We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mosser - nice vibe and value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #95 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Mosser - nice vibe and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This property is in a great location; two blocks from the Yerba Buena arena, near Powell Street Bart station and in the middle of shopper's paradise.

The building has been nicely renovated to incorporate it's history and a modern vibe. It has typical rooms, but also some as a boutique hostel style; shared bath and toilet. I had a queen shared and was very comfortable; platform bed, flat screen,robes, toiletries, phone, ceiling fan for ventilation. The bath / shower (accessed by room card key) and toilet are just steps from the room. The queen shared is compact- think heritage hotel/ cruise ship cabin, but I don't travel light and found a place for my things. Traveling solo I imagine the logistics for two would be different.

A town car is available, as is free wi if and computer in the lobby. Apples on the front desk, coffee and muffins in the morning are a nice treat. It is enjoyable to sit in the lobby, because the clientele seems varied. A hosted wine reception on Fridays for mingling too!

My second visit and I would return again. Mid week rate for my queen shared - with triple A - $107!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room on higher floor. Keep in mind this is smack in a very busy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rambuilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    980
    400
    134
    88
See reviews for
110
847
509
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at the Mosser in late September of 2013, when I was attending an conference at Moscone Center. The Mosser is 2 blocks away from the Moscone Center - I am not sure that there is a hotel that is more convenient. I found it to be clean, fresh, attractive, well-maintained, and staffed by efficient, capable people.

The rooms are very small, which was not a negative for my intended visit. The bed was clean and comfortable, and there is enough storage for a weeks worth of clothing. I chose one of the rooms which shares bathroom and toilet facilities. There are several per floor, and I never had to wait. These facilities were quite adequate, and always clean and well-kept.

The rooms have two double-pane windows, so street noise was never apparent with the windows closed. The rooms are not air-conditioned, so sometimes it was pleasant to open the windows, but at night here is no need to keep a window open for cooling, so I never noticed any street noise, though I had brought ear plugs in the event that the double pane windows were inadequate.

The Mosser can be reached from the Montgomery Street BART station: it is about 2 blocks away. Transit time from hotel to airport, including waiting, was about 50 minutes each way, from front desk to BART station at SFO. The check-n and check-out were extremely quick and trouble-free.

In every way, the Mosser met my needs, and exceeded my expectations, all at a cost of about hald of what I had paid in 2012 for my visit to the same conference to stay at a Holiday Inn Express in Berkeley, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: It appears that most of "with bath" rooms are on the front, which looks out on 4th street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

You really begin to appreciate this hotel after spending a few days here. Our room with private bath cost about 50% of what other hotels in the neighborhood were charging. The room could be described as a walk-in closet with a bathroom/shower. It was quiet, everything in it was arranged intelligently and conveniently, in good repair. Lobby had good coffee, homemade muffins and fruit all free in the morning Commitment to good ecological practices is outstanding. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: If a private bathroom is important to you make sure you ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunGod21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We check in the mosser on 1st october 2013 at 6pm fast checking with friendly staff . Our room was very small with shared bathrooms and toilets but Dont let this put you off it's no big deal really . We stayed here for four nights the beds are comfy and bed sheets are clean . The maids cleaned our room everyday and give us fresh towels . The rooms are provided with bath robes and toiletries with little extra than most hotels give . I love the try that is proved on your bed it comes in handy to put valuable things on it like your key mobile phone ect . Best thing about this hotel is free wifi allthough I think must hotels in US have free WiFi . The hotel also give $2 off all cocktails bar next door just show your room key (great for a night cap drink before bed) . Breakfast is basic coffee / tea home made muffins are lovley , but its san Francisco breakfasts places are near by if it's too little for You . The location is just so close to market street and Powell street bart station and Powell street tram which takes you all the way to fishermans warff . Stay safe though market street is a bit scary for me lots of homeless scary People screaming all sorts of nonsense even saw People smoking crack and sleep rough at the end of street . But it seems to be everywhere in san Francisco not just the tenderloin area . Great clean hotel value for money with little hidden extras .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lushlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The staff was incredible, location amazing, rooms were charming, cozy, well appointed & all was consistent. Would highly recommend.You can not go wrong with The Mosser. I will make all of my network aware and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Place is basic, location is damn good, shower room was clean and wasn't much of a wait. If not use one upstairs. Breakfast is muffins + coffee which were nice. Rooms were small but comfortable and clean. Powell st and Bart are 5 minute walk.I got checked in early which was helpful and staff were pleasent. Not far from ATT for baseball. yeah worthwhile

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trebor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is very European in flavor, meaning the room space and amenities are quite modest (sink in the tiny bedroom, no closet) but creatively remodeled (Ikea meets Pottery Barn?). There is a certain je ne sais quoi: prepared to be entertained with the fake floral bouquet with fruit roll that they leave on your bed each morning. The staff is mostly Spanish speaking, very nice, but not terribly knowledgeable with questions about the city. Strangely outdated techno music in the lobby. Someone with a hint more sophistication could blow this place up into an excellent low-budget hotel; savvy charm would be the key. Still, for a reasonable well-located room in SF, I would stay here again. Just be sure that you aren't facing the air-shaft, which is about 3 feet from someone else's window: I had a conversation with the person across the way, (as if they were a guest in my room) before closing the blinds.

Room Tip: Please ask for a room not facing the air shaft, so you can enjoy a modicum of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Music City Hotel
#126 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing