helped us get in the room we wanted. The staff here is absolutely wonderful! So attentive and helpful. They were there to wish us a great day when we would go off on our journey and welcomed us back on our way in. The room itself was perfect. They are small, but I never expected a large room in downtown SF. It was perfect for what we needed. And the location was great! So easy to get to wherever we wanted to go. Walking distance within Union Square or jumping on the cable cars to Fisherman's Wharf. Also the Muni and Bart station is right around the corner if you have to go farther away from down town. Overall, the stay here was absolutely perfect! Sometimes we didn't even want to leave our room! So glad we switched and decided to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelslinn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne O, Director of Sales at The Mosser, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Mosser Hotel and giving us a great review. Grateful if you could share your great experience at the Mosser Hotel with your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The staff was really nice and as tourist helped us get familiar with the city the local way. The room was very clean and comforting I suggest all visitors to stay at The Mosser. Plus really great pricing for stay in Union square. Thanks again guys!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafenwohr, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is like an apartment, yet very well styled and looks great. Rooms are like a European small, so enough room to sleep, shower and room for luggage. Walking distance to all local shopping and the rail cars. There's a valet service or you can self park a few blocks away for cheaper. Great price for being right downtown. Just be aware that there will be street noise and noise from other guests, but they do provide ear plugs in your room which is nice. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

As it might be known to everyone,San Francisco is an expensive place to stay-especially if you make your plans at very short notice.The Mosser was a perfect for a last-minute reservation;my friend and I had to go for a room for two with shared bathroom,but it was so clean that I'm sure it would be OK to reserve that room for a couple of days.The location of the hotel is superb;the bus and tram stops are just in front of the hotel as well as Bart,by which you can get to and from the airport.A very small breakfast with muffins and tea/coffee is served in the lobby,which I liked since it would have been exactly the same breakfast I would have spent money on outside.So,overall,will I stay at the Mosser again if I go to SF?Yes,I will.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#130 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#99 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#147 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#58 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing